We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for a Small Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
General Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very comfortable beds, rooms were nice. We stayed in a King Suite, which had a living area and tv. No refrigerators in the room, but they will provide you with all the ice you need. Linens were very nice and bathrooms were clean and nicely appointed.The hotel was restored to its 1920's charm recently. You get an old fashioned key for your door. The one thing we did notice was hall noise at night due to the old wood doors on our hotel room. I guess it is part of the charm.
There are stairs in several spots, so I would not recommend this to anyone who can't use a lot of stairs. When you park in the back, you have to go down stairs, enter the building, then go up stairs again. This is a bit difficult while carrying luggage, even for people who are ambulatory. We didn't see another way to get in so assume that was the right way.
If you come in the front door, the hotel desk is up a set of stairs as well.
We aren't complaining, just wanted to make a note of it.
We were on the 3rd floor and there is an elevator to take you there once you reach the front desk.
Complimentary newspapers at front desk also.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the bar side of the hotel and it was delicious. Hotel restaurant is the Black Rooster. They have 2 sides in the restaurant-a casual side (bar) or a bit more formal side.
Breakfast was complimentary, simple and good. Coffee was surprisingly good! You can choose from cold cereal, make your own toast, and order fresh to made scrambled eggs or waffles. We both had scrambled eggs and they were delicious, came out hot and fresh.
There are a few shops(Army/Navy type store, thrift shops) if you decide to take a walk along the sidewalk and a Wal Mart within 2 miles to drive to.
Across the street is Handsome Molly's, which is a wine/sandwich type shop. We had lunch there the next day and it was excellent. I will write a review about that next!
Overall, good place to stay. We would stay there again if ever in Marion.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in a room on the back side of the hotel to cut down on road traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our rooms and staff. And yes, the stairs do seem to be a little intimidating sometimes in our historic property. However, when you come in the front entrance there are only 9 stairs to navigate to the front desk. We also have a lift that picks up on the ground level of the lobby and takes guests to the front desk. We have this option for anyone who needs or wants to use it, and it makes our hotel friendly to all travelers looking for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would love the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and we also don't mind helping with your luggage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for General Francis Marion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for the night while visiting a family member in Marion. I enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff and the room. They did a great job updating the hotel just enough to add modern comfort but not took much as to take away from the classic charm. My only dislikes were that the pillows were a bit uncomfortable and that there was no baked goods offered at breakfast. But I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvldlphn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hard work and love that was put into bringing the General Francis back to life. Your concerns about breakfast and the pillows in your room will definitely be taken into consideration when making improvements to ensure the ideal experience when staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in Marion, VA for work last week and needed a place to stay. I generally stay in the Hampton Inn in Abingdon, but due to their renovations, that was not available. I don't like some of the 'off brand' less expensive hotels, so I saw the General Francis Marion Hotel listed. I read through the reviews and decided to give it a try.
It is a fabulous find. The rooms have been updated and despite staying in the smallest room in the hotel, it was plenty roomy for one person, with a very large bathroom. It is clean and 'well-appointed' in every way. The staff is wonderful as well. I ate at the hotel restaurant/bar and the food was very good. I had a cajun chicken dish with rice and veggies and it was an excellent meal. The hotel rates are very reasonable. I saw another woman at the work event and mentioned I had stayed at this hotel, while she stayed at a less expensive hotel. When she found out the rates, she was disappointed she didnt stay there, but she will next time...and so will I.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Junior Suites next time. The small room is great for one night, has a full bed...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyclist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your time and your business. We continually strive to provide quality service and a quality experience to each of our guests, so we are happy to hear that it paid off with you! We would love to welcome you and your work event friend any time in the future. Warm wishes for safe travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has had a complete renovation in keeping with the time it was built. It has small but nice rooms, and new bathrooms done in the appropriate style. It is a nice place to stay if attending the Marion theater which is just doors away. We enjoyed dinner at the adjjoining restaurant several years ago, but ate elsewhere this time. It is close enough to stay in if you attend The Barter Theatre in Abingdon VA. (We got a good deal through Groupon) The breakfast served with your reservation is standard hotel breakfast bar fare. Our only complaint was the confusion about the bill at check out. We finally got it staightened out, but the desk didn't recognize the special rate at first, even though we had given the night clerk the Groupon printout.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Our owners took great pride in restoring the charm and classic touches from the 1920s. We are glad to hear that you appreciate the atmosphere that they have worked hard to create over the last few years.

However, please except our apologies for the delay at check-out. We know time is very valuable to each of our guests and our intentions are always to make interactions as error free as possible. We hope that this confusion will not deter you from returning in the future. Thank you for your response and your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a superb Hotel and you will find exceptional pricing. The rooms are quaint, just a little on the small size, yet very nice. The Hotel offers breakfast along with your room. All the staff were very polite. There is shopping within walking distance on the street. Across the street is a great restaurant called Handsome Molly's that offer good wines and reasonably priced pizzas, subs and salads among other things. As far as the Hotel it is great.

Room Tip: we liked street side. No noise problems whatsoever.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We were happy to welcome you to the General Francis Marion Hotel, and just as excited that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will share your positive experience with others, and we hope that you will be able to stay with us again. We would also love to have you dine with us in the Black Rooster in the future! Best wishes for safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The General Francis Marion is an outstanding hotel in the heart of old Marion. The front staff is friendly and ready to help, whatever the question. When we arrived our room was not ready but we were moved to an upgraded suite that was ready. The complementary breakfast was perfect, again with staff ready to help. We were seeing a play at the Barter in Abingdon but stayed at this hotel because of its value and wonderful attributes. The drive is only 20 minutes and well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are very priviledged to have kind and considerate people like you stay at our hotel. Thank you for reviewing our property and coming back to stay a second time with us! We wish you well in your travels and hope to welcome you again. Perhaps the next visit will be to a show at the Lincoln Theater, just steps from the General Francis Marion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We held our wedding and reception in the valley north of Marion and had our guests stay here. We used buses to transport our guests. This hotel has been restored to a grandeur that would have attracted the well-heeled as the train stopped on a journey into Tennessee from the mid-Atlantic states. With that said, the owners added requisite modern amenities such as flat screen televisions, well-appointed bathrooms, and a robust HVAC. We loved this place!

And you can't beat the price! It's an affordable alternative to the Martha Washington, while leaving you access to the charm that is the small town of Marion. Whenever anyone wants to know where to stay when traveling in this corner of Virginia, I wholeheartedly recommend the Francis Marion!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaJamieRockefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, General Manager at General Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your time in evaluating our property. My staff and I are very fortunate that we have the opportunity to show off all of our owners hard work and careful attention to detail at our exquisite hotel. We were happy to welcome you and your guests last summer and hope that many more will take advantage of all we have to offer at the General Francis Marion Hotel. And we hope that one day you can come back and celebrate your anniversary with us. Dessert on us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
153 reviews
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
0.1 mi away
The Collins House Inn
The Collins House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marion
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 107 E Main St, Marion, VA 24354-3105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $104 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — General Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic General Francis Marion Hotel was originally built in 1927 and was restored to its original elegance. The hotel's 36 guest rooms are beautifully appointed in period furniture with emphasis on comfort and luxury. The Black Rooster, the hotel's restaurant offers superb dining in a Roaring '20s atmosphere. Located just up the street from the famous Lincoln Theatre, the hotel is listed in both the National and the Virginia Historic Registers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your General Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Francis Hotel Marion
General Francis Marion Hotel Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing