We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Amazing hotel with charming character!! Only stayed 2 nights wish we were able to stay for weeks. Top notch all the way around. Could hear Train at night but still so romantic and peacefull!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaTraveler0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    120
    31
    13
    13
See reviews for
204
323
31
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My family of 4 loved our stay here. My girls took relaxing baths in the oversize tub.
We enjoyed the super tall gorgeous wooden beam ceilings and the light airy feel of the tall windows. so much space!
We met the cute dog - bonus!
Had pizza at waterstone. YUM! Local brews in tap too. Right next to a trail along the river - my hubby ran next day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgeorgiadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Craddock Terry and we loved it. From the fresh smell upon entering the lobby, the clean room, the hospitality of the staff and especially the "shookie" dessert at Shoemakers (the onsite restaurant). We'll definitely stay there in the future. A++++

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENKINS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayberry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel was great. New. Comfortable beds. Great furniture. Tall ceilings. Nice bathroom and huge walk in shower. Breakfast right to your door. Very romantic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpieMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I followed the Tripadvisor reviews and took a chance on staying at the Craddock Terry when visiting my family recently. The place had a retro cool feel to it, with lots of interesting quirks, without compromising any conveniences for us (my only complaint would be a lack of ice machines nearby, though I did get a fridge.) They did a great job of remodelling an old warehouse, keeping a lot of interesting exposed woodwork and taking on a shoe theme as a nod to the former purpose of the building. Great staff, nice area to walk and explore the local restaurants. The best part was the price - I got a suite for about the same price as a single room in a boring standard chain hotel would cost in Richmond. If you're travelling in Lynchburg, you are doing yourself a disservice if you do not stay here.

Room Tip: I loved my suite. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_in_NoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Had the great pleasure of finding this hotel, what a gem. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food was outstanding. The accommodations were great and actually unexpected. A gem in the foothills of the VA mountains and I would highly recommend this hotel for a business or pleasure stay. They even have a "hotel dog" that is friendly and cute.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent a night at the Craddock Terry while on a college-tour road trip. We loved it! The hotel is gorgeous. Our room, a double queen, was very large (big enough to accommodate a sofa, desk, desk chair, and armchair with end table next to it, with room to spare. The decor was perfect from every angle. It's as if the designer sat in every spot in the room to make sure that it was gorgeous however you viewed it.
This hotel is in a former shoe warehouse and tobacco-storage building, and great care was taken to preserve the brick interior walls, wood beam ceilings, and ductwork. Shoe-themed accessories tie in with the building's former life: a different shoe cutout on each door, a shoeshine stand in the lobby, shoe-themed posters in the restaurant. It's all cleverly done, with a wink of humor. Continental breakfast is even delivered in an old-style shoeshine box.
Yes, the train tracks are nearby. We heard only one whistle during our stay, and it was lovely to hear. My daughter and I jumped up as soon as we heard it, exclaimed "Train!" and ran to the window to see it.
The staff was very friendly; the general manager (Todd) went out of his way to help me book our room. Our meal at Waterstone's was very nice, and our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable.
A plus: the hotel is just blocks from the rails-to-trails paths. The path to Percival Island goes across a scenic railroad trestle.
We wished we could have stayed longer, or could return soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlphaKat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing