We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet Issues and Little Sympathy”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Summary: Room was clean but rate was high for what it was. We also had a toilet leak that I don't think was new. No discount was given, but they provided towels to soak it up.

Room
As mentioned the room was clean, at least to visual inspection. Furniture is pretty dated, but that doesn't bother me too much. Main issue was that the toilet wasn't properly sealed at the base and leaked when it was flushed. I'm not sure that the problem was something new, but when reported to the front desk was just handed towels. Unfortunately we were in a poor negotiating position because it was packed in Marion that weekend and couldn't get another room. We understand if someone can't repair the toilet but at least the offer of a discount would have been nice (they charged us $75/night since it was Hungry Mother Park's B-day).

Breakfast
A waffle maker, a toaster, and some watered down juice. Wouldn't be a big deal if it wasn't for the "Free Hot Breakfast!" sign out front. I didn't even bother to have breakfast there.

Summary
Go to one of the other budget hotels around there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpt-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were traveling I-81 South on Christmas day when a winter storm forced us to find a place to wait out the bulk of the snow. We stayed one night. The attendant was polite and helpful. Room was clean and adequate for one or two nights. Beds and bathroom were also clean.

Breakfast was sufficient. Waffles, hot coffee and juices. Can't complain since it was free (especially since nothing else was open due to the post-Christmas winter weather).

Pets accepted without fee; a must for us.

Two complaints: 1) The internet was spotty and rarely connected. When the internet did connect, the connection speed was too slow for us to access most web pages. 2) We felt the price was high. While clean and adequate, there were no frills and we felt the $60/night was high for a basic-clean motel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The bed was comfortable. The comforter had a whole in the lining. One decent pillow and one that was useless. Paint was peeling in my room. There was a leak in the ceiling over the shower/tub. The shower curtain was stained. One of the lamps did not work. The free wireless connection was very slow...when it worked. Cannot call it high speed. Connection speeds experienced ranged from 1 kbs to 11 kbs.

Breakfast was adequate; waffles, small bagels, small biscuits, frozen muffins, frozen cream cheese, two kinds of cereal and instant oatmeal. There were no tongs to handle the muffins or bread. Almost forgot, apple and orange juice.

There was no attendant in the breakfast area. It seemd the desk clerk was doing double duty.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank miss_kitty820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Traveling with Wife, saw highway sign and decide to spend night at Econo Lodge in Marion, VA. Staff was friendly, very nice and clean room. We had good night rest breakfast was excellent with hot waffles, biscut and more. we will stop here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sasweet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We were on our way home from Orange Beach, AL to Baltimore, MD and we just needed somewhere none fancy to sleep. All we were looking for was a place to sleep around 4-5 hours and then get back on the road.

While fueling up at a service station I grabbed a hotel coupon book in the station. This econolodge was on our path up 81. The article stated that it had recently won several awards and was Newly Renovated. HA!

well, i guess the only thing renovated was the lobby. The room was horrible. 3 of our 4 towels had stains. the carpet was stained and the bathroom was still in another time era when yellow tiles and a yellow tube was something to write home about.

So the focus of this stay is the bed. We just need to sleep a few hours and then back on the road. So we pull back the sheets and there are circle stains up and down on the inside. by this point its 2am and im not about to call and complain, there is no telling how long it would take new sheets and towels to make it up to the room.

Next time i will drive further, pay more or sleep in the car before spending $54 a night here (and thats with the coupon)

I did not take any pictures because i was ashamed for any family or friends to know that i slept a night in a place like this.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Orangespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Kind of dumpy...barking dog next door. Needs a good cleaning. Would drive farther next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sparky6654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Ceiling in the bathroom had a leak above it that was repaired but not the sheetrock. Part of the sheetrock was loose and ready to fall. Room wasn't very well kept--had webs in some areas. Beds were ok. Quality of towels was acceptable for a one night stay. Electrical outlets are in need of replacement. Plugs (power cords) won't stay in two that I tried. One of the lamps had the plug cut off the end of the cord. The breakfast area was tiny and not sure about the quality of the food; it wasn't very clean looking. We went to the local McD's instead. Not much other choices. Staff were friendly. This place is acceptably for an overnight unless there's something "better" near by. I suggest inspecting the room(s) before accepting and bunking down for the night. Choice Hotels need to hit this place hard --it's due a major rework inside and out.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank keystoneTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.7 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
16.8 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
155 reviews
16.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Glade Spring
Econo Lodge Glade Spring
#2 of 2 in Glade Spring
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1420 N Main St, Marion, VA 24354-4316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Marion
Price Range: $75 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Marion, Virginia
Marion Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing