We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We go back every year. This resort has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massanutten Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Massanutten Resort to your Saves list
Massanutten Resort
1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Maple
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We go back every year. This resort has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have been exchanging our timeshare use with Massanutten for the past 6 years. I have 3 kids and there is something to do 24/7 at this place. Some people don't realize that this resort is huge and that they offer many different location exchanges within the resort "Massanutten". We have stayed at the Summit, Eagle Trace, Woodstone and we go back to the mountainside villas. Some buildings are newer such as Woodstone and they are located according to the activities most enjoyed. If you are a golfer, stay at woodstone. If you enjoy skiing, the fresh air and walks at the top of the mountain, overlooking the valley, stay at the summit, etc. Our family does not golf so we tend to stay in the villas and the fact that they are very spacious is also a bonus with 3 teenagers. I have read some of the other reviews and can't understand why someone would mention the fact that the cups are not big enough. If you own timeshare, have you ever found a resort that has extra large mugs?? We tend to cook a lot instead of eating out and I have found that if we are missing something, call and they will try to supply what you need. We have travelled extensively throughout the U.S. and Canada and I would have to say that Massanutten is one of the best! Some of the buildings and furniture are a little dated but the maintenance is fantastic and available when they are called. This resort has always been very accommodating. Another complaint that I read was about the "soft sell tactics". It is expected when travelling to a timeshare resort. Have these folks ever been to a timeshare resort before? Look at it this way, take the family and inlaws to the free meal, take the free activity cards offerred and then enjoy the resort knowing you got some freebees. If you really don't want anyone calling you, check in as a single parent. I have done this many times and when they call in the morning to verify if you are with your spouse, I tell them that I am with my "partner" and that gets me a polite "have a nice day"! Here is a quick rundown of what my family does in a week...skiing, tubing, horseback riding, fishing, go-karting, water park, tip to DC, trip to the caverns, movie night, arcarde, hiking, shopping in Harrisonburg (groceries at Costco and Walmart on the way to the resort before check-in). The local mall has Pacsun and a few other cool stores for the teens to shop at. Ross is in Harrisonburg also, for the Mom's...Dad's can check out the home depot in the same strip mall. This resort is a great choice. It has it all if you choose to do any of it. Don't complain if you choose to sit on a sofa and watch tv the whole time you are on vacation. One other point, if you are going on vacation, you will spend money! Some other reviewers complained about all the money they had to spend on activities. It does cost money and you will spend it if you want to have some fun. Otherwise, stay at home and write a review about all the money you saved! Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MapleChika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    437
    232
    134
    114
See reviews for
709
313
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Came here when we "won" a free trip.

Pros: Nice fake fireplace, good location, great tour guide (LaDonna)

Cons: Loose trash outside condo, dated furnishings, used washcloth in bathroom when we arrived, old appliances, loud neighbors, cigarette smoke from neighbors easily infiltrated condo, questionable linens, mold in shower, 4 hour "90 min" tour, pushy sales managers, pushed us hard to buy on the spot and made us feel like crap when we said no, and overall deushchebagery of entire sales staff and environment.

Go to ski, go with your kids, do not go if awarded a "free" vacation. We were supposed to stay from Th-Sun and left after our tour on Friday due to horrible conditions and overall disrespect we felt from everyone except our wonderful tour guide (LaDonna). Interesting to find a place that makes your everyday home life feel like a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hawkman12301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McGaheysville hotels

VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The slope sliders program at Massanutten is a wonderful program for teaching kids (ages 4 and up) how to ski and snowboard. I was very hesitant to put my kids into the program, not knowing much about it but I am so glad that we did. The program is very well organized – from the online registration to the enrollment where you choose the kids lunch and get them fitted for skis, boots, and their helmet. We were extremely impressed with the instructors as well. We enrolled our 4 yr old and our 6 year old that were afraid going into the program of getting on the lift, but after day 1 they had one down the lift several times and by day 2 they had spent the whole day on the lift coming down the slopes and learning varying ski techniques. If you’re looking for a great program that will teach your little ones to ski, this is it! And, they even have a photographer that will capture rare moments of your little ones coming down the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlessdToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

While I recommend this place, it's primarily for its activities for a younger age kid. Believe the older ones will get tired of this pretty quick. We had fun but were ready to go on the 6th (vice the 7th) day.

The good... with a five year old, it was a great resort with a lot of things to do for our little one... small kid slopes, indoor water park, indoor pools, petting zoo. We enjoyed the mini terrain park and the snow was in pretty good condition. The water park brought an entire day (and night) of fun) and we really enjoyed the "florider" boogey board machine. Very well laid out for such a small size...

The bad... the beds were terribly hard and I could barely walk each morning. Also, the rooms sounded hollow as you could hear everything going on around you (and with ski boots above us, that's not good). The timeshare 2 hr meeting turned to 3+hours (go figure... just be warned). We did receive two activity cards out of the deal which saved us a LOT of money on the trip... so the whole trip was very reasonably priced. Also, they didn't notify us that most things were closed on New Years morning (e.g. the pool).

Overall, a fun trip but had a lot of little things that really nagged at ya... Oh... and don't miss the side-trip to Luray Caverns... it was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wemarionFishnGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I entered a contest to win a free trip while we were out to lunch one day. A few weeks later, I was called saying that I had "won" the trip, and all that was asked of us was that we would go and listen to a 90 min. presentation. We thought, great. We will take the kids down there and have some fun at the water park. It will be great. The lady on the phone said we would be treated like royalty and we would be staying in an owners room. All good right? Well, we got there and they put us into a standard hotel room. I wish I could say it was nice, but it wasn't. It was like the getto. You had to pay for ice, there was NO nice perks. The beds were uncomfortable, carpet and furniture very out dated and worn. Needless to say it wasn't a great first impression.

We were told that we would have our 90 min. session the next day at noon. We promised our kids we would spend the whole afternoon at the waterpark after it was done. 4 hours later we walked out of there and I was tired, hungry and irritated. The guy took forever walking around talking about all the reasons we should vacation for about 2 hours of that. Then my husband told the guy we might be interested in it if we could get a price quote. The guy danced around the question for another hour, brings a "manager" over and she gives us "the deal of a lifetime". You can't go lower then this, she says and puts on this whole thing about how she was doing this for us because we looked like a nice young couple. Well, after we said that we weren't interested in impulse buying that we might be interested but we would need to do more research on it, she told us it was a one time offer that she couldn't give to us again. We still said no. Then the guy that toured us got really pushy and irrate about us saying no. When we got up to leave, he told us to go to this room in the back to claim our gift cards. We were in there for 30 seconds and another manager tells us he can give it to us for half of the lower offer they gave us out there. There were so many things about the whole thing that seemed shady and slimmy to me that I just didn't feel comfortable with any of it.

My kids had a great time at the waterpark that evening when we finally got there. It ended up being a great trip because we made it that way, but no thanks to them. The waterpark was a lot of fun, but very expensive. For us, it was worth seeing our kids happy and having a good time, but be prepared to shed some major doe out. Also, be ware, that this is NOT an all inclusive resort. ALL the activities and food cost money. Nothing is free with your stay, so just be prepared for that.

Overall the sales people are shifty and the front desk people are NOT friendly. We were NOT impressed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

There were a number of complaints that I had about this place but here were the major ones:
1. The room and facilities: They were very outdated, to say the least. Our comforter looked like it was at least 10 years old and had tears in it. The towels provided at the pool were of the same quality as my rags at home and I'm completely serious about that. If you're going to try to convince to buy at your resort, why treat me like this?
2. Tour service: After having been on previous timeshare sale tours with my parents, I knew this would not be fun. But what completely dissatisfied me was the sales representative's inability to directly answer some of my questions. In addition, he would misrepresent or miscommunicate what I would say in order to further his argument. I've dealt with timeshare reps but Bailey at Massanutten was out of line in his customer service and honesty. He even said that the 90 minute schedule was a "leisurely" 90 minutes and that his directions were to spend 2.5 hours with us.
2.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

a car is a must that being said the resort itself has much going for it all seasons sking, sno boarding water park (very large and expensive but worth a day trip) monticello, Staunton , Natural bridge, many natural caves and even d.c. is less than 2 hour drive Sky line drive or just relax and enjoy nature as i said this area has it all

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank issdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
10.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels so you can book your Massanutten Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing