We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step Back in Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market at Main

Market at Main
Ranked #5 of 312 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Market at Main serves breakfast all day and was recently named the Best Breakfast in Lynchburg by Lynchburg Living.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We love stopping at Market at Main for breakfast when staying in Lynchburg. Located in an old downtown building, the service is fast and friendly. We enjoy the hot breakfast and casual atmosphere. This adds to the fun experience of Lynchburg!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDK403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    117
    41
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
428 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Tasty Food in a Retro Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first experience at the Market at Main was positive. The extensive, creative menu has something for everyone. The Lynchburg flavor of the menu items (named for places and people) is unique and fun. The veggie burger (called the Anne Spencer, I believe) was made in-house, providing a nice respite from the usual Gardenburger or other out-of-the-box options that I can buy at the grocery store. Fries were hot. Wish I had tried the homemade chips. My wife had the veggie omelet which included grilled veggie burger and she raved about it. My son enjoyed his waffle. I was particularly impressed by the range of offerings for kids. Usually kids have limited choices that don't venture beyond chicken fingers and grilled cheese. Prices are reasonable. Our tab for Sunday brunch was $70 for 6 adults and one child, not including tip.

Service was friendly and prompt. We didn't have to wait long for our food during Sunday brunch. While I like the setting (an old store that has been renovated), my only complaint is that there's no imagination where interior design is concerned. The shelves along the wall of the dining area are used for the restaurant's storage, although there are some books and other nick nacks scattered on the shelves. Art and plants would have made the dining area more comfortable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a wonderful breakfast in this historic building. The menu was quite varied, and seemed to have something for everyone, including fried green tomatoes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank werldtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Briar, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good first impression, poor meals since”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

sweet potato pancakes are great; burgers and other meals (and the ventilation when something gets burned) leave a lot to be desired; slow service on most visits. I choose alternate options at this point.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnitaJoye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“average, probably wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I ordered the crab cake and my friend the burger. The crabcake was 'fine'. Nothing to write home about. The service was actually quite good and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market at Main also viewed

 

Been to Market at Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing