We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I booked a company retreat at the Acorn Hill Lodge and, at the end, I looked like a genius. From the guest rooms (amazing!) to the conference space, to breakfast, we were treated like royalty. And the price was much better than other places with less amenities. The staff was attentive and overly-gracious. A high-class place with reasonable prices. We will make this our go-to spot for our future meetings.

Room Tip: They are ALL great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acornhill_8, Owner at Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Steve, thank you so much for your review. We were delighted to be of service and hope you return for a repeat performance! I love what you said, too, that you "looked like a genius." I hope you don't mind if I borrow that line.... Take care and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Early Christmas with family and friends. Full kitchen in king suite great for entertaining when coming in from out of town. Proprietors very gracious. Family style breakfast served was wonderful. Nice setting, large rooms. Will definitely start staying here when coming to Lynchburg in the future..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm1956crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acornhill_8, Owner at Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

It was very heart-warming to see many friends and family gathered around for the holidays. The pleasure was ours to have you all as our guests. Please come again and our best wishes to you and your friends and family for a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Live in the area so we were not staying there but went for breakfast. Amazingly good and really affordable...especially if you get the family style. My wife received a massage and nail treatment last year for Christmas and said it was really nice. Our friends that we ate with said the massages were great too.

Room Tip: Cannot help with room but the breakfast was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We highly enjoyed our stay here, and we always recommend it to our friends if they visit Lynchburg. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfy. The lobby was quaint along with the rest of the atmosphere. The best part for us was the breakfast. Everything we ate was delicious and the staff was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice woman took reservations. Would not call this a spa whatsoever. Rooms and open areas to watch TV and read but not really a lodge or a spa. A bit strangely laid-out. Additions added on in various ways. Clean. Did not see many people at the place when we were there which was bizarre because it was supposed to be fully booked. Tried to find the "gym facilities" but they were just a bunch of old machines in the basement next to several games like ping pong and pool table. Seems like things were purchased and just stored. Overall, it is a great place to sleep if you are doing business in the area. Would not consider it a location to relax or spend your down-time, as it is a bit creepy. Husband and I there for business. Probably would not go back. Cannot get over some of these other reviews. We just did not get what everyone was raving about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acornhill_8, Owner at Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Elley H: Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments. We highly value our office staff and thank you for the reinforcement. We are taking your comments under advisement regarding "visibility" of the spa and salon in the adjacent building and our fitness and game room areas in the main lodge which was impacted during our construction project. Regarding pictures, those are all photos from the actual property; as I am unsure if you were in the main lodge or the cottage or apartment, I cannot comment further on that part of your experience. Lastly, you are correct that we can be fully booked, but you may not see other guests. This was intentional in our design.

Thank you for commenting as there is always something to learn from another person's perspective. If you find yourself in the area again, please stop by and see our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best accommodations in Lynchburg.....hands down! Super clean and comfortable. Great rates too. Breakfast was wonderful, especially those blueberry pancakes! Yum! Can't forget the Innkeepers.........very friendly and made our family feel very welcome. You won't be disappointed with Acorn Hill. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just got home from a visit to Lynchburg, VA where we stayed at the Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa. We were simply enchanted with this lovely bed and breakfast nestled in a country setting just on the outskirts of town. From the beautiful entry complete with a majestic curving staircase to the comfortably appointed rooms to the charming vine-covered outdoor patio, this place was just such a breath of fresh air for our family. After staying for a week in various standard hotels from New York to Virginia, we found Acorn Hill Lodge to be such a special treat. The property is just stunning with lovely landscaping and a beautiful pond out front which looks spectacular with a beautifully lit fountain at night. Nearby, a lovely bronze statue of children frolicking, is hidden among the greenery. The breakfast each morning was delicious (cooked to order) and the staff was very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment over the salon and spa which included a full kitchen and living room and it was reasonably priced -- providing just what we needed for a large traveling party of six. There was evidence around the back of the property of the recent construction project, but that was not a problem for us nor did it diminish our experience. We will definitely make Acorn Hill our home away from home while visiting Virginia in the future and would highly recommend it to any other weary travelers looking for an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of city life in the greater Lynchburg area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#2 of 23 in Lynchburg
879 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa

Address: 2134 Old Forest Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24501-2544
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range: $145 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you desire the perfect escape from daily routine, come and enjoy the peace and tranquility offered at Acorn Hill.We can take care of your lodging needs, whether it is an overnight or extended stay. If you are hosting a special event or celebration, Acorn Hill provides the perfect setting for an intimate gathering or corporate retreat.We invite you to experience a refreshing and memorable stay at Acorn Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Acorn Hill Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hill Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing