We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible fun!”

Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Martinsville
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
São Paulo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fun, lots of fun is what you can find in this little bar that looks like a familiar but allows good conversations with friends listening to local artists playin what comes to your mind!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtnJaxRestaurant, Owner at Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, February 25, 2016
Thanks for supporting our local business! :) - Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glacially slow, minimal service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I wish I had a better report, we had high hopes for this visit after my daughter and I enjoyed enjoyed a previous one last summer but alas, it was not to be. We were seated and our order taken promptly but it went downhill from there. I almost said rapidly but didn't want to give a false impression. About 25 minutes into our wait we were told that they were out of potatos so our fries would require a substitution, which we made at once since we were on our lunch hour and getting a bit pressed for time. About 10 minutes later we observed the next table over, 2 young ladies who arrived after we ordered, receive a generous platter OF FRIES. It gets worse. About 15 minutes later, still waiting, I went to the counter and asked for the order to be made to go, as it was nowhere in sight and we had to leave soon. Another 5 minutes and 2 of our 3 orders arrived, when we told them 1 was missing they had to review the ticket (you'd think that given almost an hour they'd have it memorized by then). Out of time and still hungry, I went to the counter to ask them to charge us for our drinks and cancel the rest, but was studiously ignored there until the 3rd order was ready. I paid and, before leaving voiced my concerns about the wait and the fries, and told a large party caused the former and that they have no control over what is done in the kitchen regarding the latter. If a large party causes delays for other guests, a heads-up for other guests who may be pressed for time seems only fair, but 86ing our fries only to give them to later arriving guests is simply unconscionable. If we return it won't be for lunch. I'm sure our food would've been better if we hadn't had to drive it back to our desks first.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theophylus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtnJaxRestaurant, Owner at Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, February 25, 2016
Sorry your Experience was not up to par. W have changed management completely. All of our problems in the kitchen have been fixed. We also have an entirely new kitchen staff! Please try and give us another shot. sorry again -Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cant go wrong here, Friendly staff, excellent food, beer and wine served, you wont go wrong, Friday nights they have entertainment it was a great stop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DreammakerMktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtnJaxRestaurant, Owner at Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, February 25, 2016
Thank you so much!:)- Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Martinsville, Henry County
Martinsville, Henry County
 
Martinsville, Henry County
 
Martinsville, Henry County
Martinsville, Henry County
 

Been to Mtn ' Jax Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing