We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marion
California Desert, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had an accident in our big truck and needed a place to stay. I called and the lady at the desk said that they did take pets for a $10 per night fee and they did have a room available. Yes! The tow truck driver took us over and we stayed for three days. The staff were very nice. The room itself was spotless. We always book non-smoking rooms, and a lot of times they smell like smoke; not so here, which was nice. We had a king size bed, a couch with a hide-away bed, a table, desk, iron, ironing board, blow dryer, and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. There is a large convenience store on the other side of the parking lot that carries a good variety of items. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Amy P,
I would like to personally thank you for sharing review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do have designated pet friendly rooms for guests traveling with pets. Thanks for considering our hotel for your future lodging stay.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
16
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Everything is just a little below average. Small holes in the curtains; chipped tiles in the pool; no list of which channel is which on the TV; breakfast about average. Big complaint: pool not open until checkout time. Our kids love a quick swim in the morning before being trapped in the car all day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Angela C,
Thank you for taking time to post a review with us. We try our best to keep facility updated. We had changed our bedding recently and the next project will be updating the curtains and drapery. We keep the updated TV listing at front desk as it changes frequently. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Very clean room, & a peaceful location near town. Staff very friendly. Had a inground pool very nice. Good breakfast too. Few good places to eat nearby in town of Marion. Our family will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steelersgot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Steelersgot6,
I would like to thank you nfor sharing a review with us. I am glad to hear that you like our clean room at peaceful location. Our guest enjoy the 60,000 gallon outdoor pool in summer. Hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel room was clean enough to be tolerated. This hotel is seriously outdated, patching has been done to help it exist.

The lobby entry door, office door, were filthy - how could they work in there and touch these doors daily?

Absolutely NO WIFI, not in the lobby either. Inexpensive, as it should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Dee M,
thank you for sharing your review with us. We take pride in our facility and work hard with its upkeep. Recently we had contract with wireless network maintenance company to avoid wifi issues. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The room was nice and well appointed --- a pleasant surprise for such a reasonable rate. The property manager went out of his way to find a way to print some google maps direction - (as my Motorcycle GPS had stopped functioning)

Great stay -- thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikenBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Mikenbern, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As the general manager of Americas Best Value Inn - Marion, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was staying in another hotel that lost power after a transformer blew and chose to make the trip 20 miles further down 81 to this hotel! I was so glad I did. I got the king bed deluxe room. It was huge with a table and chairs and sofa. Everything was clean and the bed very comfortable! The desk staff was extremely friendly. The rate was very reasonable and inexpensive. Definitely a great value!! The area was great with a sonic, mcdonalds, Walmart and other stores nearby. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Pamf2, Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and service oriented staff. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to this beautiful town of Marion.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We were charged a lot more than the price stated on this site. It states rooms are $60 but our bill came to initially $85 (with the AAA discount). I complained and was told that "it's always cheaper when done on line". Then she kindly offered another discount which brought it down to $75. I paid cash. The wifi did not work and the lady at the desk was aware that it didn't work when we called. There are not enough towels for us either. I would not stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Donna C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The online price does not include the tax untill you confirm the booking. We have different room types and website display lowest price on top which is for a standard room with only 1 full size bed. The room you have rented has 2 beds so the price is little higher. The amount you paid was including 13.3% tax . Our prices are very competitive in the area. I apologise for the inconvenience. I hope you will give us an opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Management
Americas Best Value Inn - Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
1.7 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Atkins
Comfort Inn Atkins
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
16.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
24.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
20.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1424 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Marion. Tucked away in the mountains of Southwest Virginia and conveniently located between the Roanoke Valley and Bristol off of exit 47 and I-81. Marion is famous for its spectacular outdoor recreation as it is for its most famous product, Mountain Dew. Our hotel is near both Hungry Mother State Park and the highest peak in Virginia, Mount Rogers. Enjoy a show with the family at the Lincoln Theatre. Smyth County Museum and Marion Plaza Shopping Center are within walking distance of our hotel. Business travelers will appreciate our business center, seasonal outdoor pool, and the peaceful mountain setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Free continental breakfast and free coffee in the lobby is served daily. Local restaurants include El Puerto, Little Caesars Pizza, and Great Wall Chinese Restaurant. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, spacious work areas, free local calls, and wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small nightly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marion
Americas Best Value Inn Marion, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing