We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't order the large fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pig N Steak

Pig N Steak
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Madison
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ribs!! huge servings, tasty friendly service. affordable.If I'm ever there again at meal time that's be my stop.
Rapidan, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't order the large fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fantastic bbq and hamburgers and very generous homemade, hot fries. You will never leave hungry. A real country, nonpretentious gem with excellent, friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The menu and the Bar-B-Q is simple and fantastic. The place looks a little run down, but don't let that scare you away. The service is good and the prices very reasonable

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Dale, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We call the place FAT AND GRISSEL.....the worst food and rude service that I've ever experienced and that's saying something

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ & Darned Good Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is my local close-to-home fave, and I travel a LOT, so I eat way too much restaurant food. This is where my husband and I come close to home. Usually, I have their pulled pork BBQ, the best I've eaten. Ever. Period. But last night, and for the first time, I tried the 9 oz. Delmonico steak...grilled to perfection (rare), tender and very flavorful. Happily, no added rub, just the delicious flavor of a fine piece of steak grilled like it should be. Came with a baked potato and salad, not over the top, but I came for the steak. The place is down-home country...read that as "it ain't fancy." Wait staff is always affable and we often get to chattin'. Just off Rte. 29 in Madison, turn R at the BP station. Oh, great home made slaw, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suziewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The ribs here used to be great,. Lean, moist, and tasty. I had lunch earlier today and the ribs were so dry i could not finish them. Hopefully it was an off day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pig N Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing