We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”
Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family was offered two free nights as long as we attended the time share seminar. We arrived at the resort at about 9:00 pm and began the worst get away we have ever had. We get our room key and head to our room. When we arrived to our building it smelled terrible, a mixture of maple syrup and athletes foot but we thought maybe there was a lot of people that had left that night and they had not gotten around to cleaning the building. Once we arrived to our room and got settled in we could hear the people next door talking, we didn’t think much of it but it kept getting louder and more vulgar, we have a 3 year old that does not need to hear what they were saying. We called to the front desk and asked if they could call the room and ask them to quiet down. At that time, 9:45 pm, we were told quiet hours weren’t until til 10 and there wasnt anything they could do. So we waited the 15 minutes and then called back, because the room next to us still hadn’t quieted down. At that time they said they could change our room and move us to another building and security would bring us our keys. We waited for 45 minutes so once again I called back and was told security was tied up and if it was that important I could come back to the office and get a new key. While I was driving to get the new key, I drove by 2 buildings that had multiple security guards just sitting around. That was the end of night one.
The next day we decided we would take my daughter to go sledding, we are in the military and she was born in California and has never seen snow, before we go get the “tour” of the resort and talk about a time share. We had to be transferred to 3 different people before we were told that the slopes were not free and would cost us. I don’t remember how much it was but I do remember it was very expensive and because there was a time limit that you could be there we were not able to go sledding before the time share meeting.
Once we arrived at the time share meeting we started to look at the facility and the first thing we saw was a women smoking on the deck then she puts her cigarette butt out on the deck! We thought this maybe someone visiting the resort and didn’t know better until we took a closer look and saw hundreds, yes hundreds of butts on the ground and just as many burn marks on the deck. Once inside we were told the tour would only take an hour and half. We were told that we had to ride in the salesman vehicle, they even had a car seat for my daughter, I later realized why they did this. At about the 2 hour mark we told our sales man that we needed to get back and wrap this up and he kept telling us that he “had” to show us certain spots because they have check points at these spots they have someone makings sure they are going to them. We never saw any of these people. So finally it was 3 hours by the time we got back to the place we started. At this time my wife and I were extremely angry and my daughter was the same. We told the sales man were not interested in the time share and just wanted to leave, we told him how we were disgusted with the cigarette’s and butts. We explained to him why would we want to invest in a time share at this resort when they don’t even take care of their buildings and do something as simple as picking up butts or washing the deck. He then brought someone else to come talk to us, the women didn’t even listen to what we had to say and shoved us off to the last lady who you get your gift from.
So if you remember the lady I mentioned at the beginning of the tour who we thought was a guest smoking on the deck and the put it out on the wood, well she was the last manager that we saw before we left! We told her our concerns and she assured us that she NEVER smoked on the deck and would never put a cigarette butt out on the wood and she would address the issue to her supervisor. When we were leaving, sitting in our car just long enough to get my daughter strapped in her car seat, we see her walk out on the deck again and start smoking! The worst part wasn’t the fact they didn’t clean the trash or butts but that all the smoke the EMPLOYEES were blowing into the center were they are trying to sell you the time share! My wife has server asthma an notified the sales man no one is to be smoking within 50ft of a door.
After we left the tour my family was so angry we didn’t want to do anything else but we chose to go to the water park which more expensive than the sledding. The next day we left and decided to stop at the local diner, the Thunderbird (amazing food), as we were finishing up a couple came up and asked if we had just left the resort they said they were in the getting the tour the same time we finishing our and heard how upset we were. They had a similar experience but while they were with their sales man in his vehicle he thought it would be appropriate to play David Allen Coe, the racist songs, because they were from West Virginia and had a southern accent. This place was unbelievable and I DO NOT recommend anyone go to this “resort.”

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Matt N Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassResort, Manager at Massanutten Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello- on behalf of our management team here, we would like to apologize for the experience you had at our resort. We really would like to investigate this further. Could you please email info@massresort.com with the date of your stay and the name the reservation was under so we can take your comments to the appropriate sales manager? Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    544
    272
    159
    138
See reviews for
890
393
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Caroina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just went on a quick overnight trip to Massanutten and had a great time. It was our 3rd visit. We stayed in Hotel #6 and had no issues. We had a great day at the Waterpark while the guys skied. Then we all tubed and it was so much fun as always! The guys did the new zip line which was really cool. We are hoping to go back this summer and take advantage of the horseback riding and rafting. Massanutten is a great value for families and has lots to do!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetcarolinenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am presently staying at the Woodstone section for a week's stay that I purchased using my RCI account's getaways. This is a very quiet time at the resort so I can not offer an opinion on the way the staff here handles itself when busy. Check in was quick and friendly and as usual, you are sent for the parking pass and their attempt to schedule a tour/update. The staff at the parking pass area were not giving any pressure to attend but we decided to attend for the $100 Mass-bucks and free breakfast buffet at the waterpark restaurant. We checked into the 2-bedroom unit and found the fireplace not working and food crumbs on the kitchen counter. I immediately called the front desk and they seemed sincere in their apologies and immediately switched us to another unit which was perfect. I can appreciate that these things can happen from time to time and it was the positive way that they handled it that was very positive to me. The new room was clean, well appointed and well stocked with plenty of room to relax and enjoy our stay.
The Timeshare Tour: The breakfast buffet was very good considering that you are usually given a horrible breakfast at the Timeshare tours. This was the actual buffet that guests pay for at the restaurant. The tour was a typical Timeshare tour by a constantly talking salesman attempting to get you to part with a ton of your savings that you could purchase for $1 or less on e-bay or a number of resale sites. NEVER BUY FROM THE DEVELOPER!!! After we gave our no answer to the 3 salesmen, we were released with our gifts. All in all worth it as long as you remain strong willed.
This resort is very large and a vehicle is needed to get to any of the things to do. Almost every activity comes at a cost at this resort and as long as you want to constantly pay, their is plenty to do. I can not hold that against them as they do not hide the fact. The grounds were all clean and well maintained. I did not visit any other of the restaurants on the property other than a slice of pizza from the pizza shop which was average tasting like a decent frozen pizza quality.
All in all, very nice place to stay if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time during the off season, short lines on all of the activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdiamond62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here during the fall of 2012 on a family vacation. The beds where terrible you would likely enjoy your stay more sleeping on the floor. The attractions are nice and ounce you get into a room the service is alright. The condo was very clean when we checked in, however we found that there where a few essential items missing which made keeping it pleasantly clean during our stay difficult. Since all the attractions are full price any way (and a high price) i would suggest staying in a two star motel during the night. your bed will be more comfortable.

save for the over the top pricing and cheap uncomfortable furniture though this place is ok.

Room Tip: the older units have a good bit more room and are a better buy for you buck though i would suggest n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler09_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McGaheysville hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
443 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A little "industrial" mayhaps - but clean, large and comfortable. Lots of activities within less than three miles. Must be a TON of people here on weekends during both high and low seasons. During the week it's been very nice - except the water park is closed Tues and Weds. Could be a little better appointed in the kitchen - but overall I would highly recommend it. Skiing is weather dependent (of course) but I wouldn't book again depending on the weather. They've not been real lucky in that respect the last couple years. Skiing isn't bad though and during the week there's absolutely no waiting at the lifts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here, I was expecting the worst but it turned out great. Our trip was typical of many. We won a "free trip" to the resort after my wife signed up for something at a local restaurant. They gave us three nights in a condo and $125 gift card in exchange for sitting through a 90 minute tour.

We got in Thursday night and had our tour Friday morning. We met for breakfast, drove around the resort for a while and then came back and talked numbers. In total it took 3 hrs, twice as long as they said. Fortunately our salesperson was very nice so it wasn't too brutal to sit through. He was good and had a rebuttal for every one of my rebuttals but was never rude or pushy. He just had no chance to sell us anything from the beginning. He eventually figured it out and sent us on our way to get our giftcard.

After that, the trip was great. Our condo was pretty nice, nothing fancy with a partial kitchen and jacuzzi along with a washer/dryer. We brought our own food and cooked it in the condo. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to prepare and serve meals. No dishwasher though. My only gripes were the beds were stiff and uncomfortable and heat wasn't very effective. We couldn't get the temperature over 70, even with the gas fireplace running.

We spent the rest of the time snowboarding. The weekend lift ticket prices are pretty expensive but if you hold out until 4 you can get the evening rate of $34 for six hours. Not a bad deal. The hills were decent for the east coast but they made snow the entire time which got annoying after a while.

Overall, a very pleasurable experience especially considering the rooms were free and the giftcard more then made up for the cost of gas for a 4 hour drive. Totally worth it to sit through the timeshare presentation. Here are a few tips if you considering doing the same:

When they call you, hold out for 3 nights and the $125 giftcard.
If you are considering buying, they will eventually go down to $5000.
Better yet, buy one on ebay for much cheaper then that.
Bring your own food or head into town to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Big S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for some winter fun got the kids. They had a blast.
- parents first need to be aware that this resort is very spread out over 2 miles. You will need to get in the car to drive to some activities.
- we stayed in a one bedroom condo in Woodstone Meadows, which was down by the golf course. The condo was nicely appointed and clean- was a great value for the family . These condos however , are at the bottom if the resort and the winter activities ( skiing , etc) are at the top of the resort .
- my kids loved the snow tubing , but on busy days you will need to buy tickets in advance because it sells out .
- we also enjoyed ice skating under the full moon
- ski lesson: my kids had never been on skis before and I enrolled them in the kids program -their instructor ( Samuel) was great . After a few hours the kids ( ages 10, 11) were confident enough to get on the ski lift and ski by themselves!! We couldn't believe it !
SKI LESSONS for kids are GREAT!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
30 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
412 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing