We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Lynchburg)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$132
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$101
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
78
10
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housetake great pridewonderful ownersother guestsanswering questionseach morningfreshly baked cookiesyogurtpoplar forestfantastic staykathyhostshayloftrestoringmemorialfurniturelodging
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 90 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

The hosts bent over backwards for us. They were able to answer our questions about the area and direct us to some great places! We stayed in the Hayloft and it was roomy, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was outstanding. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: We loved the Hayloft for privacy and spaciousness
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiquarian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thanks. Now you have a "favorite" room. We would love to have you stay longer next time to take advantage of more of our historic sites and local wineries. Plus there's hiking or biking, even snow boarding and skiing--12 months of the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

2 ladies traveling around the Virginia countryside during Historic Virginia Garden Week wanted a comfortable spot to rest in the evenings. We found it - in the Carriage House
B&B! We stayed in the actual carriage house, and couldn't have been more comfy after our days touring homes, gardens and farms. Breakfast was delish and the inn keepers/owners Kathy and Mike joined us each morning to share information about Lynchburg. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed our Garden Day. We participated in Garden Day about 3 years ago and had over 1200 people though our Bed and Breakfast. It's always enjoyable for us to have guests who fall "in love" with Lynchburg. Thanks for staying with us and for your kind words. We hope to have you stay with us next year, as every year a different section of Lynchburg is featured on Garden Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

The hotel was excellent, our stay in the Hayloft suite was comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and my son ate so much that he was full all day. We enjoyed a 7 mile hike around Lynchburg during the day and then a nice dinner in one of the restaurants downtown. We will be back soon for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Thanks for your comments. Glad your son enjoyed his first stay at a bed and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

We were relegated to the "Hayloft", an renovated outbuilding, despite the fact that the main house was empty of guests. We are a married couple and did not need a room with an extra bed in it, taking up space. The hosts seemed resentful when we wanted to use the sitting room in the main house. The "legendary breakfast", which is served only at 9:00 AM, is a joke...skip it and go to IHOP. The "four courses" consisted of a shot glass of smoothie for the first course, the second course was 1/2 cup of fruit including canned fruit one morning, the third course consisted of six ounces of yogurt with 6 raspberries. The fourth course was pancakes on two mornings which were good but one of the mornings I cannot describe what we were served; it was certainly not American breakfast food. It was more like leftovers of a spinach salad the hosts wanted to get rid of at our expense. The amount of syrup on the mornings we were served pancakes was so closely monitored that I almost laughed out loud. We were told that it was "Real Maple Syrup" and very expensive. We use real maple syrup at home, what's the big deal? Are these people control freaks, simply cheap, or what? The insult added to this expensive injury was that the owners actually expected a tip! Very rude, very pushy…tips at a B&B should never be solicited, and then should only be given, VOLUNTARILY, for truly extraordinary service. The only thing truly extraordinary thing about The Carriage House Inn were things that we, even as paying guests, were denied…a beautiful room in the mansion, a decent breakfast, and gracious access to the other areas of the house when we wanted it. The stay was very disappointing and was not worth the exorbitant rate we paid to stay there. We will not be back, and do not feel we can recommend this experience to others.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelrs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

In response to the review above, our first comment is that we are extremely sorry the guests left our bed and breakfast feeling the way they did. Also, unsure why they waited over four months to let us know there was a problem.

The review indicated you were traveling with friends so if you made a reservation for rooms in the mansion and the carriage house suites are available we often offer a free upgrade to the suites in the carriage house where there is a TV, a private parlor and a kitchen vs. a room with a bed in the mansion. Most guests “traveling with friends” love the upgrade since it provides them about 1500 square feet of space vs. 400 square feet for a room in the mansion. In the past, a couple of guests declined the free upgrade which you too could have done. In our almost 10 years of operating the bed and breakfast we have found that guests traveling together enjoy the privacy of the space and the use of the common areas. The choice to switch was/is the guests.

Breakfasts at our bed and breakfast have been called legendary by many of our guests. We serve a four-course breakfast each morning and rarely, if ever, have guests left the breakfast table hungry. Our menu items served are rotated between a sweet entrée one morning and a savory entrée the other morning. Unless someone specifically requests an entrée or has specific dietary restrictions, we typically would not serve a similar entrée twice (like pancakes as mentioned above.) Our yogurt course is 5-6 ounces of Greek yogurt with fresh fruit mixed in and on top. Our fruit course is never canned, always fresh. Maple syrup is not monitored, but it is served in individual containers and costs are NEVER discussed. Guests are always asked if they would like more, if they use all of their syrup.

We are disappointed these guests felt “relegated to the Hayloft” and “were not granted access to the common areas in the mansion”. All guests can use any of the common areas in the mansion, the front porch or patio with fish pond.

It goes without saying that no one likes to receive a scathing review. When we don’t meet someone’s expectation we appreciate the feedback, so that we can resolve any issues. Having said that, to make this right with our unhappy guest, I went back through all the reservations in October to try find the unhappy guest. We didn’t have anyone from Washington DC stay with us last October, however we did have someone from Fairfax Station, Virginia stay in the Hayloft suite. He is about 6’ 5” and the Hayloft Suite has a California King Bed which is a couple of inches longer than a normal king bed. They had not selected a room when they made the reservation so yes, I put them there so that he would be more comfortable and no, he didn’t ask to have a room in the mansion. I believe he stated he was grateful for our consideration of his comfort when we took him to his room. There were no other guest in the mansion when they stayed with us October 24, 25 and 26 and he could have asked for any room in the mansion (and he saw all of them) before being taken to his room in the carriage house. Because of their dietary restrictions; no egg dishes and no meat, we served souffled pumpkin pancakes, a Mexican tortilla breakfast and blueberry buttermilk pancakes the three mornings they were here. The fruit courses (all fresh fruit) were mixed berries with mint, pineapple with pomegranate and bananas brulee. This couple was NOT traveling with anyone else per their review.

At checkout, all guests sign their invoice which states “Gratuities are not expected” and yet you left a $70.00 gratuity for such an awful stay which to me is a contradiction to your review.

Thanks for the feedback and while I don’t expect we will see you again, we take your comments seriously and will strive to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Mike & Kathy were down to earth and very gracious. The inn is amazing (that staircase!!) and all the extra touches made us feel right at home. From robes and extra toiletries in the bathroom, to information about the inn and Lynchburg in our room, we just loved it. The room was huge, the king size bed was comfy, and there was information about breakfast, along with some chocolate, waiting for us when we returned from our evening out. Never mind that we were able to walk to and from the inn to downtown Lynchburg. Of course there were cold sodas waiting for us and plenty of coffee in the morning. And speaking of morning, the breakfast was outstanding!

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank xulauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Thank you. We love being close enough to downtown Lynchburg that our guests can walk to dinner, an art show, the theater, or the walking trails. We look forward to your return visit when you can stay for more than one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews