We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I am writing this review a year later than our stay because I was disappointed in many of the reviews here. My wife and I stayed here last summer, as a central meeting place to meet my mother, whom my daughters stayed with for a week in Northern Virginia. I have spent my entire 23 year career traveling Virginia extensively, then later more nationally. This is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in; trains included. It is amazing beautiful, the rooms are fantastic!! I have stayed at many incredicble hotels and this one is at or near the top of the list. I hope Lynchburg is able to continue to grow so that there are more things for people to do in town. I used to have to stay in Roanoke and travel over to Lynchburg for the day because of the lakc of decent hotels. Never again. We enjoyed the Craddock Terry so much that this September we have booked for all of our family to meet there and celebrate my mothers 75th birthday. I know it will be a great experience because of this hotel. We are excited and looking for that weekend to come.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvegasNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

How awesome! It means so much to us for you to write your review a year after your stay because you had such a nice time. Thank you!

It's really is because of guests like you that make our property successful. Experiences like yours and your desire to share them is the absolute best!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Craddock Terry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 873 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

The renovation of this old shoe factory, near the railroad tracks, in Lynchburg, Virginia was beautiful. The old brick, the exposed beams, the lighting, and room interiors were well planned. It was the large stain on the carpet, food crumbs in the drawers and under the sofa cushions, the iron that was coated with something melted, the lack of supplies at the coffee bar, no toilet paper in the lobby bathroom, and the out-of-order elevator that caused us to rethink our decision of staying. Our room was located on the 4th floor, and it was a workout carrying all our luggage to and from the room.
My husband informed the front desk about the stain on the carpet, the crumbs in the drawers, but all we heard was, "That is unacceptable!", but no action was taken. The website also doesn't say anything about how close you are to the railroad, where the train came through at least three times during the night. If you stay here ask for a room on the parking lot side of the hotel (odd numbered rooms), AND the sound machine they offer at the front desk.
The highlight of our stay was "The Waterstone Restaurant" down on street level near the railroad tracks, behind the hotel. The best fire oven baked pizzas and wonderful fresh salads, and an incredibly reasonable price. I would recommend you go to Lynchburg just to eat in this establishment.
The hotel could be a great place to stay if they took care of those little things, and took more care in cleaning and keeping items stocked.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Craddock Terry and it was simply fantastic! I can't say enough about the staff - they were friendly, helpful and very personable. We appreciated their recommendation for dining and things to do. Our room was gorgeous - the furniture is elegant, yet extremely comfortable. Little touches add flavor, including the whimsical prints on the door and walls, the shoe shine box for breakfast, and the gallery lights above each door.

The town itself was the perfect size for a weekend getaway. We enjoyed the shopping, dining and historical sites, all within an easy walk from the hotel. We will keep this hotel at the top of our list for our next weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2009

You are so right . . . perfect for a weekend getaway!

Come back again and try out Liberty Mountain skiing this fall!

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review.

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My two boys (4 1/2 & 18 mo.), husband and I stayed at the Craddock Terry Hotel for a long weekend and had one of the best hotel stays we've had in ages! The staff was wonderful, making sure we had all that we needed and more. The room, the whole property for that matter, was classy and elegant without feeling stuffy. We would feel just as at home if it had been just my husband and I on a romantic getaway as we did with our boys here on a family trip. They also have a hotel dog, Buster Brown (or just Buster), who is very friendly and well behaved (he's only about 6 months old and some of his training is still ongoin) and they will even allow guests (and their children) to take Buster for a walk. This delighted the 4 year-old as did the proximity to the train tracks (both boys are train fanatics). Having a fresh continental breakfast delivered directly to our room in a shoe shine box that sticks to the converted shoe factory theme of the hotel was a nice and convenient touch. Additionally, their rates were not really any higher than the cookie-cutter chain hotels.
The beds and bedding were absolutely divine!! I think they were down alternative (since so many people with down/feather allergies), but you just sank into them. We slept like rocks both nights and well into the mornings (as much as two small boys will allow).
That being said, if you are a very light sleeper and don't enjoy the sound of the nearby trains (they are a nostalgic sound for us), the Craddock Terry might not be for you. They do offer complimentary "white noise" machines at the front desk. We got one since our youngest is a particularly light sleeper and none of the trains woke him. We were on the side of the property nearest the tracks and the boys loved being able to watch the trains from the windows.
Thank you Craddock Terry staff!! We will be staying with you again on our next visit to Lynchburg!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyandtheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2009

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Craddock Terry Hotel.

So glad that you and your family enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer . . . including Buster Brown. He's really too cute.

Sounds like your vacation was exactly what it should be - one filled with great memories as well as a relaxing experience. We are happy you allowed us to be a part of it.

We'll see you on your next visit!

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

A perfect boutique hotel with exceptional large rooms in a part of Lynchburg that is slowly being revitalized. Love the remodeling of the old shoe factory, the decorating and the friendly staff. The restaurant was great too with Micro brewed beer made right there! The continental breakfast was cute and nothing too fancy but glad we had it when we started walking around town. (The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast.) Bath was awesome and we had a very comfortable sleep. Yes, there are trains that go by but we always bring a wind machine (and the hotel even provides one) so that was helpful. Fresh ground Starbucks coffee downstairs anytime you wanted some. Just wish they had caffeinated tea in the room and downstairs for those of us who don't drink coffee. Hopefully they won't raise their rates too much in the future. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Scarlet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2009

Thank you so very much for your nice comments about The Craddock Terry Hotel.

It is a beautiful property and provides such a different experience than the standard branded hotel room. We're glad you too appreciate the difference.

Looking forward to your return . . . Lynchburg is beautiful in the Fall.

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Was there for two nights for LU's Graduation. The elevator was down all three days. The shower water leaked out on to the floor after every shower. One of the days the bath was not cleaned, had to call service. Made the reservations 9 months in advance for two rooms. Confirmed them again n January. I requested and promised ground floor rooms close together...was given 3rd floor rooms at oppistie ends. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetotraveldelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience. Unfortunately we did not live up to your expectations or our own for that matter.

I apologize for this and request that on your next trip to Lynchburg you call the Hotel Director directly to make your reservation. He'll make sure your next stay with us leaves you with the experience we are known for.

Again, so sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

Kimberly Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I brought 3 young kids to Lynchburg to celebrate the end of the school year (ages 8, 5, 22 months), with the idea of giving them memories that they'll cherish when they are older. This was the perfect place for that. The giant shoes on the outside of the hotel, the friendly dog in the lobby, the big wooden shoebox that we put out each night and retrieved, stuffed with food, in the morning. Paintings of a different pair of shoes on each door. The high beamed ceilings, the giant bathtub, the remote-controlled fireplace. The hotel was perfectly situated for morning bike rides on old rail trails that pass within a block and take you across bridges to an island in the James River and through tunnels. An easy walk to restaurants; a serene bookstore/cafe is about 2 blocks away. We left the car untouched for an entire day.

The kids wanted to stay an extra week. The manager gave them each a T-shirt upon departure and the older two have been wearing them to bed every day since. The younger one has occasionally danced around our house singing "hotel!" On the way home I asked them to rank this trip alongside a Florida beach vacation we took a couple of years ago and it was basically a dead heat. So as far as cherished-memory-creating goes, mission accomplished.

As for those things that grown-ups pay more attention to, the hotel was immaculately clean, the staff friendly, accommodating and efficient. The bath facilities were of the highest standard and the bed quite comfy. In a bigger city these facilities would easily command two to three times the price.

Yes, the train woke me up at night. For about 10-15 seconds it is loud as it approaches a nearby grade crossing, then that's it except for a much quieter and rhythmic clickety-clack. This happened once or twice in the course of each night. As a parent of young kids, this wasn't really a big deal for me. The kids themselves slept through it every time. We didn't use the "white noise" machine. And yes, the elevator is currently out of service but the staff quite cheerfully took care of bags via the service elevator.

Bottom line: a perfect getaway for an active family with youngsters. I could easily imagine a similar degree of perfection for an active couple who wanted to hit the rail trails in the morning, wineries or museums in the afternoon, and walk to dinner each night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperator, Management Company at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2009

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your experience at the Craddock Terry Hotel. Your opinion means so much to us.

So wonderful that your children appreciated the shoe team throughout the hotel.
And how many children sing about a hotel. What a compliment!

We hope that your travels will bring you back to visit with us . . . maybe you can stay a little longer this time and the kids can play with Buster Brown and make a few more memories.

Thanks again.

Kimberly L. Christner
CEO, Beck Company Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $177 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing