We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already talking about the next time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Already talking about the next time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a week at Massanutten Resort with another family (4 adults /4 kids aged 9 to 13). One family had been to the resort twice before and the Dads visited in October 2012 with 4 other guys for a week of golf. This was my first stay with my 2 kids. We booked two, 2 bedroom units on the main floor of our Woodstone complex building. A superb layout for families that allows the kids freedom to go between units without disturbing other guests.

Condos were clean & very spacious and have a (shared) washer & dryer and gas BBQ. Living area has a pull out sofa, love seat & chair, coffee & side tables, LCD TV and gas fireplace. Full kitchen is equipped with vacuum, fridge with freezer (& ice maker), stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender, electric can opener and toaster. Large eating table with 6 chairs. Enjoy the mountain views from the small deck off the kitchen. Second unit with a partial kitchen has a toaster over in lieu of a stove top oven and is has a slightly smaller layout for the kitchen / living room. Large master bedroom has a king size bed, closet, witting desk, TV armoire and spacious ensuite bath with tub/shower. Second bedroom is standard with 2 twin beds, closet, single side table, TV stand and dressing chair. Main bath is huge with a large jacuzzi tub & single person shower. Resort provides you with enough garbage bags (recycle program), dish washing detergent, laundry detergent, paper towel, TP and bath towels for the week.

There are plenty of things to do at the resort. I would suggest you take some time and look at the entertainment guide before your trip. Plan out which activities you are interested in doing because they run on a once a week cycle. This will also help you determine whether buying an activity card is worthwhile for you. If you plan to golf 2+ times or go to water park 3 times, it's a no brainier because green frees then become free and you save 50% on water park entry, but if not or if you are there only for winter sports (skiing or snow tubing), it may be better to pay for things as you go. Pools (excluding water park) with towel service and rec. centre (ping pong, basketball and weight room) are included with your stay, but ice rink, tennis racket rental, racket ball court are not. Cards give you nominals savings on activities such as crafts & horseback riding.

Woodstone is close to the check-in / market hub and our unit was within walking distance of the lower course club / driving range. You may want to select your condo closest to the activities you plan on doing the most because the resort is huge and you will need to drive a lot otherwise. It's too bad the resort does not have shuttle service between key spots.

Skip the pony ride - an expensive & disappointing 5 lap walk about. The 1 hour low-mountain trail ride was 45 min at best on well trained horses who will not deviate from path (great for inexperienced riders, but disappointing for the rest of us). No trotting or mouth dropping views, sadly.

Our group golfed at both courses. Rent a pull or gas cart for the mountain course unless you are really used to walking. There is also a driving range.

The indoor water park consists of a lazy river, water play structure with body slides, 3 exciting single or multi person tube slides and a surfer simulator (a must try!). A day pass gives you in and out privileges or save a few dollars by getting an evening pass (3 hours is more than enough time to enjoy this). Observers must pay to enter. You can rent a locker for $5. Bring yournown beach towels. Snack bar on site is fairly priced. The outdoor park was seasonally closed. In view were a set of racer slides, splash pads, possibly a wave pool and plenty of covered outdoor seating areas.

I highly recommend the winery tour. A comfortable coach brought us to 2 wineries each giving us a different experience. A guide at each gave us some history and toured their facilities. We were then provided no less than a dozen taste samples of white, red and desert wines. You spend approx. 1.5 hours at each location. Pack your own lunch & snacks to eat along the way as there is no lunch stop. You can visit these same wineries on your own, if you like.

The wine tasting dinner on site at Fareways was also a great experience. The food was amazing and each of the 5 courses was perfectly paired with a different glass of wine. I also heard the beer tasting experience was a equally enjoyable.

We took the Luray Caverns tour (entry is free with the activity card, a savings of $75 per family). Very beautiful. Including the drive, allow yourself a half day for this.

We don't ski and usually by mid-march the snow sports have ended. Thanks to a late snow storm, the hills were open and we did snow tubing. Tickets for 2 hour sessions are sold a day In advance to card holders. Certain days have discounts. First sessions have smaller crowds and give you prime conditions before sun hits the mountain and begins to melt the snow. Treadmill brings riders to the top, so there is only fun to be had. Ride at your own risk, so bring helmets, if you feel it necessary.

Overall, our families really enjoyed our stay. We are already talking about the next time (and that is with a 11 hour drive to get there).

Room Tip: Check out the resort map to select a unit closest to the activities you plan on doing to minimize th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Red456838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    527
    267
    156
    136
See reviews for
858
381
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Woodstone condos and I can say we are VERY satisfied. The room was ‎perfect for our needs. Very clean and had lots of space. We went with friends and they had the ‎condo above us, which made it perfect for the kids to run between the rooms/floors without ‎disturbing anyone.‎
Check in was slow, took at least 20 minutes and getting the wristbands for the water park took some ‎time as well. Be prepared for that, when you have very anxious kids.‎
The water park was great. The water was a good temperature, the lines moved quickly and there was ‎enough to keep all the kids busy the entire day. I would say you want a table to grab one when you ‎get there as they go fast. The wave rider part was especially enjoyable, but the kids did say it hurt a ‎little bit. The lifeguards were on top of things and I was impressed on how attentive they were. You ‎could definitely tell those who enjoy their job.‎
The food at the water park was nothing to write home about. The Soft pretzels were as hard as bricks ‎and the Chicken tenders were VERY tough – this was at lunch time too – only disappointing part of the ‎trip.‎
We only utilized the waterpark and want to go back another time of the year to check out the rest of ‎the resort!‎

Room Tip: The WoodStone condo sleep 4 very comfortably - we took our own pack and play for the baby. Says t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlplunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went there for snow tubing which is a great sport after 6 pm when the ice is better. Facilities are almost well maintained tough not in th best shape. We did not do skiing but the mountain air is great

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second year I have hosted the annual girls trip at Massanutten. We stayed in the Summit. Condo was clean and served its purpose. Beds were comfortable. Walls can be thin so bringing ear plugs is how we deal with it. We understand people have the right to make noise in their unit. You see people complain on here about that and the deal is if they wanted dead silence they would have paid for a private cottage in the forest. You cannot go to a mega condo-plex where people are celebrating fun and expect dead silence at 930. Its just not realistic. Linens were just fine. Dishes nice, appliances worked well, shower pressure was hot and good. Its just "base camp" for us, we never just go there to sit around. We have no interest in water parks or kiddie things so I cannot review those items. However I can tell you the skiing was awesome fun. Had a blast. Loved the ski bar/lounge. Waitresses are nice and fast. Food is good in there. Entertainment at night was cool. We shut it down. (which is 10:30 at Massanutten during the week) but still, shut it down. I like the fact that this resort is so close to the Appalachian Trail and horseback riding stables. We hiked on the local resort trail on Sunday (Only open on Sunday during hunting season) and it was well marked, easy and offered nice views. Wished it was open more often. Did the zip line and that offered some giggles. Cheap thrill. Spent time at Woodstone, swimming, and steaming. Lots of kids around though. Keep that in mind,if not in the mood for that. Le Club had less children and the steam room is in the locker room there so, it was much quieter. Bring your own LeTowel and LeRobe because the towels they have there are pathetic so no one steals them I suppose. Its also very cold going from the pool to the steam room. So hence the need for Le Own Robe. Brrrr. We used the spa for several services and all were satisfied. Not the most amazing spa by any means but it definitely hits satisfactory. The Fareways Restaurant still missed the mark, just like last year, but we keep going back because they are just so nice and it seems like they are trying. We only gave it one chance this year. Also ate breakfast one morning at Woodstone Deli and that was alright. Tasty, satisfying, and cheap. Went into Harrisonburg a couple of times to eat there and that always worked out nice. You do have to deal with 20 minute drive but its worth it. Overall I am sure I will return again. I love the property and all the amenities. Thanks for the memories.

Room Tip: Don't come with the assumption it will dead silent in your condo. It will not. If you can acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmericanExplorer8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Massanutten Resort's Summit on the Hillside. The unit, the upper floor of a duplex, was beautiful. The electric stove worked almost TOO well. Smoker friendly patios and a full kitchen to avoid expensive eating out every night. My only complaint has to be the fact that the master bedroom had a flat screen, but was still rocking a VHS player! They offer a HUGE amount of activities at all times.

The Spa at Massanutten was lovely with a wide range of services offered. Their couples massage option was perfect for my boyfriend and I.

Even more credit to their name was the fact that we were snowed in! The unit came with a shovel in the closet and after it had stopped snowing the staff actually came around digging out the units and did a great job plowing the parking lots.

All of the staff were efficient and friendly.

Even though my boyfriend and I both have bad knees we were able to stay busy with the activities and services they offer. Great stay! Plan on staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyGraylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this resort about 5 yrs ago for the first time. We were so impressed we ended up buying into the place.Have been back there about a dozen times at this point and are not tired of it yet. There is always something to see or do or just take in the great scenery. There are many,many things to see in the area. The resort staff is wonderful all the time. On the rare occasion that there is a problem with the unit,they are right there to correct it! Well kept and clean.Love the FRESH AIR. What else can I say,IT IS A GREAT PLACE!

Eagle1

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eagle1highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel rooms could definitely stand an upgrade! They do have refrigerators and balconies overlooking the slopes. The resort itself is nice for those who don't ski (like me). Water park (geared towards little ones), arcades, snow tubing, and a nice, big rec center with pool, basketball court, ping pong, hot tubs, and racquetball. We ate at the restaurant on the property, and on a Saturday night it had live music and decent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlliDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#11 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing