We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not overly impressed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshall Diner

Marshall Diner
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stopped here on our way home from the beach, was not in the mood for fast food. The place is a small diner which is what we were looking for. The were lots of flies in the diner which one ended up drowned in my fettucine alfredo. My boyfriend got the hot roast beef diner and said that it was very dry. Wished we would have stopped at Panera......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conwayluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient and Satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located one half mile off route 66, this small town diner is a great alternative to typical fast food. Don't be fooled by the exterior as it really is a true diner on the inside. The menu is diverse and breakfast is available all day. The service was fast and friendly and the portions were large. My family left feeling quite satisfied. I recommend the bacon cheeseburger or the BLT.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains, VA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Breakfast ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

... is the reason to visit the Marshall Diner, but beyond that there is little to say. It is good enough to leave the highway and visit, but there is literally no service or ambiance at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThePlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolftown, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cookin at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a cool place to chill with the locales and ennjoy some home cooking. Folks in Marshall always make you feel like you are family

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wolfcova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stopped here for dinner after a day of knitting on the porch at nearby Hunt Country Yarns. I had the Country Omelette with grits and an English Muffin and iced tea for about 10.00. The omelette was huge and soooo delicious. Also, they had run out of grits, but made more for us. Service was super friendly. Food came out relatively quickly for our party of 5. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marshall Diner also viewed

 

Been to Marshall Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing