We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Very elegant boutique hotel. The decor relating to the shoe factory history is very clever, but in very good taste. The rooms are very comfortable with elegant bathrooms and dreamy beds. The views over the city and river are lovely. The manager goes our of his way to make his guests feel welcome. The pizza restaurant and the elegant Shoemaker's Restaurant on the property are an added bonus. The antique shopping in walking distance make for a wonderful weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanm1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

Dreamy beds and riverfront rooms . . . you're right, they are the best!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Craddock Terry Hotel. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the unique stores in the historic district. Altogether, it really does make for a fabulous weekend!

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Craddock Terry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 873 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2009

On a trip through SW Virginia, stayed at the Craddock one night. Nicely renovated hotel and easy to find in Lynchburg. On the plus side, the room was nicely decorated and the exposed wood ceiling, beams, and brick didn't make it feel like an ordinary hotel. The room was large and had a flat screen tv. Down side was the mold on the shower curtain and around the toilet. Biggest issue was the lack of any hot water! The water was warm at best at night, and in the morning, nothing but cold! Also, if you like soft beds, then you'll like these. The train passing near by wasn't a problem for us. Nice idea ordering your breakfast from a list and placing it in a shoe box outside your door prior to going to bed, next morning having it delivered in the box. Downside was no choice of type of muffin, yogurt, breakfast bar. If it wasn't for the lack of hot water, I would recommend the hotel, but can't since a cold shower isn't a good way to start the day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Overall, this hotel was phenomenal! The building has been restored magnificently and the rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and are large. We had a suite, and it suited us very well. The bed was very comfortable and the livingroom was a good size, with the wetbar being a nice feature of the room. Could have used a microwave, but it was not a huge deal. The morning breakfast and coffee in the lobby was great. I know people have complained about the sound of the train, and although it is loud (there is a level crossing close to the hotel), it adds to the charm and character, and is a good homage to the industrial character of the city. Our only complaint was the consistency of the in-room cleaning service. The room was clean, just inconsistently cleaned between days.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioDreamtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

Thank you for your comments about the Craddock Terry Hotel.

We work hard to provide a "phenomenal" experience.

We hope that you and your family return soon in the future. And, if you need a microwave, let us know and we'll get you one!

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The Craddock Terry is a wonderful blend of the new and old. The historic building has been restored in a contemporary style that breaths class and quality. The guest rooms are large with the original wooden beamed ceilings and brick exterior wall. All the furnishings are beautiful and the wood pieces are made by local craftsmen. There is a well reviewed formal restaurant (which, unfortunately,we did not get a chance to try) and a casual restaurant that specializes in oven-fired pizza and beer made in-house. What's not to like! Only wish we could have stayed longer to soak up more of the local historic sites.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Come back . . . you're right; there is so much to do in Lynchburg it deserves another trip down for a weekend getaway!

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just stayed at the Craddock Terry Hotel on August 10, 2009 while in town visiting family. We knew it was a them type property, being a restored shoe factory, but I was totally unprepared for how beautiful this place was. We had a king room which was amazing! I usually like a room with a view, and our room did not have a good view, but who cared. The drapes in the room were so pretty that you didn't even need to look outside. The room had such charm and character, and the bathroom was also very modern and beautiful. The shower was also unbelievably large and in a separate room from the vanity, which made it very convenient. A complementary breakfast was served in a shoebox which was very cool, and there was complementary starbucks coffee and tea available 24/7 next to the lobby. The bed was most comfortable and the flat screen TV was also a plus.

I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to stay in a unique and absolutely beautiful place that has that boutique feel to it. Their restoration of his old shoe factory is incredible, and will most probably be a focal point for Lynchburg's downtown restoration project that seems to be going on in town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryK404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much.

We are so glad that you fully appreciated every element of the Craddock Terry Hotel. While there is so much to do in Lynchburg and in the historic district, the hotel is an experience in itself.

Come on back down and take relax your "soles" . . . or "kick up your heels".

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We loved our room — even more beautiful than the pictures on the Web site. We felt like everything from the old-fashioned shoebox to the artwork conveyed a sense of history and attention to detail. This hotel elegantly blends old and new. Our only negative was hearing the train in the night, but otherwise it was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunn2dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

Thank you so much for your nice comments about the Craddock Terry Hotel.

So nice to know that even the locals appreciate the effort the owners have put into renovating and refurbishing one of the historic waterfront buildings.

You're right; they have done a fabulous job.

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

After reading a review on the City of Lynchburg & the Craddock-Terry in the Washington Post Travel section, my wife & I decided to try it out. The room was one of the best we have every stayed in, particularly at this price. The decor & furnishings were top-shelf and added to the experience. Someone went to a lot of time and expense to turn this old factory into a nice hotel. Two minor complaints: shower door did not fit properly leading to leaks on the floor & I had an interesting trek through the less-traveled areas of the building while seaching for an ice machine. The machine on our floor was missing from it's assigned space. We were given a room in the adjacent building, a renovated tobacco warehouse, but will request the main hotel on our next visit. Trying to juggle cups of morning coffee while negotiating several doors & ramps connecting the buildings was, to say the least, entertaining. All the staff, including service employees working behind the scenes, were extremely polite and gave you he feeling that they were glad you were there. The train only added to the overall experience. The restaurant, Shoemaker's, offered one of the best dining experiences that we have ever had, although a bit on the expensive side. One disappointment...most of the junk/antique shops close at 4:00 pm on Saturday and had we been aware of this, we would have arrived earlier in the day to allow a little more time to explore downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDPWoodstock_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

Thank you so much for your comments about the Craddock Terry Hotel. We so appreciate knowing what we do really well and how we can improve.

Looks like you're not too far away for another visit and more trips to the antique stores in the downtown area.

Another option is tubing on the James River during the summer and then a walk down Main Street to visit the shops. Or even better, a carriage ride through town during the Christmas holidays.

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $177 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing