We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old House”
Review of Federal Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Federal Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Old House”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

If you're coming to Lynchburg, Federal Crest is a great place to stay. The house is beautiful. The woodwork and furnishings are fantastic. Ann and Phil are great hosts and they do a great breakfast. The inn is convenient to the downtown area, but the drive to other parts of Lynchburg is not bad. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

what truly good fortune to have Phil answer our evening call regarding availability and be welcome by both Phil and Ann minutes later. The "home" is a treasure and they are perfect and warm hosts. We will certainly return in the very near future.

Room Tip: close your eyes, they are all magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brh025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 31 years anniversary at Ann and Phil beautiful B&B! They made you feel welcomed and right at home. We met some wonderful people this week and will definetly come back to stay! Thank you Ann & Phil for the breakfasts and the friendship!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

How do you say “beautiful”? The Federal Crest Bed and Breakfast fits this description perfectly. We have stayed at this Bed and Breakfast several times over the past six years. We have visited as a couple and as a family of four. The owners, Phil and Ann, are hospitable to the max. They will welcome you with coffee, cookies and a smile, and will go the extra mile to help you in any way. The house is exquisite, all rooms are cozy, comfortably decorated with antiques, impeccably clean, and very well appointed with high quality bed linens and towels . The meals are delicious, stayed four nights and never had the same meal. You will find in the morning the fireplace lit and table set elegantly with china and silver. The area is surrounded in history, minutes away from many eating establishments. You could not choose a better place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, most with sitting areas. All have private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was the fourth of the B&Bs on our tour of Virginia and the third to get top billing! Ann and Phil made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay in Lynchburg. We can recommended this luxury accommodation wholeheartedly. Both rooms were delightful. There were so many extra little touches, including fresh flowers adorning the breakfast plates.

Room Tip: The ladies preferred the Dogwood which is light and airy. My husband chose The Willow which gives m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Federal Crest Inn and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Ann and Phil Ripley are warm and welcoming into their absolutely lovely home. The first level of this stately home has a immediate "wow" factor when you see the central grand staircase with the large landing. Lovely dark wood finishes with glowing fireplaces throughout. It was a damp chilly weekend and I sincerely appreciated the warmth of the fires upon entering! We stayed in the Dogwood room and found it romantic and enchanting. Sheets, bedding, and mattress was extremely comfortable as well. Breakfast was delicious and presented so thoughtfully. Thank you Ann and Phil for making your home our home!
Courtney and Glenn

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Courtney924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Federal Crest Inn provided us a lovely weekend away. It is a charming home built in the early 1900's. The owners have done extensive renovation to update the internal systems (heating, A/C, etc.) and decorated the home with furnishings that complement the elegant but relaxed style. The owners are gracious hosts, making everyone feel right at home and ensuring their guests' comfort and enjoyment. Mr. Ripley has a vast knowledge of local history and attractions. He enjoys discussing both subjects, providing helpful insights and suggestions for touring the city. Mrs. Ripley is a delightful woman, and an accomplished artist. She has filled the house with many of her beautiful paintings. Our room was stylish and comfortable, furnished with a mix of antiques and modern furniture. An elegant breakfast was served in the dining room and gracious accommodations were made for special dietary needs. Fine china and silver adorned the table. Service was prompt and attentive. The meal was delicious! We would definitely return to the Federal Crest Inn. We will also recommend it highly to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Crest Inn

Property: Federal Crest Inn
Address: 1101 Federal St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-3018
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rock on the front porch of this stately mansion in a quiet, historic district. Enjoy the friendly hosts, en-suite fireplaces & private baths, plus fabulous breakfasts. Great nearby restaurants, Civil War & historic attractions, antiquing, Blue Ridge Mts., golfing, etc. Close to many colleges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Federal Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing