We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econolodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very decent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited for a single night stay in order to visit the Virginia Museum of Natural History. Room was clean, spacious, functional, and very decently priced. Mistakenly left my smart phone in the room after departing for about 8 hours. Cleaning staff turned the phone in and the manager had it available to me in a minute upon my return. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
6
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

While serving clients its a relief to know that I can count on the Econo Lodge to give my clients a home away from home experience. The staff are always friendly and very attentive to their guests needs. They are located within minutes of all ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaG599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your referals and enjoy making your clients feel at home while in the transaction of moving to Martinsville and Henry County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stay here every year when we travel to Martinsville for the NASCAR races. Everyone is so friendly and go out of there way to make sure we are happy. We stayed at a few other places before we were able to get in during race weekend and now we will not stay anywhere else. We reserve for next fall at check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matinsville VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stay on this hotel for more than one month. Staff is friendly.Ubication is good, there is a Walmart near. They have a nice swimming pool. Also there is washer and dryer, ice and snack machines, and a complimentary breakfast. The relation price/comfort is good. Rooms are clean, TV, free wireless internet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is more like a pay buy the hour motel! Seemed to have illegal activity happening in parking lot on one end of hotel! Lots of noise (partying) throughout the night! One employee on night shift seemed to be walking around outside smoking most of the night! Went to ask her to do something about noise and she was hanging out in lobby with her friends! The room was disgusting, the bathtub had dirt build up all around bottom of the tub and dirt on the walls! The furniture is extremely worn! Stained carpet! Half the staff is indian! Including the housekeeping staff who speak no english! The male housekeeper knocked on the door and before I could answer the door he entered our room! The breakfast was a joke! they advertise a restaurant however there is not one there! Upon checkout the front desk manager was very rude! There was a young lady in front of us checking out and she made it very obvious she had a problem with her skin color and was telling the girl everything should be left in the room as if she was calling her a thief! Awful experience ! Do NOT recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blank1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your comment we have been working very hard to update our motel. We have put in new carpet, reupholstered the furniture and other investments to insure our guest are happy while away from home. I do appoligize for the resturant and lounge not being here I have removed the photos from the website. Thank you again for your comment . Thank you, Econo Lodge staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Martinsville hotels

Lima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Hotel is NOTHING like you see in the picture.
(1) Walked into our room & walked back out because the smell was so bad. I took my soap out of the package & taped it to the heater & jacked up to the fan hoping to make the room smell a little better.
(2) After a 9 hour drive, we thought it would be nice to have a drink & some supper in the lounge (which looked really nice on the website)...there is no lounge...Why advertise one if you don't have one??
(3) The TV was awful--and the channel guide didn't match the actual channels.
(4) Coffee maker wasn't cleaned out from the last guest...yuk

Room Tip: OK if you're in town for the race.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gobucks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Econolodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank You for your review. Just wanted to let you know of some of the improvements we have made after reading your review.

1. We have replaced carpet in the rooms, reupolsterd furniture, and invested in an ION machine for the rooms, this will remove any smells.

2. We have removed all pictures and references to the lounge on our website and third party sites. Sorry it wasn't done sooner.

3. We have updated to satelite and all TV channel guides in every room have been updated.

4. We make sure all rooms are double checked to insure all aspects of the room are done properly, this includes coffee maker, micro and fridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Staff is friendly and helpful. Good breakfast assortment. Rooms are ok, spacious (king) with recliner. TV reception was poor. Bathroom definitely need updating, toliet is like one you find at a rest stop. Good rates for NASCAR race weekend-don't price gouge you like others in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJD1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
Quality Inn Dutch Inn
#1 of 2 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ridgeway Martinsville Area
17.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 3 in Eden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge

Property: Econolodge
Address: 1755 Virginia Avenue, Martinsville, VA 24112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Henry County > Martinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.A Martinsville, Virginia hotel - Econo LodgeNestled in the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, the Econo Lodge ® hotel provides business and leisure travelers with relaxing and inviting accommodations.Local points of interest close to this Martinsville, VA hotel include:•Martinsville Speedway, home of the NASCAR Cup race•Virginia Museum of Natural History•Blue Ridge Institute & MuseumScenic opportunities are aplenty in this region thanks the natural barrier the surrounding mountains and lakes provide. Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the multitude of recreation areas afforded in the vicinity. Whether you want to golf, swim, hike or bike, this area of Virginia offers something for everyone.Many entertainment venues, retailers and shopping centers are close to the hotel.This Martinsville, VA hotel provides full-service amenities like:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffeeAfter a busy day of work or play, guests of this Virginia hotel can come back and relax by the seasonal outdoor pool or unwind in the exercise room.Corporate travelers can take advantage of the modern conveniences afforded in the on-site business center, including a computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. Two banquet and meeting rooms are located on the premises and can accommodate up to 200 people for most functions.In addition to standard amenities, all of our well-appointed guest rooms are furnished with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Ask about our rooms that have sofa sleepers. Connecting rooms are available.This Virginia hotel is pet-friendly; fees apply. For added convenience, laundry facilities are provided for guest use and valet cleaning service is available. Ample parking is provided.When you want countless features and an outstanding staff, look no further than the Econo Lodge hotel. Make a reservation with us today and experience all we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Martinsville
Martinsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing