We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Father's Table - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Father's Table
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Amherst, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had lunch here with a friend. Service was excellent and fast. Decided against buffet because it seemed a little heavy for lunch. Ordered the club sandwich which was good. The french fries at first I thought were good but after eating a few changed my mind. Prices are reasonable It was an ok lunch with friendly, attentive staff. The bakery items looked nice, however I did not try any of them. I would not choose this restaurant to go to but would go if the person I was having lunch with suggested it. No specific complaints, just not my "cup of tea". However, I have been told of good things the owner has done for the community and how gracious he is so it is hard to be too critical when you hear of his compassion for those in need.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grab a seat... And a cinnamon roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The baked goods are incredible! Saturday brunch is a great value for delicious food.
Quickly becoming a favorite.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The lunch buffet is always good. Entree change and offer some different tastes each day. It would be very helpful to have food labeled. I hate constantly asking what things are.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 98jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We came here with a wedding party, and the food and service were incredible! It's a buffet, and everything I tried was awesome.. especially the biscuit and grits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food is great, and the bakery items are as well.
I highly recommend eating here anytime, although they do serve Sunday brunch till noon on sunday

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nukefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing