We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in Lynchburg many times (growing up in the area) and saw that this hotel was being built. When we stayed there over Christmas, it was a wonderful experience. The Christmas tree had a lit big red shoe (their trademark) at the top. There was even a small Christmas tree with shoe ornaments in our room. As many have already said, the building was an old shoe manufacturing plant. They have kept that theme going by keeping some touches from the old factory. The lights above the doors are from workbenches. There are pictures of various types of footwear on the doors. Breakfast is served in an old shoe shine kit. There isn't much to say about the breakfast, but it is delivered to your door and will hold you until something better. Trains do cross behind the hotel, but that is part of its charm. Yes, the area hotel is in is a depressed part of the city, but don't let that frighten you off. In general, Lynchburg is a safe city. I would hope that other businesses come to the area to provide their services. The building just behind our room would make an excellent mixed use establishment. The shower was huge, but the bathroom area could use some more hooks and lighting. The bed was quite comfortable, as was the rest of the furniture. You can even buy the furniture for your own home (saw it in the information notebook provided in the room).

Room Tip: For a special event, you can have rose petals strewned across the bed (for a small fee, of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 880 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Craddock-Terry is a refurbished she factory, but is is a great hotel, very unique. The room were huge, and the ceilings where about 10 feet high. The whole atmosphere was great. The breakfast is served in an old shoe shine kit box, you pre-order he night before, and it's delivered in the morning! We had the "Night on the Town" special, with a bottle of champagne waiting on us upon arrival, and $50 for dining at one of the restaurants. The Waterstone restaurant on-site had great pizza as well!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, and right under "the big red shoe"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDriftWoods24477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Many reviewers have mentioned the trains, which pass about 4 or 5 times through the night, and it is certainly something of which to be aware and accepting if you want to get the best out of this very good hotel. I'm a light sleeper, and the trains did not particularly bother me, and would certainly not prevent me from staying here again the next time I'm in Lynchburg. The hotel's decor, extremely large rooms, and pleasant staff more than compensate for the trains. My wife and I had one of the two King Suites (Room 401); it was huge, with very high ceilings and open-face brickwork on some walls, evoking the building's former existence as a shoe factory. A friend traveling with us had one of the standard rooms, and it was also very spacious and well appointed. As others have commented, a continental-style breakfast is delivered to the room each morning in a wooden "shoe box." The adjoining restaurant (Shoemaker's Grille) serves very good food in pleasant and comfortable surroundings, with good spacing between tables; we enjoyed our dinner there. When booking a room, ask for the "Nite in the Burg" special, which gives you a gift voucher for dinner in the restaurant. If you are into antiques, there's a great antiques' shop just yards from the hotel. All in all, this is a great hotel at which to stay, one to be recommended.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, price one of the suites; in any case, all the rooms appear to be very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of our favorite destinations- comfortable rooms, interesting decor, friendly staff and great restaurant! This boutique hotel in the restored Craddock-Terry shoe factory has a shoe theme throughout, including the Terrier Buster Brown who lives in the lobby! Don't miss this unique experience and relaxing atmosphere. We stayed five nights, including Christmas. The continental breakfast was perfect. The small Christmas tree in our room and the stocking filled with candy found on our door knob Christmas morning were thoughtful touches. I recommend this hotel to all my friends. It is a jewel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDK403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed New Years Eve and our room, 308, was very charming, cozy, warm, elegant. We opened the door to find a bottle of bubbly on ice, chocolate covered strawberries and a bag of party favors to ring in the new year with.

The room decor is deep earth tones with nickel plated lamps, flat screen TV, a high back sofa/lounger, wing back chair and most comfy bed one could imagine.

The bathroom has subtle lighting (not bright) with granite counter tops and nickel played faucet. The shower and toilet are separated from the sink area for maximum privacy. The shower has glass doors with stone tile. The hotel has complimentary toiletries of "BeeKind" made by Gilchrist & Soames from London, England.

This hotel is sure to please and a favorite of ours to stay at without having to leave town. It's a great place to escape to for one night.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GremlinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family stayed at the Craddock Terry Hotel on Christmas Eve while visiting relatives in Lynchburg. We loved it and the many thoughtful touches provided by the hotel. The hotel and rooms were as elegant and comfortable as those in top hotels in larger cities, although much less expensive. A nice continental breakfast basket was delivered to our door in the morning, including a stocking full of candy (apparently Santa found us and knew we had been good). There was a small Christmas tree in the room and shoe-themed ornaments, along with a note encouraging us to decorate our own tree. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Shoemakers. The menu was traditional but well-executed and the service was excellent. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillF316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed five night and have a great rate for a king suite. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The whirlpool tub worked wonders for relaxing after our long trip. The fitness area was very nice. Just a few things that could have been better: the fireplace made so much noise we could not run it and the first night train passing by woke me up at 4 in the morning. This hotel has so much charm and the bed was so amazingly comfortable that we hardly noticed after that...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papillon07221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
351 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#14 of 23 in Lynchburg
313 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $172 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing