We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique menu and good wine list.”

Dish Small Plates & WIne Bar
Ranked #69 of 313 Restaurants in Lynchburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reston VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Unique menu and good wine list.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Second time eating here and have been pleased both time. The menu has good variety and plenty of vegetarian choices. The wine list is nice too and the prices for the wine are fair.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KerryOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been to Dish many times, the last time in July for my wife's birthday. The food is always excellent, as well as the service and the wine list. My only complaint is that they took the spicy Thai beef item off the menu, but everything else was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Forest306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Drive, bike, hitchhike to Lynchburg - this restaurant is worth the trip!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After a 5 1/2 hour drive, our first stop was a return visit to Dish. And it did not disappoint! The regular and special menu is diverse, tasty and creative. We elected to share 2 small dishes and one entree - don't be shy, because sharing is the way to go. We had a fresh mozzarello and roasted tomato plate that was to die for! The scallops were delightful.
Our server was attentive and so informed, willing to share some secrets of the preparation. Another young lady came to our table and welcomed us back - even though it had been 4 months since our last visit!
Yes, the menu is pricey, but the restaurant offers what few other Lynchburg spots have: it's quirky, trendy, innovative and (dare I say) hip. Even if you can only share one dish, it's worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HersheyCultureSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Dish has a great selection of small plates -- so much so that you'll have difficulty deciding what to try! All of the food was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The atmosphere is nice and a little romantic. It's a perfect "date" restaurant. They also have a nice wine list and an enormous selection of cheeses.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wearywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Kind of funky, trendy look. Scallops were excellent, mediterranian plate was very generous for 2 and nothing out of the ordinary. Pita was nicely grilled and warm--nice touch. Dessert ok, nothing really outstanding. A nice place for couples. Noise level a little high--music a little loud. Overall, I'd try again--a nice change from the usual food venues in area from what we saw.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pearl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish Small Plates & WIne Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dish Small Plates & WIne Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing