We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scam avoid this waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Scam avoid this waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

I went there with my family 8/18/05. There was a 5 hour sales pitch (supposed to be 90 minutes) to purchase a 20,000.00 time share at the resort. When we went into the Hotel room there was a Cock Roach on the wall. After hearing my wife complain for 30 minutes I convinced her to give it a shot anyway. They said that everything was included with the 2 day visit. Wrong! We actually spent our time in Harrisonburg shopping. If you don’t have 20,000.00 dollars to waste, don’t waste your time going there. The guy who took us on the tour was nice but after we told him we were not interested he brought another guy to make us a better deal. This guy (Joe, the Marine) was rude, and did not want to take no for an answer! I don’t think anyone should have to put up with that guy’s behavior just because they do not have that kind of money to waste! If you don’t believe me go ahead and waste your time going there. Feel free to post your own feedback. I bet you will agree with me and I will say I told you so!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    529
    267
    156
    136
See reviews for
861
381
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2005

My husband and I read most of the reviews before heading off to our week-end at Massanuttan and were wary of what to expect.
Our room in the hotel section of the resort was very neat and clean with its own private balcony, albeit small.
We spent a leisurely day exploring the resort the day after we arrived enjoying the beautiful setting in the moutains.
Our Tour was set up for 8:30 am the following morning. We arrived on time, checked in and had a continental breakfast while our Tour Guide explained the format of the whole Tour and presentation. The actual tour of the property took about 90 minutes as we drove with our guide in her vehicle. We enjoyed the tour and were amazed at all the activities that the resport provides for their members, guests and children. Everything was very clean and sanitory.
Once we arrived back at the main reception area the sales presentation was made. We did not feel pushed at all and felt that the people involved were just doing their job. They had a product to sell. The whole presentation including the tour took a little over 3 hours. Once we explained that we were not purchasing at this time, the sales manager thanked us and we went to another room to check out, receive a gift voucher for the restaurant (which was excellent) and receive our deposit that was returned to us in the form of a Visa Gift Card. We were made a final offer at this point but politely declined and the salesman thanked us and left us to check out. We liked the resort but did not purchase since we have other obligations at this time.
All in all it was a positive experience and we found the staff at the resort very friendly and helpful.
We will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2005

We traded a week to stay here and boy were we disappointed! This was our first time doing this and have we ever been schooled! The unit was not clean, none of the amenities are anywhere near our unit, but they are "on-site." We have to drive everywhere we want to go, it is worse than commuting to work and taking the kids here and there because everywhere you go there's other knuckleheads suffering the same fate!

The timeshare sales pitch is easy to resist, plus there's the added bonus of being able, if you're so inclined, to purchase one of these units through a default deed of trust sale! Amazingly enough people that buy these places default on them! Whooda thunk it?

Helpful?
11 Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McGaheysville hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

For anyone considering sitting through the sales pitch, understand that at this resort, "90 minutes" really means, "As long as it takes to convince you to buy." We experienced "The Tour" in June, and it lasted FIVE hours, with much of it taking place trapped in the salesperson's car, at a VERY slow pace. Once we returned to the building and politely declined 'the offer', our every objection was met with repetitive, desperate nonsense implying that we really didn't know ourselves or what we valued in life, because noone who did could decline such a great offer. This was actually amusing for about an hour, but after several polite attempts to end the marathon sales pitch, we eventually stood up and asked where we needed to go to get our deposit back. Even then we were ushered into a small room so a more seasoned salesperson could get one final crack at us.

On a more opinionated note, I was sad to see so many lower-middle-income and ostensibly lesser-educated families being pressured into $20,000 commitments by salesmen who (in my opinion) appeared to smell that those in front of them did not understand what they were getting into. For example, we were told repeatedly that we could get a one-week vacation anywhere in the world--for only $189...for life! and it was evident from the tables around us that many actually believed it.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing