We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their lunch wraps and sandwhichs-especially boxed lunches”
Review of The Farm Basket

The Farm Basket
Ranked #80 of 313 Restaurants in Lynchburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Bury St Edmunds
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love their lunch wraps and sandwhichs-especially boxed lunches”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We planned a hike in the blue ridge parkway and stopped by here to get one of their box lunches. What a treat. Sandwhich, chips, desert all for $8 or $9.
Great wraps with non standard combinations that really turned out great! Really feels like a warm and welcoming place in the restaurant in the back. We love it!

Sam Hendricks, author Fantasy Football Guidebook

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Farm Basket is one of our always "go-tos" when we visit our daughter at Lynchburg College.
It is a great mix: high end things to buy, beautiful plants and great home-made food for lunch.
Go upstairs to eat your lunch, the view is tremendous. I noticed that some folks didn't like the food, but I thought it was great. They do have some different sides not normally seen, like frozen fruit salad. I loved it. Great desserts too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Day trip lunch”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Farm Basket was an interesting stop on our day trip through Lynchburg and surrounding area. I got lost (don't get on an expressway, stay on the old 501), but that gave us a chance to see some gorgeous homes in that section of Lynchburg. Food was okay, but interesting: sweet potato biscuits with country ham, tomato aspic, carmel cake. Good coffee. A little on the pricey side for the serving size. For example, a tiny (I MEAN tiny) ice cream cone was $2.00. They get in a little bit of a hurry and almost throw the food on the table, but, otherwise, were quite pleasant. The shops are interesting to browse - plants, kitchen ware, candies, housewares, wines. Nice view over a little woodsy creek. I'd go back again, but I won't rush to get there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 824Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute place but weird tasting food...”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place has a ton of charm and great views but I, along with everyone I was there with, was very disappointed in the food. It was very plain and the side items were weird tasting. We all tasted each other's food and all agreed we wouldn't be back because we threw away a lot of food nobody liked. If you know something you like to eat there, it's a cute place, but not for me!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“terrific shop--one stop shopping for lunch and gifts!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A terrific shop--perfect place to grab lunch, pick up a few plants, as well as a few gifts for others. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleechik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farm Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing