We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but slow internet and awkward parking”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a recent business trip. The room was clean but the free internet at the hotel was extremely slow. The parking lot was awkward as I was almost hit twice by people driving around the hotel. Just be careful as there are blind spots in the lot. Breakfast was provided and it was adequate.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our property to be clean and acceptable. I am currently working with Comcast, which is our internet provider, in order to add more routers in different parts of the building, which will speed the internet up. I will take your comments about the blind spots and brainstorm as a staff how we can control those, up to and including the inclusion of speed bumps with in the parking lot. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Hosts were very nice and gave maps and recommendations for restaurants. Nothing was close by but a major highway was very close to the hotel. Definitely recommended in the Lynchburg area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn34606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay! We are tucked in the corner, but one reason we love that is we are away from the hustle and bustle of the city center, I am pleased that you found everything to be a close drive, and that it was quiet. As we recently changed all of our mattresses and pillows, I am thrilled to hear that you had a good night’s sleep which tells me that we made acceptable choices. I am happy that you found our property to be well kept and maintained, we are the oldest continuously operational hotel in Lynchburg, having opened in October of 1972. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Debbie and Tracy, in our next meeting! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised. Great staff. Clean room. Easy access to roads. Nothing in walking distance but everything very close drive. was quiet. Good nights sleep!
Not a new hotel but well kept.
Miss Debbie and Mr. Tracy are awesome!

Room Tip: all rooms updated in last 2-5 years
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Liberty University, making this a contending school for the student. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the front desk staff. Our breakfast room was added in February of this year, so it is relatively new, thank you for noticing that. Be sure to join us in the future to see the new items that are coming! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here while visiting Liberty University. The University is very easy to get to from there. The room was not musty at all and everything was in great shape and clean. The two individuals that worked the desk were friendly and helpful and the breakfast area looked brand new and was well stocked with a variety of items for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your recent stay. I am please that you noticed the level of care that we put into each room and making sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay. As we have recently changed all of the matresses to a new brand and upgraded our pillows, thank you for the comment on that, showing we made a good choice. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this room based on TA ratings and were not disappointed. It is a nice property at a great price for the area. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room had two double beds, flat screen TV, microwave and fridge which was nice as well. Property is quiet also. Only two complaints.... The sheets are not fitted to the bed, which is annoying especially with two people in a bed and the bottom sheet comes off. Breakfast as noted in another review is strictly continental, so don't expect anything hot and don't expect protein. Otherwise, it was just a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you were not disappointed with you stay, we work hard to make sure that every guest is treated like they are family. We recently upgraded all of our televisions. We work with a company that does all of our laundry off-site and we are working with them to have fitted sheets added to available options, because we do understand that when your sheet comes off in the middle of the night, this is not enjoyable. It is true that we do have a true continental breakfast, and we are working to change that, unfortunately there are so many channels that I must go through in order to add something as simple as biscuits and gravy…. Hopefully soon though. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pillows on the bed are probably the best motel pillows I've ever slept on. We travel quite a bit with our son and the price of the room was within our budget. Good internet service was also available. We had great access to several restaurants and shopping centers. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am glad that you were pleased with the pillows that were selected in our remodel earlier in the year. I am also glad that we fell within your budget for your travels. Again thank you so much for your review, I will be passing your kind words on to our entire staff, in our next meeting, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was a little scary driving to the hotel, but once there, it was fine. The room was very good. It was clean and smelled clean. The double beds were longer than regular beds, and the bottom sheets were not fitted. One bed's sheets stayed on but the other came apart during the night. There is no pool, but they did have horseshoe pits, which we had fun playing. The main negative with our stay was the breakfast. There was no hot food, well, hot instant cereal, but even then, the water wasn't hot enough to cook the cereal in the bowl. They had sweet buns in cellophane, and bread for toast, but not much else. Shouldn't advertise a breakfast when it is such a limited offering.

Room Tip: Quiet and clean. All rooms open to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Econo185, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am glad that you found your room clean and fresh, that is one thing that we do strive for. We do offer the double XL beds in our rooms with two beds, while the company that provides us with our sheets has not began to offer fitted sheets. Once these become available, we will be switching to these, because we do understand how frustrating it can be when the sheets come off of the bed in the middle of the night. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast, but we do advertise that is a traditional continental breakfast and not a hot breakfast. Our breakfast does consist of Danish pastries, muffins, honey buns, oatmeal, grits, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, milk, and juice. We also offer a microwave for use with the oatmeal and grits, as well as a toaster.

Jennifer M. Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 23 in Lynchburg
40 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Lynchburg
139 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2400 Stadium Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24501-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Price Range: $78 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing