We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“19th Anniversary Get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Collins House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“19th Anniversary Get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at "The Collins House Inn. If you are looking for a Bed & Breakfast, look no further. The Collins House Inn went up & beyond my expectation. The Inn was very beautiful & super clean. The host were excellent & we were treated like family. When we left they gave us a care package for the road. I am already telling my friends about this small town in Marion VA. Planning a trip, don't miss an opportunity to spend the night at this beautiful inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Give yourself a birthday gift and plan a carefree stay at the Collins House Inn in Marion, Virginia. December birthdays are difficult to make special but our sons planned a stay at the Collins House with a Lincoln Theater concert, the object of our drive from the NC coast. Sheila and Dave were so helpful in setting up this
occasion - with many considerate touches. As all the other reviews have told you
the house has been lovingly restored and each bedroom (and bath) is beautiful - and unique. The breakfasts were deliciious and attractively presented. Now we are just looking for a reason for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We traveled to Marion, Virginia for a friend's wedding. The town is small and has a lot of southern charm. The Collins House Inn also has a lot of southern charm, but the proprietors, Dave and Sheila, combine their southern hospitality with an attention to detail you would expect from a five star hotel in New York or Los Angeles. The website pictures do not do the Collins House justice. It is a beautiful old home that was lovingly restored. Every room was immaculate. Beautifully decorated and also spotlessly clean, with not a speck of dust to be found. Dave and Sheila are also fantastic hosts, and full of information about the surrounding area, from things to do to restaurants. The room had excellent wiireless connectivity (a must as I needed to do some work from the room) and the bed, a king, was spacious and comfortable. Each room had a separate thermostat, and our stay was quiet and peaceful. Additionally, the inn is eco-friendly, with recycling and energy saving light fixtures in the rooms.

The breakfast was gourmet comfort food. Our first morning was quiche with dill and bacon, fresh fruit, a blueberry muffin, and sausage grits. The second morning was a blueberry cream cheese stuffed french toast with bacon and fresh fruit. Sheila was also careful to ask about our dietary preferences.

Be forewarned if this is your first visit to a B&B, The Collins House may spoil you, and other B&Bs may never live up to the high standard set by Dave and Sheila!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhancockwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Kudos to Shelia Quattrocchi and Dave Fields. This talented couple renovated an abandoned house into a beautiful B & B. They did all the work themselves; H/A/V, painting, carpentry, glazing, millwork, everything. It took them five years. It is modern and very comfortable. Be sure and look at the scrapbook. Their artisan skills are exceeded only by their hospitality. We thought we were staying with family instead of inkeepers. The gormet breakfasts are to die for. If you go to Madison, be sure and stay with them. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leepierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

On a previous trip to Marion, VA to hike the nearby Appalachian Trial, I struck up a conversation with a couple in a local restaurant. Turned out they are the proprietors of Collins House Inn, David Fields and Sheila Quattrocchi. They gave me a lot of good info about places to eat in Marion and invited me and my buddies to walk up after dinner and see their B&B. I was curious to find the location of a web cam that I been watching weather conditions in Marion. The webcam is on the porch of the Collins House. Check it out and you will see the Collins House is located very near to downtown Marion, so you walk everyplace. After dinner I walked up to peek in the window of the Inn -- and all the lights came on. David came out and said, “Come on in" and invited me and my hiking buddies for a tour. David spent five and a half years taking the house apart and reassembling. It is beautifully done. Five bedrooms, each with private bath. Mix of their antiques, purchased antiques and reproductions. I returned with my wife this weekend for our 38th wedding anniversary. I must say this was the best of all 38! We love the convenience of the Collins House to the restaurants and the Lincoln Theater. We parked our car and walked the entire weekend, The town of Marion sits a beautiful valley just off I81 which makes the Collins House not only easy to get to, but strategically located for visits anyplace in the southwest corner of Virginia. David and Sheila are not only great host, cooks, tour advisors, and historians, but people we now count as friends. We will be visiting the Collins House Inn for many more anniversaries and I highly recommend you do the same for special occasions or just a special weekend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevecol_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were extremely satisfied with our stay at The Collins House Inn during one of the NASCAR weekends. This bed and breakfast provided the perfect solution for the needs of my wife and I. It is only a short drive to the track and just far enough away to allow you to escape from all of the hustle and bustle of the NASCAR circuit. The accommodations were pristine in every way and the food provided was absolutely delicious. The owners of the facility did an outstanding job recommending local attractions that were specific to our interests. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joellabute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at the Collin's House Inn; it is wonderful. The other reviews are quite comprehensive and very accurate, so rather than repeat what they have to say, we just want to say, "Treat yourself to a wonderful stay!" David and Sheila, the heart and soul of the inn, have created the perfect spot to rest, relax and enjoy yourself. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtkunstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Atkins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
15.1 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
20.5 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#4 of 5 in Damascus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collins House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collins House Inn

Property: The Collins House Inn
Address: 204 W.Main Street, Marion, VA 24354
Location: United States > Virginia > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collins House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant AAA 3-Diamond rated Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of historic downtown Marion, VA. Whatever your passion if it is hiking or biking on pristine trails surrounded by spectacular sights Nature has provided? Or is it music that stirs your soul and The Song of the Mountain is in your bones? Motorcyclists—are you up to the challenge of the Back of the Dragon? Maybe you just want to ‘get away’ and treat yourself and that special someone. The Marion area and Southwest Virginia has some of the best fly fishing in the State. The Collins House Inn in Marion, VA, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia and just off I-81, is your perfect destination. From Marion, you are ‘stone’s throw’ from both Hungry Mother State Park and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area where the highest peak in Virginia can be found—and experience the view from Whitetop Mountain. A member of the Diamond Select Registry, we offer 5 well appointed suites with superior amenities (i.e. insuite bathrooms) that make staying at the Collins House Inn a suitable alternative to hotels on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Collins House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collins House Inn Marion, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing