We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Pig Barbeque

Silver Pig Barbeque
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

After going to school in North Carolina and travelling the back roads to the most remote barbeque places, it is nice to find some good pig at home. For those who know the real stuff it is hard to give the Silver Pig five stars, but its good enough not to have to travel to the Tar Heel State.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Tarnished Silver Pig”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a rather non-descript little barbecue place in the North Carolina (vinegary) barbecue tradition. I was not impressed.
The only entree on the menu is a pulled pork sandwich, along with beans or slaw if you want. The sandwich is a handful of vinegary pork shreds on a cold dry boring "Wonder Bread" hamburger bun. That's it. The place serves these very small sandwiches wrapped in wax paper directly on your table, no plate etc. You get a paper plate if you order the "combo" with beans.
Drinks are iced tea or soda, with the soda served in the can. The ambiance is poor, if detectable- bare wooden tables and mismatched wooden chairs. Looked like the back room at the Goodwill store furniture department. I would have liked a bit of extra sauce but all there was was hot sauce- nothing approaching barbecue sauce. I guess this may the be the norm, but it wasn't all that good or interesting. the staff was a bit surly as well. No "Southern Hospitality" to be found.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VIAJERO225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Dissapointed with barbeque, frozen - deep fried fish and hushpuppies. I would like to support local restaurants, but wished I had followed my first notion to goto Dicky's on Wards. I was embarassed to bring this food to my friend's house. I quickly stopped for chicken at Kroger Deli. Friends ate chichen instead of fish and barbeque. Silver pig sold me a container of slaw, barbeque and hushpuppies ( in a plain paper bag) as a dinner for 4 for $15. The hand full of fish they took out of a freezer across the way ( I thought they were going to the restroom) costs $10. It was $27.20 with tax. They had no napkins, forks, catsup with it. The fish was dry and not appealing. The place looked unkept and run down. T

Helpful?
Thank BthereandCit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The food was hot and great. Although the decore was lacking. It looked like an original Kenny Burger Biulding.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Carolina BBQ in Virginia--Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Silver Pig has become an institution--and a place that alums of local schools just have to visit when back in the Lynchburg area. Businessmen go a few extra miles to lunch there too. They also cater for parties that we have attended. If you put the tangy slaw on the BBQ, you don't need any hot sauce. There is some in the slaw itself. My husband goes every 3 wks to get a BBQ fix.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janeacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Pig Barbeque also viewed

 
Madison Heights, VA
 

Been to Silver Pig Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing