We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We were charged a lot more than the price stated on this site. It states rooms are $60 but our bill came to initially $85 (with the AAA discount). I complained and was told that "it's always cheaper when done on line". Then she kindly offered another discount which brought it down to $75. I paid cash. The wifi did not work and the lady at the desk was aware that it didn't work when we called. There are not enough towels for us either. I would not stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Donna C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The online price does not include the tax untill you confirm the booking. We have different room types and website display lowest price on top which is for a standard room with only 1 full size bed. The room you have rented has 2 beds so the price is little higher. The amount you paid was including 13.3% tax . Our prices are very competitive in the area. I apologise for the inconvenience. I hope you will give us an opportunity to service your future lodging needs.

Regards,
Management
Americas Best Value Inn - Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Clean. Bedroom area recently refurnished. bathroom still old but clean. Staff was excellent --front desk clerk who checked me in was very friendly and took the initiative to give me a room that parking my trailer worked well with, too. I'd stay again for the cost. Checked in at 9pm, slept, and left early morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busgirl2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear busgirl2488,
Thank you for review and thank you so much for staying with us. We are very proud of our staff. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip.

regards,
Management
Americas Best Value Inn - Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on business trip.. At best its just an average chain.. we stayed here mainly because of it proximity to interstate and smoking rooms available.. Thanks for that but , even as a smoker it would have been nice to have a window to open or at very least an exhaust fan..!! Room was decently clean but, could have been a little better.. fingerprints on mirror hanging on door, and not a very clean bedspread.. or it was at least worn out ..Maid service was ok.. parking was ok.. staff was ok but, not overly friendly..Did have coffee, waffle , toast, powered doughnuts , cereal, etc on breakfast counter..Basics... As per title of this review..just ok..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Michael Y,
I appreciate you taking the time to write review of your stay at our hotel. We are replacing the bedspread with bed throw in all rooms. We strive to provide good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here during an extended tour/visit to Virginia. We were using the hotel as a staging area to do some motorcycling in the Virginia/West Virginia locale. The price was good, the rooms were clean, and the location was out of the way - perfect for our needs.

There was some issue with parking our trailer for the motorcycle, but the manager gave us some advice and told us where to park near the entrance for the room using multiple spaces because the hotel was not anywhere near capacity. He was very helpful.

There are very few (OK, make that none!) places to eat in Marrion except for the fast food fare, pizza, and some Mexican. There is a small restaurant at the far end of town at the Route 81 interchange, but it was only fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room. They face the mountains and have big picture windows to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cache-N-Stache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear cachenstache,
Thank you for your comment about your stay with us. We strive to do everything possible to make certain that your accommodations are the best possible. Our staff is always eager to assist guest with thier request. We do now have restaurant on site that serves Italian Crusine and open untill 11:00pm on weekends.

Thanks,
Management
Americas Best Value Inn- Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped here for a night; one of the better motels we have stayed at, though slightly higher priced than the others. Located next to the highway, but with nice views of the surrounding hills, this had big rooms that were simply and tastefully decorated, clean and with all necessary amenities (missed having a mini-fridge in the room though, something that was available in smaller and cheaper motels too). The best part was the huge window that pretty much made up one wall! They also have a Wise Guys restaurant inside... we had our dinner there and were happy with both food and service. They could improve the seating (number of tables) at breakfast though given the number of rooms they have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and towards the corners of the building to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kan_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear kan_rach,
Thank you for your kind riview about your experience at Americas Best Value Inn Marion. We are happy to know that you found quality of stay to your liking. We do have deluxe rooms with microwave,fridge,LED TV, internet data port along with standard room amenities for which guest can ask for. Come back again for those breadthtaking views in different seasons !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were driving from Nashville to the East coast and this was a decent hotel off the highway at an affordable price. The room was really big and it was clean but definately needed some work (peeling paint and stuff). It was clean but old looking. Bed was comfortable and they offered an outdoor pool although we did not use it. There were not a lot of people staying at the hotel. Down the road are a lot of fast food places and a walmart which was very convienent. Breakfast did not look that great so we got food down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinparadise314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear lovinparadise314,

Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention. We do have routine maintenance on each of our rooms. We do our best to keep our rooms fresh in appearance. I am sorry that your room did not meet our expectations. The issue has been addressed with our staff to ensure that this does not occur in the future.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel on a very long trip north from Mississippi. Some of the other reviews posted sounded like it was an acceptable option so we stopped. The bathroom in the room was disgusting......cracks/worn spots in the tub that looked like it hadn't been scrubbed, ever! There was hair on the floor that didn't belong to either of us and there were slits/holes in the drapes. Even though this is a "value" chain we still paid $72 for this room. We will bypass any Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babyblues57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1st, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Babyblue57,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and improved our housekeeping staff. There is never an excuse for not providing clean and affordable accommodations. We hope that you stay with us or at another one of our hotels across the Country.


Regards,
Matt-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Marion, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
1.8 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Marion
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Collins House Inn
The Collins House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marion
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1424 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Marion. Tucked away in the mountains of Southwest Virginia and conveniently located between the Roanoke Valley and Bristol off of exit 47 and I-81. Marion is famous for its spectacular outdoor recreation as it is for its most famous product, Mountain Dew. Our hotel is near both Hungry Mother State Park and the highest peak in Virginia, Mount Rogers. Enjoy a show with the family at the Lincoln Theatre. Smyth County Museum and Marion Plaza Shopping Center are within walking distance of our hotel. Business travelers will appreciate our business center, seasonal outdoor pool, and the peaceful mountain setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, as well as access to copy and fax services. Free continental breakfast and free coffee in the lobby is served daily. Local restaurants include El Puerto, Little Caesars Pizza, and Great Wall Chinese Restaurant. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with Showtime, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, spacious work areas, free local calls, and wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small nightly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marion
Americas Best Value Inn Marion, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing