We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to normal standards of Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Richfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to normal standards of Hampton”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel was not up to the normal Hampton standards . The toliets flushed so loudly we were kept up at night, and the morning desk clerk was more interested in eating her breakfast in the guest dining area than taking care of guest check out and check in. Not at all professional. We always stay at Hampton's but will skip this one in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    107
    64
    31
    18
See reviews for
174
132
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orrville, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a very nice motel. Very nicely decorated. The motel staff is very helpful and polite. The nicest breakfast I have ever had and the lobby where we ate was very tastefully decorated and arranged. We enjoyed our stay and will be staying there again, I'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

stayed in this hotel as I had stayed before and been satisfied. I now see the hotel has been refurbished. a) I could not use the area to eat my snack as it is now. I was not able to use the microwave in the lounge but to use the one in your room. I do not like using the one in my room as I do not want a food smell in a place where I sleep. b) The room next door was slamming shut in the middle of the night. Its seems the auto door closes is set much to severe which means the door slams shut. This Kept me awake all night. c) The toilets have a suction flush. This is so loud it’s impossible to sleep now with this happening all over the hotel all night. d) The internet signal was very weak and was very poor reception e) The new breakfast area I was unhappy with . It has been restyled and is now a lounge area not a breakfast area. The few table were occupied and the settees occupied as well. I do not want to have my breakfast sitting on a stool with 12 others on a breakfast bar. In the end I had to sit on a settee when one was free to have my breakfast which is complete unsatisfactory. In summary I thought it was so bad there was no point in complaining I will just stay there anymore. As a new remodeled hotel this is the worst one I have stayed in for a long time. I fear this will be the news standard of the Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank barrykay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I used to like this hotel. Won't stay there again. They've recently renovated (and raised prices to reflect) but apparently the people doing renovation have a "good enough" work standard. The door on my room had an 8 inch high gap from the floor on the edge where I could see into the hallway because the door was hung crooked and a good inch and a half gap at the bottom. I stuffed towels in the cracks to keep hallway noise out. There are holes in the wall where the drywall didn't quite meet where it was supposed to (in several places, not just one). Worse was finding pieces of lunch trash in the bathtub. On check in (late arrival) I had the feeling of disturbing the desk staff. Overall did not find to be professional. Breakfast is good (not the frozen/microwave some Hamptons are doing).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Seems like this hotel is on an exit that would easily be overlooked. Hampton is one of the best I've stayed in and I've stayed in a lot of Hamptons. Definite 10! Sandwiched between larger exits but I think that's what makes it special. Very quiet and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are traveling south, especially on the heavily truck trafficked I81, and need a quiet, clean, relaxing place to stay - this hotel is ideal. Our room smelled fresh, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The only downside of our overnight stay was no one had baked the evening cookie treat which we had looked forward to having with coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank albertp986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a very old Hampton Inn. The rooms are small and dark. There are no closets. There are no local restaurants and you look out at a truck stop. This was a last minute stay for us as weather caused us to stop an hour earlier than planned. I would not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Max Meadows
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Hampton Inn Wytheville
#8 of 20 in Wytheville
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fort Chiswell
Super 8 Fort Chiswell
#2 of 3 in Max Meadows
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 20 in Wytheville
110 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell

Property: Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell
Address: 199 Fort Chiswell Rd, Max Meadows, VA 24360-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Max Meadows
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Max Meadows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off of I-81, the Hampton Inn Ft. Chiswell – Max Meadows is the perfect place to stay while traveling for business or for pleasure. Just a few miles from local businesses, shopping and dining, this conveniently located hotel makes traveling a pleasure. While you stay, take advantage of all the amenities of this Hampton hotel. Enjoy a free, hot breakfast complete with waffles, oatmeal, eggs and more, rest in a clean and fresh Hampton bed and peruse the internet with free WiFi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Chiswell Hotel Max Meadows
Hampton Inn Max Meadows
Max Meadows Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing