We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
238
131
50
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
131
50
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room independent hotel liberty university indoor pool nice desk restaurant staff hot items lynchburg college fire pit free breakfast shower head staff was very friendly enjoyed my stay room was large bed was comfortable in town exercise room
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 481 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to stay and good restaurant. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Room was very clean and comfortable bed. Good location to see Lynchburg although our stay was not sufficient to see very much.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank gegan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Thanks for your great review! So glad to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer, our staff always tries to go the extra mile to make sure we have a clean and "oh so" comfortable atmosphere for our guests. We get lots of great comments on the location (close to universities, downtown historical sites, shopping, dining, hiking, biking, etc) and we understand its a lot to try to get in during a short stay...hope to see you soon and have you stay a little longer, Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The place was clean enough. The room smelled musty and the walls are paper thin. So if you are a light sleeper it will be difficult for you. My son enjoyed the gym. But it was not worth the 2.00 fee the hotel charges regardless if you use the facilities or not. The restaurant is right there after a long day of looking at colleges or touring. However, the staff is cranky and the portions are small. Forget feeding an 18 year old boy without breaking several banks. One room is extremely strange looking with an indoor fire pit and strange water trough, They do have a variety of beers which was nice.
The staff were pleasant.

I agree with disappointed --the reviews I read did not measure up. For the price and high reviews The KIrkley did not meet any of the standards it boosted to be. I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Ruth Ann, we are so sorry for your experience during your stay, its just not like us to have some of the issues you mentioned. We will definitely take all your comments to heart and share them with our staff. I would love to make amends for your stay and hope you give us another chance to show you the goods and services we have become known for. I'll try to reach out to you this week so we can discuss everything. Thanks for the review and the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling to Lynchburg for the last few years while my daughter has been attending LU. This was my first stay at the Kirkley Hotel and hopefully will not be my last. This hotel is beautiful, has high end finishes and decor and is very clean!! Staff was so friendly and helpful. The beds are so soft and comfy!! Will be booking here again!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Angela, its always a pleasure to have people like you stay with us! Glad you appreciate all we have to offer, from the little "boutique" touches and services to all the amenities - we just feel the same way! We've got a great bunch of staff and always great to hear their hard work is appreciated as well! Thanks again for the terrific review and we like to think you're one of our terrific guests too, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Just stayed here for the week for a intensive at Liberty. Hotel, room, dining area was nice and clean. Food was good. No business center per say just a table by front desk with a computer and printer. They did help us out with a study room though for a group project we had to do. The dining staff was great and very accommodating. I was overall pleased with my stay there. Will be back this summer.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Ashli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

We are so grateful to be a part of the online Graduate students lodging program! We couldn't ask for better guests and a better University to work with. It makes all the hard work worth while when we read your review. Thanks again for the great review and hope we get to have you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Our check-in experience was uneventful and the desk staff as well as luggage service was excellent. We had adjoining rooms with our son and our two small grandsons. The rooms were comfortably sized and clean. After a very busy day at a family reunion the beds were very comfortable. We were disappointed that neither room had what we've all come to expect - a small in-room refrigerator -- it was really missed with two 4 yr olds. I must say we were very disappointed in the restaurant. There was no room service, very limited menu in the restaurant, and if you did order for your room you had to go down and pick it up. They offer only two pizza types (margarita, and one with sausage)- - - - on a scale of 1 to 10 the best we could do was a "2". And the one problem that was just astonishingly missing were ice machines. There were no machines on any floor; the one that the front desk directed my son & husband to was on the lobby level, and that was empty; someone from the from desk went back to the kitchen to fill our ice bucket; they did have someone bring up a second bucket a while later. For the price & high reviews, the Kirkley did not measure up; unless there are significant changes / improvements we probably won't be staying there in the future.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MWCrugbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, A Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

We are disappointed about your experience with us. We strive and service to provide the best product we can. We always appreciate feedback, it helps us learn our craft and improve. I will have all our rooms checked as each room should have a small fridge and microwave in the room. We usually receive very good comments about our restaurant and its food (#1 local restaurant on Yelp). Possibly we had an off evening, we'll look into it and share your feedback with our chef and his staff. Due to numerous noise complaints, we removed all the ice machines from the floors and located one large dispenser in our lobby vending area. Our staff is always happy to bring items to the room including ice, etc. Again we are so sorry for your experience and will be reaching out to you to possibly convince you for a second chance to show you the experience we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews