We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful renovation that respects history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful renovation that respects history”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy downtown Lynchburg on foot, which itself has surprisingly good restaurants and antique/second-hand stores in which to browse. We loved the hotel with the shoe motif... REALLY high ceilings and very comfortable bed make you feel like you're in a NYC loft. Very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. And a more than reasonable per night cost... we will return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    121
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
209
330
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were truly impressed with every aspect of the Craddock Terry Hotel. There was a festival going on on the Riverfront when we arrived and parking was at a premium. A gentleman met us at the entrance of the hotel parking entrance and escourted us to a parking spot. We had called ahead and told the front desk we were running late for an awards dinner and needed to check in quickly. I was very hurried, yet the front desk personnel could not have been more pleasant! The room was absolutely gorgeous. The furniture is very nice quality as well as the draperies and linens! Our room had very high ceilings and was incredibly spacious. The walk in shower and vanity area is very contemporary and polished. There is a little wooden shoe box in the room with a card to fill out of your request for a continental breakfast. You fill out the form, place in the shoebox and set outside of your room door. Early in the morning, someone comes around and fills your shoebox with the items you requested. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and loved being able to sleep in without rushing to catch a set timed breakfast. There is a hotel "mascot" dog - Buster. You can sign up to take him for walks. My husband and I just played with Buster in the lobby for quite some time before leaving! We did go to Waterstone after the awards ceremony. Waterstone is a brickoven pizzeria downstairs from the hotel on the waterfront. It has beer from the Jefferson Street Brewery. It was a great end to our evening. We're looking forward to coming to Lynchburg again to have the opportunity to stay at the Craddock Terry! Side note: we had come directly to Lynchburg from a conference in Virginia Beach. It was a very pleasant surprise to find the rate was half of what we paid in VA Beach, yet our room was 10 times nicer! Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The room was spacious and immaculate. The bathroom had all new Kohler fixtures and very very clean and shiny. The continental breakfast delivered in a shoemakers box was a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Only stayed one night so I didn't have too much time to explore. However, I can say the rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and very accomidating. The rooms are well equipped with the standard fare . . refrigerator, coffee, etc plus wireless internet. Extremely comfortable bed. They also have a business center which I did not use but it appeared adequate. One interesting item . . . the complementary breakfast is served in a shoeshine box. You fill out the enclosed card with what you want, set the card and box outside the night before, and the next day breakfast is served..

Some reviews will complain about the trains that come through all hours of the night . . .don't know if they don't run anymore or I just didn't hear them but this wasn't a problem during our stay.

Like I said earlier, I didn't get too much time to explore around the hotel or immediate area but overall . . .a nice stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsams1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gardens, fl
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

While in Lynchburg to celebrate my father's 100th Birthday with out of town friends and family many of us chose this converted shoe factory as our hotel. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, and beautifully designed with exposed beams remaining as ceiling support. The clever way of providing breakfast in a shoe shine box left outside of your room door is the easiest and most efficient. The valuable help provided by the front desk in choosing and reserving a table for brunch in an outside restaurant for a large group, on very short notice, was much appreciated. The inhouse Restaurant "Shoemakers" was also excellent. As Arnold would say " I will be back!"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The rooms are gorgeous - loved the high ceilings, exposed brick and wood beams. Beds were comfy and rooms were extremely clean. The staff is wonderful - and the hotel dog is the cutest little guy! The restaurants in the adjacent building, accessed by a short walkway, were amazing - food was delicious and the staff friendly and fun! We went back a second night because the menu offered so many inviting dishes! We weren't disappointed. Yummy oven baked pizza!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranson, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband for a getaway & we both fell in love with this hotel. It is truly a hidden gem. The area has a nostalgic feel, filled with old buildings & train depots. Some buildings have been remodeled and are still in use, as was this hotel. Others were unfortunately left to ruin, but it makes the area carry an old historic charm. We did not know that the train tracks were so close, but were only quickly startled once in the middle of the first night by a train going by. After that initial jump, hearing the trains pass didn't bother us one bit, & I am a VERY light sleeper that will wake up with any slight noise so saying the trains weren't a problem in the least for me says alot for how undisturbing they truly are. And we had a room facing the tracks, and were in the room for almost every moment of our stay. Our room was wonderfully quiet, despite the busy restaurants & many other guests. We loved that they maintained the historic shoe factory theme throughout the facility. And Buster Brown, their dog is an adorable touch to the charm of the place.
Our king suite was luxurious & beautiful. We loved the huge floor-to-ceiling windows, long billowing curtains, & exposed ceiling beams & old brick. Especially when paired with the modern luxuriant decor does it add to the unique boutique charm of the place. The bathroom was lovely with it's stone tiled ceiling & walls, and both it's large hot tub & glass shower. The double sink was also a luxury for 2 people to have their own space to get ready. The bed was so luxuriously soft & fluffy, & the electric fireplace made a cozy & warm ambiance at night. We loved the Keurig coffee maker in our little 'kitchen' space. The shoebox breakfast was adorable, & convenient for those not wanting to leave for breakfast in the morning. And the extra touches that staff & managment made for us went a long way to make our stay most memorable.
We ate at both of their restaurants- Shoemakers & Waterstone- & found that, while the decor & quiet of Shoemakers was lovely, we particularly favored the food at Waterstone- we ate there for dinner 2 nights in a row & LOVED it. It can be extremely busy & loud in the restaurant itself just from sheer volume in the evenings (get there BEFORE you get hungry on a weekend night, as you may have to wait a bit for a table). But it in no way diminished our experience. Their pizzas are fabulous, & I highly recommend their Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Mozzarella, the Crab Dip w/ Pita, and the Hummus w/ Pita & fresh veggies & feta, as well as their mixed drinks- so super yummy!
We came across a beautiful restaurant for a Sunday lunch in a brief explorative drive of the area- Depot Grille (one of the few local restaurants that is open on Sunday) that was a renovated train station that was absolutely adorable. They maintained the train station theme throughout the restaurant & had good food with very generous portions. The fried mushrooms were fabulous!
Other than that brief excursion, we enjoyed spending every other moment at the hotel. Overall our experience here was perfect in every way & we absolutely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliziam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing