We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a lesson in customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Fort Chiswell
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed here before, but won't again. We booked ahead online and paid the extra amount for a King room, but when we got there an hour later, we were assigned a lesser room. I went right back to the front desk, and the young clerk said "All the Kings have been sold out." So, I simply said I wanted to pay the lesser rate since I didn't get the value I paid for. He claimed he couldn't - I immediately called Super 8, they said he could - he still wouldn't. The clerk said they lose money on internet bookings, I said he was lucky he had the internet avenue, or nobody would even stop at this hotel! After 3 calls to Super 8 customer service, the Patel Manager "wakes up" long enough (30 sec.) to run thru a discount on our credit card - after 2 hours of aggravation. In these situations, you have to watch for the scam. They tell you the better rooms are sold out and give you a lesser room, so that they can sell the premium rooms to the late night walk-ins that will pay any price just to lay their heads down. The Patel Manager said the next morning the King rooms had been under repair - yeah right - and why didn't they say that when we were going back and forth for 2 hours?!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have outside doors (with gaps) close to parking and sound and exhaust from vehicle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank BONNIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel was clean, needs clocks they do not work. We have stayed here before and the clocks have never worked. The beds are clean, bug free, I always check. Breakfast is adequate for the price of the hotel. I am looking for a clean place to sleep at a good price. I am not interested in the HAMPTON INN and paying for the great decor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JULIAP721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank msbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 346MICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JOANN E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I were travelling back from NY to GA and needed a place to crash for the night. The room door had a gap under it enough for any roach to come in. I fell asleep at 11pm and was awakened by some idiot yapping through the wall. Fell asleep again at 1am and the drunks started hollaring on the balcony in front of our door. I called the front desk and the girl said she'd "try to find their room and ask them to be quiet" I called back and said they are hanging out hollaring outside the door and may not even have a room. She rudely told me she would deal with it and they disappeared seconds later. I think she did nothing and they just happened to take off. We learned our lesson from this place. If you travel, travel classy or stay home. Leave these holes for the trash

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_S55324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Fort Chiswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fort Chiswell

Address: 194 Fort Chiswell Rd, Max Meadows, VA 24360-3080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Max Meadows
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Price Range: $59 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fort Chiswell 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into our Super 8 Fort Chiswell hotel, conveniently located at the junction of I-81 and I-77. Enjoy scenic mountain views and easy access to southwestern Virginia's best natural attractions, including New River Trail State Park and Blue Ridge Parkway. When you need a spot to rest and refuel, come to our hotel. We offer convenient amenities that help to keep you on track, and refrigerators are available upon request. Begin your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast and enjoy fresh-brewed coffee any time of day. Go online with free WiFi in your room or relax with an HBO movie. Drive along Blue Ridge Parkway, just 25 miles from our hotel. Hike, bike, horseback ride, and boat at New River Trail State Park, only 10 miles away. While there, stop at Shot Tower Historic State Park and see where ammunition was made more than 200 years ago. Cast a line into 21-mile-long Claytor Lake, hike through miles of trails at Jefferson National Forest, or swing by Draper Valley Golf Course for 18 holes of fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Fort Chiswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Max Meadows
Super Eight Max Meadows
Max Meadows Super Eight
Max Meadows Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing