We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go for the GOLD CARD [----]BUYER beware!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massanutten Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
A TripAdvisor Member
“don't go for the GOLD CARD [----]BUYER beware!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

When they get into the big room and try to offer you junk--get up and WALK OUT. You do not need any of the freebies, because the xtra free trips, bonus weeks, gold card membership, are not user friendly (lots of restrictions, available to anyone for the same rate as a resort guest anytime. RCI itself--the exchange company--is hard to use service, you deal with salespeople trying to sell you more years of membership, and you never talk to the same person..)--you're better off going where you want when you want by using a timeshare resale service and RENT for a fraction of timeshare ownership. We bought from the developer and we are so sorry...

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    521
    264
    152
    136
See reviews for
841
376
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

We just returned from a week at the Massanutten Resort near Harrisonburg Virginia. We are owners with the Hilton Grand Vacations Club and we are able to book timeshare stays through RCI. We have made this resort our summer vacation destination both this year and last year.

We stayed in the "Eagle Trace" condos that line the north slope of the "bowl" in the resort. Our unit was 187B, which is the upper 1-bedroom apartment in the 2-story buildings. The upper units have decks in the front and the back. There is a gas grill on the front deck which we used every night when we were "eating in". The view off the back deck is spectacular. You can see the entire "bowl" from the deck and you can see the Shenandoah Valley beyond. While the 2nd floor units don't have a full kitchen like the 1st floor units, they do have a full size refrigerator, electric 2-burner hotplate, microwave, toaster oven, sink, and all of the kitchen utensils you need. The 2nd floor units also boast a large jacuzzi tub that the 1st floor units lack. The 1st and 2nd floor units can be rented as a combined 2-bedroom condo for people with larger families. The units also share a stacked washer/dryer combo in the unit's foyer.

Our bedroom had 2 full-sized beds and the living room has a queen-sized sofa-sleeper. There is a TV in the living room and the bedroom. There is also a Video/DVD player combo in the living room. The only complaint we have about the unit as a whole is that the fitted sheets on the beds have shrunk to the point that they don't survive the night on the matress. Next time we come, I think we will bring our own sheets.

Activities: The resort offers an Activity card which provides discounts on selected resort activities. The cards are $99 per adult or $49 per child. Last summer, before the water park was open, the $99 (per person) card would not have payed off for us. We did purchase cards for everyone in our party this year. The major savings are had on golf course greens fees (18 holes for $5) and 1/2 price admission into the water park ($19 savings per person).

Like another reviewer said, there is a lot to do here if you aren't afraid of spending a little money. Much of what I'm about to list is free or deep-discounted with the activity card. We enjoyed a candlemaking class, a glass etching class, and a tie-dye class. We also visited the water park on two different days where our 9-year old son (and his dad) had a blast. We rode the chairlift to the top of the mountain (a must do for the views alone). We took a tubing adventure down the Shenandoah River. There are several caverns and wineries in the area. Washington DC is close enough for a day trip, and Civil War buffs have lots of things to see throughout the area. I've barely scratched the surface.

Summary: This is a great place to spend a week of vacation. Be as active or relaxed as you want to. We will definitely be coming back in the future.

Just Say No: If you are an exchanger into any of the timeshare units and you don't want to go to a sales presentation, just say no. You are under no obligation to attend one. If you want to buy a timeshare, try the resale market.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank jcwoods1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2006

We are RCI members and traded our week in Aruba for a week in Massanutten in 03/05. We stayed in the "older" condos in the summit at Eagle Trace. The accomodations were nice and spacious. We loved the huge jacuzzi in the master bedroom. The units were being remodeled at the time but were still very nice. We attended the sales pitch and ended up buying another week there. We bought in the brand new Woodstone Meadows area. The salesmen are a little too pushy and we waited until the final offer as we were walking out the door to do business. It's amazing how much they take off the price from the first offer until the last as your walking out the door.

In jan 06 (week 05) we went to the resort again as an owner this time. We also brought along another couple. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately, it was one of the warmest winters on record. We had only 1 day of snow (the day we left). We had never skied before and took lessons. The lessons were good and because of the warm weather, the resort made snow. We were literally in ski bibs and t-shirts. The temp got up to 63 on the 2nd of Feb, and I took advantage of the beautiful Meadows golf course. They have another 18 hole course, The Mountain course, which is very narrow and most of the fairways pitch downhill. Don't play it unless you have a 10 hdcp. or better.

The waterpark was now operational and is very impressive. When it was 40 degrees outside it was 80 inside. The activity card is a must if you want to do alot of things. The card is $99 for the week and will give you either free or drastically reduced fees on the activities which range from golf to trips to monticello or D.C., or discounts in the spa.

A vehicle is a must at the resort, as it spans several thousand acres. It is literally in a valley surrounded on 3 sides by mountains. The food prices in the general store are steep , but there is a super Wal-Mart in Harrisonburg about 15 minutes away.

The couple we brought with us did a sales tour and also ended up purchasing a condo. I highly recommend this resort. If you are an RCI member, you will get bonus weeks at the resort as well.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

The good news first.
I arrived with my family of five and stayed at Eagle something. All the rooms were clean and everything functioned properly. From check in to check out, everything was easy. Plenty to do on the grounds during the week but not as much on the weekends. The views were spectacular. The recreation facilities were well kept as was the waterpark. The dinner at their golf course was slightly overpriced (NY prices for VA food) but since it was prepared very well, you don't seem to mind as much. The people were a mix from different walks of life (from Massachusetts to Georgia and young to old) and all seemed to have relaxation and friendly fun on their minds.

For the bad news.
In trying to have you buy a timeshare, they use standard "fear of loss" and other hard sale tactics. "You must act now" type of rhetoric. The selling point for me was that they were going to give us a "Bonus week" (aka "B.V.P."). I later found out that RCI gives you the same thing as part of your membership. It seemed that the timeshare salespeople were quick to sell you something that you were going to get for free anyway. Maybe they meant that B in Bonus was for themselves. If you have to stay for the 90 minute speech, keep it to 90 minutues or they will take you for hours.

If you stay at a nicer room, you will have a good time. If you want to buy, look to the resale market. Without having bought, I did have a nice time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

Massanutten is a very nice, quiet and pretty resort. There is lots to see and do, from day trips to vinyards, DC and Montecello, to arts and crafts activities, golfing, dining, and nightly music or shows. It is definately a fun place.

A few notes of advise. It is not a penny pinchers trip. If you go there planning on being cheap, you can go hiking and that's about it. If you actually go with a little money, you will not find it nearly as miserable as the "free trip" people do. If you go to the restaurant Fareways for early bird specials, you will get pre-cooked two star dishes served as fast as possible to get the next early birders in. If you go for a nice, lesurely dinner over a bottle of wine you will enjoy your experience. The nightly specials are usually fantastic.

The water park is a fun day. Go on a weekday, it's cheaper. The buffet is nice and the coffe bar has great drinks. Also the lounge has acoustic music most nights, have a cocktail and let the kids play in the arcade.

The hotels are not great, but they are there more for the "free trip time-share" tour people who come for the weekends. The condos are nice and highly recommended. I also suggest shelling out the money for a weekly house rental, so you can cook in a few nights and have somewhere with more of a home feel to come back to.

Overall Massanutten is a fantastic resort and it's a shame that most of the people who review it are bitter and angry because they really believe in getting something for nothing.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank va_travel_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

My husband and I were offered a "free" trip to this resort. The man I spoke with, Tom Elliott, was INITIALLY very nice and gave me the lowdown on what we "won" (3 days, 2 nights at the resort, $25 food vouchers, 90 minute tour, etc...) He wanted to speak with both my husband and myself so he offered to call back when we would both be home. In the meantime, I went online to look up reviews about the resort (so I wouldn't waste my time when he called back.) The reviews were very mixed....the lowest ones were from people like ourselves who had won free trips. We discussed it and decided to pass.....our weekends are too precious to waste on a bad trip.

When Tom Elliott called us back, I explained to him that I had looked up reviews and decided to pass on this one. He urged me to speak with a trip advisor anyway....I told him simply that we had already made our decision. He SLAMMED the phone down in my ear.

There are BETTER places to spend your weekend....if this phone call is any indication of the reception we would've received when we would have told them we are not interested in a timeshare at this point in our lives. NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McGaheysville hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2006

We had won a trip to Massanutten with the condition we had to listen to a Timeshare speech. The speech lasted for about 2 hours which mostly consisted of a tour of their 9,000+ acre resort. We had no pressure from the tour guide. She was very professional and accepting of our decision not to purchase a timeshare at this time in our life.

From reading the previous reviews I was actually a little scared to go. However once we got there everything was perfect.

We arrived about 2 hours ahead of check in, and they had us a room within 30 mins.

Our room consisted of a king bed with a deck overlooking a stream. It was beautiful and clean.

The place is guarded 24/7 by real cops (no rent a cops) I felt very safe and secure.

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights. We did not have enough time to do everything that we wanted. You will need another week there to do everything.

We also went to the WaterPark...we got there about 10:00 when they open. First we were one of the few families there, which is really nice. Plenty of life guards on hand at all times. It was very clean.
My only complaint for this is the tickets are $40.00 each on the weekends, which is the only time we could visit. I think that is a little high. If you go Mon-Fri they are only $24.95. I was suprised at the big jump for weekend visitors.

The food is really good, we ate at there Woodstone Cafe which was pizza, subs, salads etc. We had a pizza and it was excellent.


The landscape and the up keep of the property was terriffic.
All the employees were so nice.

I honestly have no complaints.

We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing