We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff and management here do an exceptional job. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The decor and the feeling of the hotel takes you back in time. Yet you have all the modern ameneties to. From the keurig coffee maker and the flat screen tvs, to the updated baths, this hotel has it all. If you are near Lynchburg, stay the night!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KevyKev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    123
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
212
330
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rigby, Id
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I gave any 4 ratings was due to the train. We were in room 106 and it faces the direction the train comes from. The whistle is the only problem. The room could use better lighting. One of the windows has a huge draft and the shade doest go up. Eady fixes. I forgot to tell the staff. Opps. Loved having do many great restaurants near by. Try the bistro just up the street..alexanders I think its called. We stayed a week and loved everything except the train whistle. Would have loved a hot tub or a tub to relax in. Just a suggestion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoloresfromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous! Unfortunately several things out of their control made our stay a bit of a disappointment. We stayed in two separate rooms, one night each. In the first room our window shade would not close. Which on a different floor wouldn't have made much of a difference, but our room faced the parking lot. Mgt and maintenance pinned the shade together to get by until more permanent repairs could be completed. The shower spilled water onto the floor, which we felt compelled to wipe up. Room two had a faulty furnace and would not raise the room temperature above 66 degrees. Mgt provided two space heaters which was nice. However, when my wife turned on the blow dryer the circuit breaker tripped turning electricity off to our room. And then the hot water ran out for the shower. On a positive note, the continental breakfasts were good. Again the staff were as helpful as they could have been. The mgr compensated us for the mechanical difficulties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garynewt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTHotelDirector, General Manager at Craddock Terry Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. A wise mentor told me to always accept feedback as a gift, and here at Craddock Terry, we welcome these gifts. To remain the premier accommodation in Lynchburg, we need to listen to our guests and continually improve ourselves and the property. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with us this past weekend, with an unfortunate perpetuation of some unforeseen issues.

Yep, you’re right. The drapes are an issue. They’re gorgeous, 20 feet tall and heavy. Some rooms experience issues as a result of this. We’re currently working with our designer to resolve the issue through the use fixing the existing beautiful panels and installing easier to operate and less weighty Roman Shades for the blackout drape. This should be resolved very quickly. As for your other concerns, I apologize and thank you for allowing us to resolve those issues for you. Generally, we rarely have service or equipment issues, as you can see by our previous guest comments. We really do try to create a perfect experience for our guests.

I am proud to hear your affirmation of our staff handling each situation with genuine hospitality and professionalism. Again, I truly apologize for your experience. I would like to personally invite you back next time you’re in Lynchburg, and can assure you it will be a wonderful stay as it normally would be.

All the best,
Todd Swindell, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I travel to Lynchburg a few times a year. I have stayed at a few other hotels in the area and I am never as satisfied as at the Craddock Terry. With a great pizzeria by the river, Shoemakers (full service restaurant) next door, Main Street access, great jogging along the James River, fantastic serevice, a cool dog and ..... here's the best ...... the most beautiful and unique hotel rooms anywhere I will not stay anyplace else.

Room Tip: Ask for the main floor in the shoe factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgt4578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. The furnishings were amazing and the bed was super comfy. I loved the breakfast in the morning, as well as the Keurhig in each room. The business center allows for free access, which is a nice change of pace. I ate a both restaurants and enjoyed the experience quite well. I cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the shoe factory part of the hotel and loved it!. Super high ceilings and large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Craddock Terry and it really was a cool hotel. I loved all of the old shoes on display and especially loved their resident dog, Buster Brown! He was lounging in the sunny lobby when we were checking out. The breakfast they leave for you each morning is pretty average - croissant, yogurt, fruit and delicious orange juice...if it wasn't fresh squeezed, then I need to find out what brand they're using! The only negative that I encountered was that the bathroom in the room didn't seem to have any heating vents, so getting out of the shower was chilly (although the shower was awesome - huge!) and the room was pretty dark with only a couple lamps to read by. Other than that, highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My son lives nearby, in walking distance actually, in an historic building which has been converted to apartments. My parents, aged 77 & 80, wanted to visit him. Since his apt is a small one bedroom, I needed a hotel room for my parents and wanted them nearby. They were like kids in a candy store! They had never stayed anywhere so nice and enjoyed everything about the hotel, especially my mom, since she loves shoes! And my dad, who can be hard to please, thoroughly enjoyed it. The trains didn't bother them at all and they do have sound machines for the people who need them. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was spotlessly clean, elegant and a true joy. My sister and I plan to go back soon, and this time we are staying there, instead of sleeping on an air mattress in my son's apt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
335 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
306 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing