We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Lynchburg VA
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Came to Lynchburg for work and chose super 8. Staff is excellent and very helpful. Location of the hotel is excellent with walking distance to Restaurants and Shopping. Breakfast very nice compared to the price we paid. very nice and clean rooms. Will be back at super 8 next time we are in Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Lynchburg VA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 680 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Since I only have 200 characters, I will summarize: room not ready until after 5:00 PM; dirty and nasty appearance, badly stained bathtub, no refrigerator as advertised, herding elephants late at night & very early morning, hotel dryers on wall next to room making it impossible to hear anything in the room buy a roaring sound and charged $25 pet fee with no notice. Never charged pet fee before and charged to bill without notification. Been staying here for 3 years while daughter studied at Liberty but because of the current conditions, we will never stay here again. C. Riley

Room Tip: Choose another hotel; there are plenty close by to the college.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labushamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Made arrangements for late check-in. When I got there the 1st room they sent me to was a mess and had not been cleaned. Beds where unmade and trash had not been removed. They sent me to another room. It was also un-kept. Third room was ready. Bed was lumpy and not comfortable. The had contract clean carpets and room smell musking due to the water solution used. The next morning I went to the Continental Breakfast, nothing but bread and the OJ machine did not work.

Room Tip: I reccomend someplace besides this Motel. You could spend $10 more and get a better room at another...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am a graduate of Liberty University and my son works there now so we have made many trips to Lynchburg and decided to give the Super 8 a try. Never again.

The hotel is old and dirty. There were holes in our bedspread, the towels were dingy, and it appeared that the beds had already been slept in since the room was cleaned last. The matress was like sleeping on bare springs. There was hair in the bathroom floor and the tub was dirty. Even the elevator didn't work. In order to get down to the main floor, you had to press the call button and wait for an attendant downstairs to push the button for you.

The Sleep Inn is almost right next door. The price is very comparable and it is clean, modern, and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent Location. Very Nice and Clean rooms. Frontdesk very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Restaurant and Shoping within walking distance. Our room was nice and clean. The prices were excellent, we even got special rate for being student. We will be back in lynchburg and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah_hemal, Manager at Super 8 Lynchburg VA, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to the University. Hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed during the power outage and all that was available was smoking. I have been in smoking rooms in other hotels and I can handle it but this one was nasty the smell was terrible. The furniture arms were blackened on the ends and it seemed like a film on everything. The bed cover looked very funky. Thank god I had brought my own blankets. The bathtub was blackened by a botched repair. I just hope we did't get bedbugs or worse! Very rundown, very overpriced. Plus pet friendly means a $25 fee in addition per night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Book the room. Its worth it. I read the reviews prior to my stay and opted to come check out the room before check in. What a nice surprise. It was immaculate and well prepared. The bathroom was clean and sanitized. The comfy bed had nothing in it or on it but me and the crispy clean covers.The value was fantastic. I got a double king room for under fifty dollars a night, a special discount to Liberty U students. There are other discounts available and front desk staff will advise you of such before check in. There is plenty space. I set up a mini office in the room. From the fridge, to the microwave, to the coffee pot; all sparkling clean. The continental breakfast provided was fresh food. There are rooms with a jacuzzi, no pool. That was fine with me. I didn't have the time for swimming. Fantastic restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing Macado's restaurant have nice views of the mountains. Only noise was w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Aniden E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lynchburg - University Blvd.
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 23 in Lynchburg
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lynchburg VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lynchburg VA

Address: 3736 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range: $65 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lynchburg VA 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Lynchburg VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Super Eight Lynchburg
Lynchburg Super 8
Lynchburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing