We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful discovery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
General Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I travel between Tennessee and Virginia several times a year. We had seen the General Francis Marion Hotel before but could not stay there because up until recently we always had our dog in tow so our hotel choices were limited.

While this hotel is not pet friendly, it more than makes up for it in every other way! The hotel is a unique blend of nostalgia and coolness that is hard to find these days. Atmosphere and character: A+ Friendly helpful staff: A++ There is a terrace balcony overlooking Main Street to relax and unwind along with nice dining options either downstairs or across the street.

There is a lot more to say but the bottom line is the GFMH offers an experience that is the antithesis of the mega chain hotels that is both refreshing and memorable for a price the national chain hotels can’t touch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRHSLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

It was our pleasure doing business with you and your wife! Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. The General Francis IS a nice break from the every day chain, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again and hope that we will see you soon. Perhaps you can dine out on the patio and try some of our new menu items we will be debuting over the next couple of months. Best wishes for safe travels between Tennessee and Virginia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I love historic hotels and oftentimes it is hard to find one with such beautiful attention to detail and overall felt like quaint B&B. We were passing through and happened upon it through one of the hotel websites and enjoyed our night visiting this small town. The hotel staff was attentive, very comfortable charming rooms and good breakfast. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We appreciate your business, and we appreciate your time in reviewing our property. It is nice to hear that our staff and rooms were what you were looking for. We are constantly looking for ways to make things better for our guests. Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having stayed at motels in Marion on more than one occasion, I can heartily recommend this hotel as the best option by far (although I haven't tried the local bed and breakfasts) It can be pricey in comparison, but discounts are sometimes available. This is a restored older hotel, and care was used to bring the place back to its former glory. However, there are some drawbacks that one must be willing to overlook. Although the staff will help with luggage if necessary, the lobby is reached by ascending about 9 stairs, or if you come in from the parking lot, you go down and then up to get there. If mobility is an issue, ask them what accomodations are available. (There is an elevator to take you to the bedroom floors.) We stayed in one of the smaller rooms where we shared a double bed. The furniture took most of the floor space, and it was quite a trick to get our suitcase to the luggage rack which was in a space at the foot of the bed next to the entertainment center with little space between it and the foot of the bed. There is no closet, only a rack attached to the furniture. Surprisingly, the bathroom was spacious by comparison. The continental breakfast was a disappointment, comparing roughly to what one gets at a typical motel - not bare bones but nothing special. Having said all this, I still will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offandrunning4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We appreciate your time in responding about our property. I would like to take a moment to address your concerns.
We have a lift available on the ground level of the hotel available to all of our guests for access to the front desk and our main elevator. And it is our pleasure to assist each one of our guests with their bags, so please don't hesitate to ask.
Our historic property originally had 57 rooms in it, with shared baths. During the renovation the rooms were enlarged to add baths to each room. This decreased our number of rooms but increased the comfort we were able to offer to our guests. The majority of our remaining 36 rooms do have closets for guests to hang their clothes in.
We hope that in the future you will be able to enjoy one of our larger rooms and all it has to offer. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here overnight to break up a drive; this was a very pleasant place to spend a night. The front desk and restaurant staff both made us feel welcome, and the lady who checked us in was genuinely happy to tell us about the history of the hotel.
Our room was compact (you might not want to spend a whole week) but attractive, and the unique lobby and mezzanine are both beautifully decorated. This historic hotel has been successfully updated to be comfortable and appealing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We appreciate your business, your time, and your kind words. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with many nice travelers, such as yourself. We would love to welcome you and your family back to the hotel and restaurant in the future. Perhaps next time you stay we need to upgrade you to one of our larger rooms, so you can get a better feel for all we have to offer! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here in June along with several family members. Hotel is lovely but stay was marred by our credit cards being compromised. The system was supposidly hacked and even new cards were created then used in a town called Humble TX. Be very, very, very careful using a credit card or debit; everyone we know that stayed there had their cards compromised...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdkrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Our first interest is to create the ideal experience for each person that stays with us. It was very concerning to hear that your family's personal information was tampered with outside of business. As we discussed with you earlier, we will continue to investigate the heart of the issue to prevent any future occurrences. It is our mission to find the answers and details that we each want and deserve to know. Please accept our apologies and understand this is not a standard that is associated with the General Francis Marion Hotel and the Black Rooster. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Halfway between Knoxville TN and Charlottesville VA is the sleepy little town of Marion. This simple geographical fact was the reason we stopped there during our road trip. We were so glad we did; the locals were very friendly and we had the opportunity to stay at the General Francis Marion. We were attracted to this hotel firstly because of its history and the opportunity to spoil ourselves a little, and upon arriving we were very impressed by the way in which it has been refurbished. Whoever was in charge of this project did a fantastic job, making the hotel modern and comfortable while preserving a heady dose of its 1920s glory; we loved it. The bed was comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly and efficient, and the dinner that we had at the restaurant was truly amazing. Its location in the little town of Marion makes a stay at this hotel incredible value for money. If you’ve got business somewhere in the area or like us you need an overnight stay close to the I-81, you won’t be disappointed. We certainly weren’t.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you got to spoil yourselves during your stay at our hotel. It is a delight to be able to serve such kind people. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope that you will be able to visit us again soon! Best wishes for safe travels in the future. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very comfortable beds, rooms were nice. We stayed in a King Suite, which had a living area and tv. No refrigerators in the room, but they will provide you with all the ice you need. Linens were very nice and bathrooms were clean and nicely appointed.The hotel was restored to its 1920's charm recently. You get an old fashioned key for your door. The one thing we did notice was hall noise at night due to the old wood doors on our hotel room. I guess it is part of the charm.
There are stairs in several spots, so I would not recommend this to anyone who can't use a lot of stairs. When you park in the back, you have to go down stairs, enter the building, then go up stairs again. This is a bit difficult while carrying luggage, even for people who are ambulatory. We didn't see another way to get in so assume that was the right way.
If you come in the front door, the hotel desk is up a set of stairs as well.
We aren't complaining, just wanted to make a note of it.
We were on the 3rd floor and there is an elevator to take you there once you reach the front desk.
Complimentary newspapers at front desk also.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the bar side of the hotel and it was delicious. Hotel restaurant is the Black Rooster. They have 2 sides in the restaurant-a casual side (bar) or a bit more formal side.
Breakfast was complimentary, simple and good. Coffee was surprisingly good! You can choose from cold cereal, make your own toast, and order fresh to made scrambled eggs or waffles. We both had scrambled eggs and they were delicious, came out hot and fresh.
There are a few shops(Army/Navy type store, thrift shops) if you decide to take a walk along the sidewalk and a Wal Mart within 2 miles to drive to.
Across the street is Handsome Molly's, which is a wine/sandwich type shop. We had lunch there the next day and it was excellent. I will write a review about that next!
Overall, good place to stay. We would stay there again if ever in Marion.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a room on the back side of the hotel to cut down on road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our rooms and staff. And yes, the stairs do seem to be a little intimidating sometimes in our historic property. However, when you come in the front entrance there are only 9 stairs to navigate to the front desk. We also have a lift that picks up on the ground level of the lobby and takes guests to the front desk. We have this option for anyone who needs or wants to use it, and it makes our hotel friendly to all travelers looking for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would love the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and we also don't mind helping with your luggage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
15.2 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Collins House Inn
The Collins House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marion
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 107 E Main St, Marion, VA 24354-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $105 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — General Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic General Francis Marion Hotel was originally built in 1927 and was restored to its original elegance. The hotel's 36 guest rooms are beautifully appointed in period furniture with emphasis on comfort and luxury. The Black Rooster, the hotel's restaurant offers superb dining in a Roaring '20s atmosphere. Located just up the street from the famous Lincoln Theatre, the hotel is listed in both the National and the Virginia Historic Registers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your General Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Francis Hotel Marion
General Francis Marion Hotel Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing