We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Family-Friendly”

Hank's Grille & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hank's Grille & Bar, formerly Hank's Smokehouse is unique casual contemporary barbecue and steakhouse. We offer a contemporary atmosphere suited for individuals, couples and families. We have separate full service bar with 10 Craft Beers on tap, local wines and beers and creative specialty drinks. We have daily specials that include: Happy Hour everyday from 4-6pm, All U Can Eat Barbecue, Our Famous Prime Rib and more.
Plainfield, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious & Family-Friendly”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good barbecue and great setting. Has a ginourmous aquarium which entertains the smaller guests in your party. Took home my extras and kept me full for two more days! Diners (or drop-ins!) can purchase the special sauces they use though I thought the pricing was a big high.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nrkmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    208
    89
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were not impressed with Hank's Smokehouse. The BBQ meat was dried out. The service was OK except our server forgot to return my credit card. I missed it the next day and after an hour long frantic search, called Hank's and they had it. Had to make an extra trip. There are better places to eat in Harrisonburg, make the drive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billandsara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great artwork, food was good. Not spectacular but we enjoyed it. The waitress was a lot of fun. The place was busy on a Saturday night but we didn't have to wait too long for a table.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PattieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had the Memphis BBQ ribs, didn't quite live up to the hype. I added extra Memphis BBQ sauce from the bottle on the table, wouldn't have thought it would matter much but it greatly improved the flavor. Much of the rest of the meal is unmemorable. What I do remember is that the ribs were room temperature, not served hot or even warm. Servers were all friendly, ours was friendly enough but seemed to grow tired of our questions about the menu (I sensed her impatience and apologized saying it was our first time). Would not tell anyone to avoid Hank’s, but if you don’t have a chance to go in my opinion you’re not missing much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiminy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“REASONABLE APPETIZER SPECIALS”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

While traveling, hubby and I always like to check out the happy hour specials. Hank's offers $3 off of their appetizers, so we decided to give them a try. We ordered chicken wings to start off things. They were very meaty and the bleu cheese dressing was excellent. Then we each ordered the rib appetizers. With this, one got 1/4 rack of ribs, french fries and coleslaw. That in itself was a meal. It, too, was very delicious. Ordered a couple beers and that was our meal for the evening. Can't get any cheaper than that!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Grille & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hank's Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing