We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with "Sole"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craddock Terry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel with "Sole"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A terrific example of adaptive reuse of a shoe factory into a boutique hotel. The theme of shoes carries throughout, from the giant red high-heeled shoe mounted on the front of the building to the whimsical cut-outs of all different shoes affixed to each door to the shoe-shine box on the bed. Anyone with a thing for shoes will adore this hotel. We had a little suite comprising a sitting room, sleeping room, and large bathroom with separate shower and tub. It is located right downtown, within easy (hilly) walking distance of shops, restaurants, and attractions. Best of all, it has quick access to the lovely James River system of multi-use trails. The rating would have been "excellent" but for the fact that only one breakfast is included; having to pay $6 for another one seems a little petty when you're paying upwards of $200 per night. The front desk clerk said it is because they have a lot of solo business travelers, which must also explain why the bathroom had only one towel hook!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmbbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    120
    31
    13
    13
See reviews for
203
321
30
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Service was wonderful! What a pleasant surprise to find this hotel. Loved the room and the decor. The beds were so comfy and the continental breakfast was a hit! Went to dinner at shoemakers at the hotel and loved our meals! I can't describe everything but it was a memorable stay! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

WE recently had our daughter's wedding reception at the Craddock Terry Inn. WE cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was. WE are from Ontario and had to do much of our planning over the phone and they went out of their way to make it as easy as possible. The staff were so friendly and did everything they could do to help us. The reception was done to perfection, with little touches added to make everything pleasing to the eye and to take the pressure off of those involved int he wedding. The food was out of this world. One person commented that they had never eaten food like this at a wedding. It was delicious. All the guests we very impressed with the whole reception at the Craddock. Our daughter was absolutely delighted with how it went. We can't say enough about the staff and the food and the venue. it was a joy and i would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm originally from Lynchburg and came into town to visit family. The hotel has a cool theme and great restaurants. It's in a great location to explore the ongoing downtown revitalization. Great walking/jogging/biking path nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are decorated tastefully and were way more spacious than I anticipated. It's hands down the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A beautiful hotel in downtown Lynchburg next to the James river. Designed from an old shoe factory, the hotel has beautiful large windows, high ceilings and a large beautiful stone shower with seat. The hotel staff is outstanding and a wonderful new concierge service to and from the airport. The hotel also has many restaurants within walking distance. They took great care of me, and had a great price for business travel. Thanks to all at the Craddock Terry Hotel!

Room Tip: If you're picky/sensitive about noise, there is a train in the distance that travels along the J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank membernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Craddock Terry twice now .. and I can promise you - there are more stays to come. I spent 5 years traveling for work (about 42 weeks a year) and I have stayed in more hotels than I can remember. Because of this - I hate to admit - I have developed very high standards when it comes to hotels. I can say, without a second of hesitation, that the Craddock Terry is easily in the Top 3 ... of all time. The hotel is remarkable. The look, the rooms, the beds, the architecture, etc ... And the staff is the best in the business I have found. I have never experienced a more friendly, professional, and welcoming staff - anywhere! How they assembled such a group is beyond me in this day and age .. but kuddos to the Mgmt of Craddock. I could go on and on and on about this place .. but just do yourself a favor - stop looking and book the room if you are in the area. You will not be sorry. As for the train .... my wife is LIGHT sleeper and we had our baby with us ... didn't bother them one bit - not a peep. And I loved it - just added to the charm!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 514Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I went to a wedding and stayed at the Craddock Terry Hotel. Our room was very clean and the tub was awesome! At the time we were there, it was filled with guest and participates in an up coming wedding. The staff was well organized and our needs were met quickly. Yes, there is a train going by morning, noon, and night but it is part of a unique experience. We enjoyed the Waterstone located in the basement. Good food, cold beer, and within walking distance to your room. There is a fine dining restaurant located on sight as well. We did not eat there so...no comment. My only negative is the continental breakfast. It is delivered to your room...cool. But, one must pay extra for an extra meal. It is hard to split a cup of OJ, yogurt, or a fruit cup. If two people are in the room, you should get two bags. That just makes sense!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAH5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing