We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had origianally planned on staying in Dublin at the Holiday Inn Express. We had stayed there on our way to Nashville 2 days earlier and wanted to stay there again on the way back because we were VERY impressed with it. However, we ended up making many more stops for cold water since we were on our Goldwing and it was 104 degrees! We arrive in Marion after dark and couldn't really see much of the motel. The thing that attracted us was the "Free Hot Breakfast" sign.

We paid $69 for a simple, basic motel room with no frills whatsoever. You get what you pay for but I have stayed at FAR better motels for a lot less so I feel it was overpriced. I won't complain about the room because it was clean and that's what mattered at the time. However, the hot breakfast left a lot to be desired! It wasn't hardley worth eating so we eat elsewhere. So much for the primary reason we chose this motel.

The bottom line is that this is a very low-end, out-dated and borderline "dumpy" motel. If you're in need of a last minute place to stay, it is clean and will do. But if you're looking for a nice place to stay with your spouse (and especially a family) then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntrtainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    14
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

I felt like I needed a shower after getting out of the shower. This place is run down. Expensive for the poor quality.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Summary: Room was clean but rate was high for what it was. We also had a toilet leak that I don't think was new. No discount was given, but they provided towels to soak it up.

Room
As mentioned the room was clean, at least to visual inspection. Furniture is pretty dated, but that doesn't bother me too much. Main issue was that the toilet wasn't properly sealed at the base and leaked when it was flushed. I'm not sure that the problem was something new, but when reported to the front desk was just handed towels. Unfortunately we were in a poor negotiating position because it was packed in Marion that weekend and couldn't get another room. We understand if someone can't repair the toilet but at least the offer of a discount would have been nice (they charged us $75/night since it was Hungry Mother Park's B-day).

Breakfast
A waffle maker, a toaster, and some watered down juice. Wouldn't be a big deal if it wasn't for the "Free Hot Breakfast!" sign out front. I didn't even bother to have breakfast there.

Summary
Go to one of the other budget hotels around there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpt-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were traveling I-81 South on Christmas day when a winter storm forced us to find a place to wait out the bulk of the snow. We stayed one night. The attendant was polite and helpful. Room was clean and adequate for one or two nights. Beds and bathroom were also clean.

Breakfast was sufficient. Waffles, hot coffee and juices. Can't complain since it was free (especially since nothing else was open due to the post-Christmas winter weather).

Pets accepted without fee; a must for us.

Two complaints: 1) The internet was spotty and rarely connected. When the internet did connect, the connection speed was too slow for us to access most web pages. 2) We felt the price was high. While clean and adequate, there were no frills and we felt the $60/night was high for a basic-clean motel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

The bed was comfortable. The comforter had a whole in the lining. One decent pillow and one that was useless. Paint was peeling in my room. There was a leak in the ceiling over the shower/tub. The shower curtain was stained. One of the lamps did not work. The free wireless connection was very slow...when it worked. Cannot call it high speed. Connection speeds experienced ranged from 1 kbs to 11 kbs.

Breakfast was adequate; waffles, small bagels, small biscuits, frozen muffins, frozen cream cheese, two kinds of cereal and instant oatmeal. There were no tongs to handle the muffins or bread. Almost forgot, apple and orange juice.

There was no attendant in the breakfast area. It seemd the desk clerk was doing double duty.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_kitty820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Traveling with Wife, saw highway sign and decide to spend night at Econo Lodge in Marion, VA. Staff was friendly, very nice and clean room. We had good night rest breakfast was excellent with hot waffles, biscut and more. we will stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sasweet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

We were on our way home from Orange Beach, AL to Baltimore, MD and we just needed somewhere none fancy to sleep. All we were looking for was a place to sleep around 4-5 hours and then get back on the road.

While fueling up at a service station I grabbed a hotel coupon book in the station. This econolodge was on our path up 81. The article stated that it had recently won several awards and was Newly Renovated. HA!

well, i guess the only thing renovated was the lobby. The room was horrible. 3 of our 4 towels had stains. the carpet was stained and the bathroom was still in another time era when yellow tiles and a yellow tube was something to write home about.

So the focus of this stay is the bed. We just need to sleep a few hours and then back on the road. So we pull back the sheets and there are circle stains up and down on the inside. by this point its 2am and im not about to call and complain, there is no telling how long it would take new sheets and towels to make it up to the room.

Next time i will drive further, pay more or sleep in the car before spending $54 a night here (and thats with the coupon)

I did not take any pictures because i was ashamed for any family or friends to know that i slept a night in a place like this.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Orangespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
23.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
24.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1420 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Marion, Virginia
Marion Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing