We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirkley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

New carpeting and renovated throughout. A good value. Try the buffet breakfast. The warm blueberry muffins are to die for!

Room Tip: Free parking! Buffet breakfast is $10/person. Good, but a little pricey. Plenty of options in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    223
    56
    45
    37
See reviews for
248
125
62
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice upscale hotel. My previous review indicated it was showing signs of wear. All rooms have been renovated since then and are in much better condition.

We actually ended up staying here after the Wingate canceled our reservations immediately before our late arrival because the credit card on which I had booked the room had been replaced recently. The Kirkley staff were very gracious and welcoming after the Wingate referred us to them. They acknowledged our being a previous customer and even gave us a complementary breakfast.

The breakfast was good with real cooked to order items such as omlets to go along with the usual buffet fare.

The pool was excellent for bringing our grandchildren for an afternoon swim.

I still wish they had refridgerators, but I expect to return to them on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is the first time we have been back to Kirkley since 2009 when we stayed last and our stay left a bad taste in our mouth from the room quality, to a falling apart hotel, and bad service.

When we decided to travel back to Lynchburg, we thought we would try the Kirkley again after reading the reviews. We were presently surprised as upon arrival we greeted by the front desk staff as well as the manager on Duty. She saw we had a toddler and offered to get him some milk while we checked in. We also had requested a room far away from the smoking section since our son has breathing problems and they had already accommodated our request with the staff knowing it!

Once getting to our room they are completely remodeled and comfortable. We also visited the Pool which is beautiful as well as it was falling apart the last time we visited.

I cannot say enough about how this hotel has changed in appearance and service!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlfraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteTrip, Owner at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
I am the Owner of the Kirkley Hotel,

This is it. This is what we have been working toward. Our entire staff, led by General Manager Bert le Roux and Director Michael Schmidt, have been working extraordinarily hard to create this exact experience. Now we have to do it for every single guest.

My wife and I bought the hotel a few years ago and there was so much work to be done. This shows we are making progress.

We want our guests to receive a warm welcome, personalized service, and a beautiful room that is extra-clean and well maintained.

This year we will be completing the comprehensive redevelopment of our meeting and banquet spaces too.

As we continue the development of our products and services we know we will not always be perfect, but will always stand behind our product and make things right. I personally read every comment card, spend countless hours speaking with guests and read all online reviews. We know where we need to improve and we are committed to making those improvements. We are absolutely aimed at making the Kirkley Hotel the best hotel in the region.

Please stay with us. We personally assure each guests' happiness with our hospitality and creativity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly IA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have stayed on two different occasions at the Kirkley, in Oct. & again in April. The rooms are spacious & beautiful in decor. The entire facility is outstanding, but even more important, the staff is wonderful. They try hard to assist & help in any way possible. When inquiring about a local bakery, I was able to hire one of the helpful desk clerks, Anthony, to bake an incredibly delicious birthday cake so we could surprise my sister on her birthday. The management graciously allowed us to use a meeting room for our birthday gathering. When had a glitch in our reservation, the staff worked diligently to correct the problem. I highly recommend this friendly, well run, local hotel. They are doing things right! You'll be glad you stayed there.

Room Tip: The rooms that end in '06' have a 2nd sink outside of the bathroom. We especially liked tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHWaverlyIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with the staff today. The waitstaff: Louann, Domonqlie, Ashley, Ana and Brittany attended our needs very professionally. Thank you to all who made "our day" very special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Meeting place and staff--especially LouAnn--were outstanding. Very attentive and accommodating. Attendees were very satisfied. Would highly recommend for seminars, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geneele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Greg at the front was very helpful. He went over and beyond to make our family's stay at The Kirkley Hotel. Because of Greg, I recommed this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sg0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkley Hotel

Property: Kirkley Hotel
Address: 2900 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2212 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#3 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#6 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Affordable Upscale Friendly Caring. With a prime Lynchburg location convenient to all the Lynchburg area's colleges and businesses, the Kirkley Hotel and Conference Center offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and topnotch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kirkley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkley Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing