We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. My daughter's dorm is just down the street, so it was very convenient. The staff were very polite and friendly, and they told me that since my daughter goes to Liberty University, I qualify for a discount. I enjoyed having my own kitchenette and lounge area; it made it seem more like home. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Terri - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that the staff was so polite and friendly and we were so convenient to your daughter's dorm. I'm glad we provided a little "home away from home" while you were here.

Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Due to a family emergency, my husband and I had to drive 9 hours to get to Lynchburg and arrived at the Extended Stay at 4am. Upon first glance, the room seemed to have exactly what we needed.....a king bed, a kitchenette, and a large bathroom with sufficient counter space, however, the bed was hard and the room was extremely noisy because we were in a corner room on the 1st floor with cars surrounding us on both sides. By the time we fell asleep, people were starting to check out of the hotel and the noise of doors slamming and cars pulling out of the lot on both sides of us was unbearable. We could even hear the people talking and walking on the 2nd floor above us. The rooms don't seem to be noise insulated very well. We were originally planning to stay at the Extended Stay for 4 nights but after the 1st night, decided that we needed to get some decent sleep and went elsewhere. The manager on duty was very apologetic and gave us a generously discounted rate for our inconvenience for which we were grateful. The staff also sent us a sympathy card when they found out we were down there because a family member was dying. The customer service was excellent and the rooms are equipped with the basics of what Extended Stay offers, but do avoid the corner rooms on the 1st floor if you want a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor might be a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that you encountered noise that kept you awake during your stay with us. Still, we are happy to know that you were happy with my staff's customer service.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having experienced an almost traumatic stay in Lynchburg in August, at a different chain, I was a little concerned that everything would work out as planned this time. My hopes and expectations were exceeded! The staff not only was polite, friendly and accommodating, but went out of their way to find me the best room at the best rate available to me. The hotel appears to be a little older, but refurbished, and it could be a little cleaner. And it is by no means luxurious, however, I plan to stay here next time I visit my son at Liberty. Great customer service goes a long way in my book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamacox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so glad that the staff and I were able to provide you with an excellent experience, and exceeded all of your expectations. It is very rewarding to know that your clean room and our customer service made your stay that much better.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was in Lynchburg for a one week intensive class at Liberty University. I felt like family staying at this hotel. The front desk and custodial personnel were very friendly, welcoming, accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable, and enjoyable to interact with. This included everyone from general manager, assistant manager, daytime and evening personnel. I have stayed at many hotels (including high end hotels) and do not recall ever having such an amazing experience. I cannot wait until I have to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Terri - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am pleased to hear that our staff provided courteous service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We screwed up enormously... booked the room for the wrong night on the website. The hotel was packed but Angel Morris calmed us down, got us past the reservation mistake and personally found us a room. She was indeed an angel. I would come back to the hotel just for her sake.

Another gentleman checked us later that night (I had to run out for an LU event while Angel was taking care of things) and was also very friendly and extremely helpful.

The room was utilitarian but clean and comfortable enough. Bed was a little on the hard side, but I prefer it that way.

One negative: the breakfast is more like a snack. Packaged pastries, packaged oatmeal and the like. Don't book thinking you are going to get a big spread as at some hotels.

BTW, the hotel couldn't be more convenient for visits to Liberty University. It's practically on the grounds.

Room Tip: Book early if you are coming for a weekend event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Bob - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such nice things about our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that Angel was able to take care of you and your family. I apologize that our breakfast did not meet your expectations but, I am happy to hear that our location was ideal for your stay.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Short staffed, anytime you call front desk the standard response you get is "I'm the only one here"
Non responsive, I stayed there for 8 days, when I asked for cleaning up the room (which was a paid service), I was told that the same needs to be checked with Manager
Irresponsible Leadership - The General Manager had no clues on fire inspection requirements though he stated he had 6 years of experience. Post the fire inspection the entire day we experienced muddy water and the response i got from the manager was "I cannot get into the pipe and fix it". I even escalated the matter mentioned in point (2) yet he paid no heed to it and the explanation he gave me was we don't provide free service before 7 days even after clarification that i'm ready to pay still no one came. When matters got worse i asked him to refund my money, i asked to vacate the hotel......
I was travelling with a 3 year old, had not been the case i would have immediately left that hotel
In any case it’s a lesson learnt, i would never ever stay in this hotel no matter what

Room Tip: You have better options than this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I come up to visit our son at Liberty. Extended Stay is right there. The best part of our stay is the ladies that service the rooms. They were great. And also Jason the 2nd shift desk clerk. He was super friendly, nice and helpful. I give him a 5 star. He would answer questions and helped us get booked for a future stay. However I'm not so impressed with the day shift and one of the weekend girls. Its not a 5 Star but it was clean and Jason makes it better.

Room Tip: My wife prefers a room facing the college.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd., responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the courteous and accommodating service Justin and the housekeeping staff provided. Also, I am glad to know that the cleanliness of our hotel met your expectations.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
1.1 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.

Address: 1910 University Blvd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range: $88 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Lynchburg
Lynchburg Extended Stay
Extended Stay Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing