We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

From the moment I made the reservation until the moment I departed dealing with this facility was a delight. The bed was the most comfortable I have have every slept on. The room service breakfast breakfast delicious, the staff not just profession but actually friendly and very helpful. An early check in was arranged seamlessly and by the time I checked out I felt like I had made new friends.

Room Tip: The views of down town and of the river were so nice. Buster Brown their resident ambassador in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopper807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 878 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

A quick overnight work trip became a family weekend at the last minute, complete with the dog. The hotel was accommodating and both pet- and kid-friendly. The price seemed steep, and one night the trains were loud. But it was comfortable, friendly, and well-located. The complimentary breakfast was perfect to hold the 6-yr-old until proper full breakfast for us all was found. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank MLCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We really love this hotel, mainly because of its uniqueness! If you read its history, the building use to be a shoe factory. It has been lovingly restored and many bits of the hotel still tell the story today. You will see many wonderful old "new" shoes from ages ago. All rooms we have ever stayed in have beautiful exposed brick walls. The mattresses, pillows and bedding is amazing. You may hear the train go by at night, but for me, this adds to the charm. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel and we love the pizza, best hummus also. Christine is always working and is outstanding. It may not sound like much, but I also love their bath products that they stock, BeeKind. Book early as I think there are only about 45 rooms. Oh, I left my boots outside my door and in the morning they were all polished and beautiful again. Complimentary of course. Now where does that happen??

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the original building. You get a bit of noise in the rooms by the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm just heartbroken, we loved this place - great service, beautifully and cleverly appointed, and two restaurants on property that easily compete with offerings in any competitive urban setting. But freight trains run all night long, blowing their whistles to wake up the hounds of hell. The hotel offers noise machines to help buffer the noise, but they're no competition for those whistles. This being a boutique, there are few rooms, and I didn't see any rooms that would be out of range. Sadly, we can't return as a result. But we'll be back to the restaurants!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I had written a bad review last time we stayed at this hotel. The manager called after reading the bad review. Yes he actually called and ask great questions then apologized. When he asked the questions he didn't just ask to appease me ..... he actually listened!!! This time things were wonderful. Everyone went way above and beyond what I would have ever expected! Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sameshell22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A lot of thought and care went into this superb restoration of a well located central city . Loved the ceiling height, must have been fifteen feet. Best quality furnishings used throughout and extremely comfortable beds. Had a quiet 3rd floor location, got a great nights sleep after a long full day drive.

A close friend has restored a building nearby that housed a most unusual private auto collection that can be viewed from massive glass windows from the sidewalk.

Semi attached at the side of the hotel, was fine dining with an extensive wine list.
Best part was the reasonable cost to stay, comparable to the cookie cutter chain hostelry normally encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A lovely hotel with very interesting decor and the most comfortable bed that I'm looking into ordering a mattress from them. We were on the 4th floor. I only heard one train whistle and that was just after turning off the lights. The bathroom and bedroom were huge. Due to ice/snow, we delayed our trip to Charlottesville by a day and the hotel was able to adjust some room reservations around and let us stay in our room a second nite. Staff was pleasant and helpful with recommendations. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank runningspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
349 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#13 of 23 in Lynchburg
311 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $177 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing