We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, highly recommended”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

After a 3 day stay in Washington DC we were looking for a more laid back and relaxing environment for a few days. After a search we ended up in Lynchburg VA. Not the most common choice in the Virginia area, but it turnt out to be a good one.

Kathy and Mike run their B&B in a beautifully restored large house and they run it in a truly great and warm atmosphere. The house in itself is beautifull (we stayed in the RM Watts room) but the attention for details make the stay wonderfull and relaxing.

Every morning we enjoyed a really great breakfast with original and delicious dishes. Every question we had adressed and Kathy and Mike really spoiled us during our 3 night stay.

We have been the first non-US customers butt we highly recommend the Carriage B&B if you are looking for a relaxing stay a bit of the beaten path in this area. There are beautiful hikes (Peaks of Otter) and scenic drives closeby in the neighbourhoud.

Give it a try sometime, you will like it.

  • Liked — the hosts and the beautifull house
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dokkers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
51
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We had never been to Lynchburg before - but were quite pleased with our visit to the area (there's a lot to see and do - the nearby National D-Day Memorial, in particular, is truly amazing . . . and sobering) - and the Carriage House was a wonderful base of operations!

The owners, Mike and Kathy, are truly friendly, knowledgeable, and talented (both in terms of the hands-on work they've done with regard to renovating their property and in terms of the scrumptious breakfast that they serve).

The rooms are very comfortable, immaculate, and nicely decorated with interesting furniture, artwork, and rugs - and the property is located conveniently close to Lynchburg's Main Street and historic downtown. Business travelers will also find it to be good value and a very nice place to stay.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Friendly owners, interesting decor, location, comfort
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

A friend recommended we make a trip to Lynchburg and stay at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast. Ok where is Lynchburg and what is there to do? As soon as we arrived at the B and B we were inspired. The house was absolutely gorgeous. We had morning coffee and afternoon drinks on the huge porch and that was great. Just a couple blocks down the street we found hiking trails and bike paths. We waked to downtown restaurants for dinner. We borrowed a fishing pole and went fishing (they weren’t biting) in the James River only three blocks from the house.

We visited Thomas Jefferson’s summer house which is where he escaped to avoid the crowds in Charlottesville. The D-Day memorial was very moving and is worth visiting. Appomatox Courthouse was also very interesting. Three days later we had to say goodby and head back home without doing half of the things we wanted to do once we got there.

Lynchburg is somewhat off the beaten path but this is a must see place and if you make it there, the only place to stay is The Carriage House Inn. The restoration work was magnificent and the hosts, Kathy and Mike were the best. Breakfast was too good for words. We stayed in the Emma Watts Room and it was comfortable, clean, and the old tub was wonderful.

  • Liked — The charm and character of the property is amazing and has great history
  • Disliked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dolorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

What a wonderful B & B! From the delicious breakfasts, to the relaxing massages, to just sitting on the front porch! My stay at te Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast was absolutely WONDERFUL! Kathy and Mike are great hosts who were always there if we needed any assistance! I would definetly make another trip to Lynchburg to stay at this B & B!

  • Liked — Hospitality of the inn keepers
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was wonderful
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This was the perfect long weekend getaway. We hiked and biked the trails that are only blocks away from The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, walked down town from the house, enjoyed refreshments on the huge porch and was breakfast was to die for. The innkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and helped us plan some exciting day trips. The room was huge and the sleep number bed was unbelievably comfortable. To say we had a great time would be a huge understatement. Unfortunately there was so much more to do before we had to leave but we will definitely be back to finish seeing the sites of the area.

If you are looking for a great trip and want your stay to be memorable, I can only recommend that you stay at the Carriage House Inn. After your experience there you will not want to stay anywhere else (we are seasoned travelers).

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank writer101Springfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Our Carriage House stay was a wonderful experience that we will pass on to our friends. The owners were friendly and gracious. The spacious room had all the comforts of home and breakfast was absolutely delicious (and filling). We hope to find a reason to return to the Lynchburg area so we can visit this charming Inn again !

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank SamBridgewater_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENTUCKY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

If you want to disconnect from the world and reconnect with each other visit The Carriage House! Everything has been restored to its natural beauty and the old home just has a way of taking you back and slowing you down. I made this trip with my 90 year old grandmother and sitting in our room, on the porch or in the parlor we just felt compelled to share hearts. The walls just seem to inspire conversation that you will cherish for a lifetime! The innkeepers, Mike and Kathy, really understand true southern hospitality! It was like visiting old friends! Kathy serves amazing 3 course breakfasts with recipes you've never seen before and Mike gave us a PERSONAL tour of the area with all the history to go along with!

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did! CALL TODAY!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 404 Cabell St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1217
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentically restored 1878 Italianate Mansion features many of the original light fixtures, doors, claw foot tubs, bathroom sinks, fireplaces and mantels, woodwork and much more. Oversized rooms, wireless internet, full business center and on site licensed massage therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing