We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craddock Terry Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(Lynchburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Madison Heights)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastside Suites(Lynchburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Courtyard Lynchburg(Lynchburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Lynchburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
708
126
35
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
708
126
35
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoe factoryshoe themeboutique hotelhotel doghigh ceilingsshoeshine boxexposed brickjames rivercontinental breakfasttrain whistlemain buildingred shoewaterstone pizzabuster brownbreakfast deliveredturn down servicedowntown lynchburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 897 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is by far the best Lynchburg has to offer...especially downtown and compared to the Holiday Inn down the street. I know my parents wished this place existed when I was in school at VES!

Everything about the hotel was great -comfortable beds, modern amenities, friendly staff, unique features, and even an adorable pet dog. This is the only place I will stay in Lynchburg going forward.

The only drawback was the shower water pressure...or lack thereof. It was very disappointing to have a big rain shower head in the shower but the water pressure was non-existent. If they could get this fixed, it would be perfect!

Also, beware of the trains that go by. During our stay, a train went by at 11:00PM and midnight and another came by sometime after sunrise that morning. If you are a light sleeper, this could pose a problem as well.

I definitely want to see this place make it though - even with the two issues above it still is the best the city has to offer......BY FAR!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Cameron80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Great historic building that has been upgraded to better than new. Two restaurants that are on the property but not owned by the hotel-both rated in the top five for Lynchburg. It is also across the street from a beautiful cycling/walking path of approximately 14 miles. We will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This place is GREAT! Yeah, the train goes by a couple of times a night, but the beds are super comfy, the bathrooms are fabulous, the linens and towels are top quality, the TV is a very large plasma, and there are several places to sit besides the bed AND there's free WiFi. The restaurant downstairs, WaterStone Pizza, has great food. The breakfast they bring to your room is sort of unimaginative, but you can get breakfast anywhere. If you want a lovely room, where it's clean and safe - even luxurious, and the people are super friendly, then the Craddock Terry is for you! We've stayed there twice. I'd live there, if I could.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallBlondeTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

It would be hard to accomplish a more imaginative recycling of a shoe factory. The glamorous lobby is ready for its close-up. The first view of the hallway to the room announces that you're in for a unique experience. Nothing about the rooms is of the cookie-cutter variety -- exposed original beams, brickwork, wood support columns, beaded wood ceilings. Our guest room on the lobby floor had 14 ft. ceilings and three HUGE windows. Masculine, handsome decor with custom-designed furniture made by a Virginia cabinet maker. Huge, handsome compartmentalized bathroom. Even the closet doors were genuine raised panel with generous trim and moldings. Excellent free WiFi reception. This room would cost $800 a night in NYC. Hurry before the owners wise up and start charging what the rooms are worth (rate was $109+tax for 2 queen beds).
P.S. Yes, the trains roll by during the night. Bring ear plugs or ask for a white noise machine from reception. Or, like me, just enjoy the sound of the trains for a bit of nostalgia (I'm a sound sleeper). One of the best hotel experiences in recent years. Member of Historic Hotels of America.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrySisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This hotel has it all. It has been beautifully renovated, with spacious rooms and beautful decor. Huge comfortable beds, excellent service, great location, delicious food, ample parking. They offer specials that make the price reasonable (comparable to Hampton, Holiday Inn, etc). We had an end room with 2 queens and I could have held a square dance in the extra space. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews