We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mike and jason are amazing at the zip line!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Massanutten Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McGaheysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Massanutten Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mike and jason are amazing at the zip line!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

my cousins, myself, and a friend of ours all took a mini vacation to the resort! The room was nice but not 200 dollars nice! The knob on the shower was broke and kept falling off! The jacuzzi jets shut off after 15 mins and the hot water went out as well! Needless to say the room was very dissapointing! The highlight of our trip was jason and mike at the zip lines! It was actually my idea to do it but once we got up 60 ft I had second guesses! Lol jason and mike were highly professional, encouraging, and fun! These two make a great team! Since I'm a heavy set girl I had a lot of worries about the zip line and how it would hold my weight but jason and mike made me feel completly comfortable! Amazing is an understatement when it comes to these two! Hightly recomend the zip line for all shapes and sizes with simply the best jason and mike!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amybiggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    529
    267
    156
    136
See reviews for
861
381
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We went off season for a week during Ontario March break. We don't golf or ski so it really wasn't the right choice for us. The waterpark was expensive. Our daughter-in-law wanted to just go in and observe as our grand-daughter, age 2 went in the kiddy pool. Although it was free for age 2 she would have to pay $10 every time and not even be using the facility. So we avoided the place. There is an activity card you can buy for $99 which gives a discount to the activities but you have to use a lot of the activities to make it worthwhile. Not good for seniors unless you are very active. The resort itself is very nice. We had a two bedroom unit and there was enough room for an active 2 year old and us. The area we stayed in, Woodstone, was quiet even though there were a lot of kids around. Not much traffic either. It is quite a ways into Harrisonburg but we went a few times. The Food Lion and the Kroger's were both good for grocery shopping. There is also a Walmart, Target, K-Mart, Golden Corral (good prices and good food), etc.

Room Tip: There are hotel rooms, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom condo type, even houses with 3 bedrooms so you have q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paddy2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

went here a couple of years ago, huge place. Charlottesville and Monticello close by. skiing, biking, hiking close by, huge and great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here as a family, but with a larger group of friends, from March 10 - 17, 2012. We stayed in the High Meadow Trail area of the resort, which has no through traffic, is near the ravine and golf course (as are most areas here), and is relatively quiet. This was our second consecutive March stay at this resort.

Overall, the interactions we had with various employees around the resort were favourable, with employees consistently offering friendly advice or assistance.

At the particular units where we stayed, the units overall are spacious and clean, with the exception that some of the bathroom fixtures and other finishes have seen better days and likely just need a reno update.

Shopping for groceries is best done in Harrisonburg, about 12-15 minute drive west, for Kroger, Walmart, etc.

For other nearby attractions there is a small antique shop a little west on route 33, Stump's Antiques, while Civil War enthuiasts can take an easy 30-35 drive through Harrisonburg, then up I-81 to New Market, to visit the New Market Battlefield site and museum.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SummerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our first trip to this part of Virginia, and to the Massanutten Resort. The area is beautiful and the resort is a gem!

Our 2-bedroom condo was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed, with a great view of both the mountains and the Shannandoah Valley. We had an issue with a leaky faucet and toilet, but maintenance staff arrived to fix it within 30 minutes of our calling. All the resort staff were friendly and accommodating.

The resort is enormous, and has just about anything imaginable to do: golf (two courses); skiing and snow tubing (the slopes closed for the season after our first weekend here, or we may have been tempted to try the tubing slope!); hiking trails; multiple indoor and outdoor pools; indoor water park; full spa; fitness center; horseback riding; river tubing and rafting; go-carts; miniature golf; zip line. You name it- they probably have it (except for a beach). The resort is in a beautiful location about 15 minutes away from an entrance to Skyline Drive and about a half-hour from Luray Caverns (both well worth seeing). Harrisonburg, which seems to have just about any imaginable chain restaurant, plus lots of local places, is about 15 minutes away.

If we had a regret, it was perhaps agreeing to a timeshare sales pitch that was supposed to last two hours but dragged on for over three. But we got a free lunch out of it, along with coupons worth $100 toward resort meals and activities, so it wasn't a total loss.

Speaking of meals, we ate twice at the Fareways Restaurant in the resort and had excellent meals both nights. At $10.99, the Early Bird Specials at Fareways are a super deal. We also attended their wine tasters dinner which, although pricy, was a lot of fun and allowed us to sample five fine wines from a local vineyard. There are plenty of places to eat nearby as well. We had excellent dinners at Hank's Smokehouse (some of the best babyback ribs we've ever had) and Romanos (very good pasta and pizza at a very reasonable price), and a good breakfast at the Thunderbird Café (excellent French toast and to-die-for grits).

We've stayed at lots of resorts in the US and especially along the East Coast. This was one of the best, if not THE best for all it has to offer. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ASPSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was an active fun filled vacation. I was looking for a destination that would be a cheap flight and offer more mild weather than massachusetts during february vacation. I also wanted water fun for the kids so the indoor waterpark and numerous indoor pools attracted me. The water park was just as described, just remember to check to see if its closed any days when you are there. In February it was closed Tuesday and WEdnesday. Most reviews mention booking in advance any activities. This was good advice only it didnt say which activities were good. I can tell you what we enjoyed but my best advice is to get the schedule for the week as soon as you arrive and book your first day of classes immediately. I waited and regretted it because the kids LOVED the activities they went to so
I should have done them everyday. The best loved activities were the long ones they could be dropped off for. I had two ten year olds and they really enjoyed the super sleuths and creative kids activities. Each was 5 hours long. For the other activities like stained glass, painted mirror, jewelry making, etc an adult must stay if your child is younger than 12. Also if you have girls and want mani/pedis book these right away too as the spa gets booked up fast. Also make sure you check out all the pools to see which meets your needs, dont just go to the nearest one. WE loved the pool at Le Club because there was minimal chorine smell and a diving board. Diving board cant be used during lap swim so check the times on that. This club also offers basketball, raquetball and pingpong and craft activities are held here. Horseback riding we could not do the trail ride as you must be 57" and 10 years old. MY daughter only met the age but not the height requirement. The bungee dome was awesome but we skipped the go carts due to the height requirement again 57". DO NOT MISS the caverns. WE went to Shenandoah caverns but Luray is another one that the resort will transport you to. The caverns were the highlight of our trip and we only learned of them after we arrived, DO not miss this!! Overall a great trip-wish I had more time and intend to return but will prob wait for warmer weather next time. Downfall was the food. The only decent restaurant was the Fareways.

Room Tip: The mountain side was cold and windy. We stayed in the meadows, close to the waterpark. We had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catl367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed at Massanutten Four Season Resort from February 25 - 29, 2012. We stayed in a two-bedroom, two bathroom condo in the Woodstone section (Condo 39F). Huge bathroom with extremely large jacuzzi tub. Nice, clean kitchen. Flatscreen TV's in each bedroom and one in the living room with a DVD player. Living room sofa pulled out to queen bed. Our unit was very close to the check-in area, golf course, and horse stables. Only a 5 minute drive up the mountain to the ski slopes. We had a very good time. Ate buffet breakfast at the water park. It was $12.95 per adult and a very decent selection of items. Resort is located 15 minutes from the small town of Harrisonburg where there are restaurants, a small mall, and other shopping places. CONS: The skiing was not good due to the warm weather. We felt they should have only charged half-price for the lift tickets due to the lack of snow and since all the slopes weren't open. Also, the condo stayed very, very warm even after we adjusted the thermostat. We had to open the doors and windows several times to cool off the unit. PROS: Family friendly. There were 6 of us from ages 32 - 65 and we all found something fun to do.

Room Tip: Ask for units in the Woodstone area. They are not as close to the slopes as other units, but they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeedHotelTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGaheysville
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massanutten Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massanutten Resort

Property: Massanutten Resort
Address: 1822 Resort Drive, McGaheysville, VA 22840-2241
Location: United States > Virginia > McGaheysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McGaheysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking property, Massanutten Resort features 6000 acres of mountain fun at its very best. Unique in both its size, variety of amenities, and outstanding condo and hotel accommodations, Massanutten has secured its spot as one of the premier all-seasons resort destinations on the East Coast. This is truly your one-stop shop for a great family vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Massanutten Hotel Mcgaheysville
Massanutten Hotel Harrisonburg
Massanutten Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing