We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed June 19, 2010

There is lots of construction going on -- the lobby was trashed, the first floor halls were a mess, and many first floor rooms looked to be "in progress" -- but our room on the second floor was better than adequate (roomy, good bed, good internet, good LG lcd television). The breakfsat area looked to be already complete. It was modern and well-stocked, as expected. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 136 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

The first floor (except for the breakfast area) of this hotel is under renovation. We had a very clean, well appointed (granite bath vanity top, concealed fridge & microwave, wi-fi accessability, quiet heater/ac; new drapes, mattresses, bedding) newly renovated room on the 3rd floor. I believe the 2nd floor renovation has also already been completed. The renovation on the breakfast area has been completed and is very inviting, and the continental breakfast offered a variety of choices. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smileyface_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

It was nasty! If it wasn't that it was alumni weekend and every other hotel wasn't sold out we would have left. Trying to keep this PG-13, we actually found an adult novelty "device" in our ice bucket. The girl at the desk ( who was very sweet) wouldn't look in the bucket and thought it was a dead mouse. She comped our room before she even knew what was in the bucket making me wonder how many dead mice she had already found that day. My husband whispered what was in there and she about fell over. On returning to the room the tub was clogged, the fan in the bathroom didnt work so the condensation dripped on our heads, the smoke detector was taped together and there were old cob webs stuck to the ceiling. The phones in the hotel did not work either. I emailed guest services in case they were not told what happened and recieved a pathetic email thanking me for my feedback and sorry for the inconvenience. Did i mention it was also my husband's birthday? Inconvenience? HA! Today I recieved another email thanking for my stay with an update on our priority points that they did not even give to us! Hate to see how they treat non-priority members.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We just returned from a one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg. I was a bit worried based on some of the other reviews but our experience was entirely positive. We arrived a few hours before check-in but a room was ready and check-in was a breeeze. The rooms are a good size (about what you'd expect). The bedding was in good shape and the beds were very comfortable. You have a choice of a couple of pillow firmnesses which I appreciated. The wireless internet worked flawlessly and seemed to be quite fast. The pool is small but was nice and warm. The breakfast was quite good. A few hot items (omelettes, bread/gravy) as well as the usual cold items (bagels, cereals). My wife said she was very surprised how good the coffee was (and she is a picky coffee drinker).

We've never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, but if they all are this good, we will definetly look for them in the future. We will absolutely stay here again when in Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We got a first floor room with a king size bed. The room was very clean and looked very new, and the staff was very friendly. The free breakfast has a great combination of hot breakfast food (e.g. eggs, sausage patties, cheese omeletes, sausage gravy, etc...) depending on the day. It also has juice, coffee, baked goods, cereal, fruits, etc... I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We originally booked two nights two rooms and were forced to only stay one night as an emergency came up and we had to leave early. The hotel would not refund the second night or even discount the rate. One of the rooms was non-smoking and it smelled terribly of smoke. We had to call the front desk to turn the shower faucet on as it was broken. I mistakenly left a shirt at the hotel and despite three calls back to them they were unable to "find" it. The front desk help, while cordial, was of no help whatsoever on any of these topics/problems. Emailed corporate and received no help at all. Filled out a satisfaction survey and received no reply. Really poor customer service. Beware!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This is an old hotel that has not been kept up. Everything from the ventilation fan in the bathroom not working, mold in the toilet tank, lack of hot water at the far end of the hotel, filthy HVAC, and yes, as most others have said the cigarette smoke odor in the 2nd floor hallway.

I politely voiced my concerns to the front desk. Nothing was done.

The only good things were the mattresses and the cinnamon rolls.

I emailed corporate. I received a form email thanking me for my comments.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TravellerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg

Address: 5600 Seminole Ave, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lynchburg is located in the heart of Central Virginia s exciting attractions, business and colleges. The hotel surrounds our guests with the conveniences that make business and leisure easy. We are located within minutes to major business such as Framatone, Areva, Frito Lay and Georgia Pacific. Any business traveler would agree with the Lynchburg Regional Airport only five miles from the hotel that you couldn t get closer. We are also minutes away from several outstanding colleges including Liberty University, Lynchburg College, Sweet Briar College and Randolph-Macon College. With the many scenic and historic attractions so close to Lynchburg, our hotel is a perfect choice. The Blue Ridge Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for a drive to visit the National D-Day Memorial, Appomattox Court House and Thomas Jefferson s Poplar Forest. The Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg proudly features a friendly staff and comfortable guest rooms with a spacious work desk with free WiFi and wired high-speed Internet access. Guests can jump start their morning with our free deluxe continental breakfast. Take a relaxing dip in our seasonal outdoor swimming pool, or work out in our fitness center. Come let us show you why it is 'SMART' to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing