We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Dog Bistro

The White Dog Bistro
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mathews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy fine dining at the historic White Dog Bistro restaurant in Mathews Virginia. The Bistro unites artistry, simplicity and elegance with beautiful fireplaces set in a classic 1840's southern mansion....
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Elegant inside dining; however, we ate outside. It was nice, but a little chilly that evening. The food was excellent and well presented. Our waitress was very helpful, and knowledgeable of the items on the menu. Both my husband and I liked what we ordered and the presentation. It was a little pricey, but not too high. We really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sls1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fun place, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Excellent food,drinks and service. Great specials and the menu has something for everyone. Had a great time and planning our next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tlman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Charming place with impressively good food. The owners are extremely nice and helpful. The staff is well trained and does a great job.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 STAR dinning in Mathews.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

While on vacation in Va, we visited many restaurants including a four star steakhouse in Virginia beach and I have to say the dinning experience at the WhiteDog Bistro was second to none. There dry age steak was the best entree we had by far on our trip! The place was built in like the 1800's and its beautiful with outside dinning both on the front porch and the back courtyard. The front porch was my favorite with its intimate atmosphere and tufted cushioned chairs. There's a little more formal bar inside and a casual kinda indoor/outdoor bar too connected to the courtyard.
I can highly recommend without question.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank randapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of Mathews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant, in such a remote location, is simply wonderful. It provides an upscale alternative to the local fare. My partner has dietary restrictions that they readily accommodated. This made for an enjoyable experience for everyone. The wine list is outstanding. The owner and wait staff were very helpful in making wine selections. I've always received attentive service when I have visited.
One night they had a band playing on the patio. It was refreshing to enjoy lively music and dine without being subjected to a bar crowd.
The White Dog Bistro gets my vote for elegance with ease, good food and service!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Dog Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The White Dog Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing