We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”
Review of Dip Dog Stand

Dip Dog Stand
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Marion
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pennington Gap, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was camping at Hungry Mother State Park and drove to Dip Dog stand for lunch. We was not disappointed at all!! The service was fast and the food was good. My daughter can not eat bread so she order a bacon cheeseburger without the bun and they fixed her right up. You could tell they had done that before. I got dip dogs and fries which were very good! My wife got a dip dog and onion rings which she enjoyed as well, the onion rings were very good! I would reccomend every that can give Dip Dog Stand a try, next time I will try a cheeseburger they looked great!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paper bad goodness!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I grew up in this town and absolutely love the food! Each time I visit my family I have to eat here! My husband is the one requesting it now! Onion rings, double cheeseburger, and dip dogs are a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfoodlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great old-fashioned highway drive in restaurant !!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I grew up near here and have been coming to get there get dogs ever since I can remember!!
All the food is cooked to order and amazing but the dip dogs are one of a kind!!
Also please consider a milkshake since they use fresh ingredients !!
the blueberry is my personal favorite except that the real blueberries keep getting stuck in the straws!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are looking for a great short order place, try the dip dog stand. Great hamburgers, and their onion rings are the best, of course, their dip-dogs are also very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Onion Rings, Unappreciated Customers”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The poor service begins at the website as you look up the directions for the Dip Dog Stand in Marion, VA. The directions tell you where to exit and which route number but not the direction to drive on that route. We spent a bit of time driving back and forth. As interstate travelers, we found the poor service to continue as we located the stand only to discover there was no bathroom for customers. Had it not taken us so long to find the place, we might have left at that point.

After we stepped inside and ordered, we had rather a long wait which allowed us to observe the service through quite a few customers. Thinking it was only my opinion, I didn't plan to say anything back at the car until every member of our family mentioned how rude the workers were. Aside from the girl working the gift shop, none of them smiled. Customers were answered very impatiently. A couple of orders were messed up, and all that was required was for the counter workers to make the orders right. However, as they corrected the orders, they insisted that the fault was obviously on the customers' sides.

Despite the terrible customer service, the food was absolutely delicious! That is, of course, considering there is nothing healthy or gourmet about a dip dog stand in the first place. The long wait for food was due to the fact that the dogs were probably hand dipped and fried as we waited. These were the real thing! (As long as you understand that quality dogs are not everyone's understanding of what makes a great dip dog. These are the extremely fake, bright red type.) The onion rings were absolutely the best I have ever had anywhere. The breading was thick and uneven and delicious. The portions were large, and the prices were very good considering the quality of the food. We did not try any, but shakes and ice cream seem to be popular items from an extensive flavor menu.

The place is an institution, and assumedly, the locals arrive knowing not to expect pleasant customer service. If you approach the stand in that manner, you will enjoy some delicious, greasy food.

If you're looking for a quick pit stop on I-81, this is not the stop for you. If you are a local or want some time to stretch your legs while ordering food, pull over at the Dip Dog Stand in Marion, VA. By the way, it is between exits 39 and 44.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dip Dog Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing