We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
239
135
51
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
135
51
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room independent hotel liberty university indoor pool nice desk restaurant staff hot items lynchburg college shower head free breakfast fire pit staff was very friendly enjoyed my stay room was large bed was comfortable in town exercise room
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 489 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We stayed at the Kirkley for a night back in April, 2017, and we had such a great time! The service was amazing! From the girls at the front desk to the service in the Great Room! The pool was wonderful! The wi-fi was not working but I am assuming it does work most of the time. Not sure.

Room tip: The double room was so nice and clean.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lkp268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Wow! Thanks for the great review. We feel the same, all our staff are just fantastic and we are so lucky to have them - they always go the extra mile to please! I'll look into our wi-fi, usually we have great guest experience and people always comment on how "blazing fast" it is... Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We enjoyed our time at the indoor pool. Our room was larger than most motel rooms. It is a clean hotel. The outside is a little rough, but the interior is nice. The staff were nice. It is a older hotel. The Kirkley is individually owned, and is not part of a chain. Breakfast is not included in your room rate.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen_M_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Affordable Luxury is a way of life with us...super clean rooms, comfy beds, oversized rooms and the indoor heated pool is the icing on the cake! We're so proud of our staff and couldn't do it without them. We have started our exterior renovations and just wait, the outside will be as fabulous as the inside. And yes, breakfast is not included in your stay but no powdered eggs and frozen muffins here - our onsite Great Room restaurant offers a limitless buffet of about 20 cold items and all hot meals are made to order in our Great Room "show kitchen", all for $9.95 - probably the best deal in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We've come to Lynchburg many times to visit our daughter who attends college at Lynchburg College. The Kirkley has become our "home away from home" place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable - but on the basic side- which is ok for a weekend visit. We especially enjoy the Great Room for food and drinks. The waitstaff is always good but I have to give a shout-out to Geoff, who is so professional and always remembers us. The fitness center is small, but it has everything that I need. I've not used the indoor pool, but there are always happy people splashing in it.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank terrim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

We are so glad you chose us as your "Home Away From Home" it means a lot to us! We love having all the college Moms & Dads stay with us, so close to the Universities...we think we have some of the cleanest rooms in town too and all the staff are "All Stars" and go way above and beyond. We'll pass on your message to Geoff and all the Great Room staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017

Our stay at the Kirkley was wonderful! Even with a completely booked hotel for a wedding, the staff ensured all of our concerns and requests were addressed promptly. All of the staff was professional, polite, and accommodating. Check in and check out was easy and quick. We requested extra towels. In less than 5 minutes there was a knock at the door with towels. The room and building were tastefully decorated and immaculately cleaned. The restaurant also exceeds expectations. The hotel does not have room service, so you do have to pick up your order. Our food was ready when promised and delicious. There is ample parking and good security. The exterior of the rear building and asphalt do need some work, but you will be impressed with the interior design and excellent customer service.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kiesha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Glad you appreciate all we have to offer, from the little "boutique" touches and services to all the amenities and our award winning restaurant - we just feel the same way! We've got a great bunch of staff and always great to hear their hard work is appreciated, we'll definitely pass it on. We've already started some exterior renovations and our plans are to have the outside as beautiful as the inside by the time we are done. Stay Tuned... Thanks again for the nice review and glad you enjoyed everything, come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Located just off 501 and 29 and convenient to restaurants (and 30 min from Appomattox), the Kirkley Hotel is well located. Rooms are above average size (we had connected K and 2Q) with very comfortable beds and good shower. Breakfast buffet is very reasonably priced (9.95 each) and very tasty. Staff is very friendly. They also had down or foam pillows. An excellent choice for Lynchburg.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank travelerSFBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Thanks for your kind and candid review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and our award-winning restaurant. We take great pride in our independent hotel and are thrilled you agree that we offer a great option in Lynchburg for affordable luxury! We hope your travels bring you back again soon and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews