We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Lynchburg's Best”
Review of Bull Branch - CLOSED

Bull Branch
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of Lynchburg's Best”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is a travesty that Bull Branch isn't among Trip Advisor's top 5 restaurants, at a minimum. The food is always good and often excellent. This is my wife and my preferred date night spot and in the 15-20 times we've eaten there we've never had a proble with the service and I certainly wouldn't describe any of the wait staff as "freaks." The Egyptian street platter, mussels, crab and shiitake spring rolls, and baked goat cheese are all very good appetizers. The cuban sandwich and fish tacos are excellent while the NY strip has ranged from pretty good to great. The dining room is small and the atmosphere is quirky, but it works. The prices are reasonable, especially for the quality of the food. Lynchburg could another restaurant like Bull Branch in the place of yet another fast food Hibachi option or mediocre steakhouse chain.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique place”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you're looking for a unique hole in the wall joint, this is your place. The atmosphere is sophisticated and dark, with candles on the tables and a very interesting decor. Great for a date or a good conversation with a friend. The menu is different and interesting. I've always had great service here. Try it if you haven't and you might find your new favorite spot!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Service is always sketchy with some freak serving you. Very small place, food used to br really good now you have no idea what you will get. Last I was there food was not cooked all the way. Very expensive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APN0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“big let down”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I understand that some things are out of the control of the restaurant like a table behind us that was so over the top loud that the two of us could not talk at a table for two till they left. but the food is under the control of the restaurant. the fried scallps were cooked to a dried ball, and the sad part was after trying two of then my wife set them aside and when she showed them to our waitress she said " ya i noticed the looked over done when I picked them up" then why did you serve something that you saw was wrong? my wifes Lamb was over cooked .. so dry that she also did not eat that ... evan after asking for it to be on the rare side. even the fies were so salty ....that you needed three glasses of water to swallow them. my steak wa the one thing that was good... thank god!! how hard is it to grill a steak?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vakings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Lynchburg Jewel”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

my spouse and I love to eat here. It's a great break from the chains that Lynchburg seems to love. Bull Branch is perfect for either a date or dinner/drinks out with friends. Great food, unique dishes. Love the goat cheese appetize and the creme' dessert!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull Branch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing