We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Lynchburg)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$132
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$101
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
78
10
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housetake great pridewonderful ownersother guestsanswering questionseach morningfreshly baked cookiesyogurtpoplar forestfantastic staykathyhostshayloftrestoringmemorialfurniturelodging
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 90 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A wonderful historic B & B. Cozy, comfortable, clean...delicious breakfast. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Walking distance to historic downtown. No small kids or pets.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chile752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was the first time we had visited a B and B so we weren't sure what to expect, however we were pleasantly surprised. The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and at home. We were made to feel like old friends. I can say for sure that we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

While traveling through Virginia, to visit historic sites, we decided
to add Lynchburg to our trip. Looking through various web sites we
discovered The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast. Since they had
recently been selected as a “Top 10 B & B in the US” by
BedandBreakfast.com we thought we’d give them a try. They did not
disappoint!

Greeted at check-in by the innkeepers we were immediately made to feel
at home. After being shown around the lovingly restored mansion we were
shown to our room where home-made chocolate chip cookies were waiting.
After getting settled in we spoke with Kathy & Mike about dinner
options. They recommended several downtown restaurants that were all
within walking distance and sounded delicious. We selected Main Street
Eatery, Kathy made the reservation and we later enjoyed a sumptuous
dinner plus desserts to die for, then waddled home.

After a restful night breakfast each morning was a very enjoyable
experience. Freshly squeezed and blended juices followed by a unique
blend of yogurt with a bit of fruit. Our fruit course included fresh
berries in a raspberry cream. And the main course was a custom-made,
overstuffed omelet accompanied by a fabulous Asiago-spinach sausage,
home-made cranberry-raisin bread and sweet potato hash browns. Needless
to say, we did not eat lunch that day.

After spending the day exploring the area we returned to wine and
cheese in the parlor and pleasant conversation with Kathy & Mike and the
other guests. Another delicious dinner downtown followed at Shoemaker’s
American Grille. It started raining while eating, we called Mike and he
came to pick us up so as not to get wet walking “home.”

Breakfast again was more than we could ask for: freshly squeezed orange
juice, yogurt with fruit, a fruit salad with a lemonade sauce and their
February signature dish - - Chocolate Waffles with Raspberries and
homemade vanilla whipped cream. Almost couldn’t finish but we did!

We are so very glad we found The Carriage House Inn and certainly agree
with their most recent commendation. Keep up the good work! We will
return when in Central Virginia as there are several more days of sights
and activities we want to experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We chose to get married at The Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast, in
Lynchburg, Virginia and were we ever pleased!

Since we were inviting only our parents and a few friends the wedding
package “Wedding for a Few” was perfect for us, both for our budget and
for our numbers. We arranged the entire event over the phone and
through email, with stunning results. We added additional room nights
for our guests, so Kathy & Mike upgraded us to a suite in the carriage
house (so we could have some privacy.)

Everything we wanted was included: a gorgeous bouquet and boutonniere,
a small tiered wedding cake, the celebrant was recommended, sparkling
wine for our toast, and a wonderful, personalized ceremony in the
parlor. Mike even surprised us with a CD of pictures taken throughout
the afternoon. A wedding day luncheon was requested and served in the
dining room: yummy salad, bread and shrimp scampi with penne—I didn’t
want spaghetti or red sauce so as not to stain my dress!

The perfect way to share our special day with those we love, save some
money and start our future off on the right foot. We’ll even be back to
celebrate our anniversary as Kathy & Mike offer rooms at a special rate
if you get married at the Carriage House Inn.

Room Tip: The house was more than a B and B. Mike and Kathy made it feel like home on my special day. All the rooms are spacious, clean and inviting !
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamBridgewater_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

When staying at the Carriage House Inn, I had difficulty connecting to the internet so I asked Mike for assistance. He too couldn't get my computer to work so he said we needed to go to Plan B. He let me use his office while he contacted a local network company. They came right out and added some equipment and by the afternoon I had great internet access. in business you are judged by what steps you take when you encounter a problem, He went above and beyond my expectations in resolving the issues. Once I had internet access I was quite happy.

Beyond that, the housse is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed, the food was beyond good and the hosts were helpful in suggesting things to do in town, places to eat, and attractions to visit. If we ever get back to Lynchburg, we wouldn't consider staying anyplace else.

I would give this a score of 11 out of 10!

Room Tip: My wife came with me on this trip. There is a massage treatment room on the property and she had the best massage she has ever had there.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas_H146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews