We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Lynchburg
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
217
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Based on others reviews, we recently stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Select over Spring Break. The moment you walk into the Lobby you realize that this hotel should not be compared to the average Holiday Inn. Very spacious, light and airy with a most professional (but not stuffy)staff. We got a deserved feeling of pride in the hotel from the Front Desk staff. The hallways and rooms were very clean & fresh. The beds were comfortable with duvets and the double sheeting that is now the standard in the more upscale hotels. Pillows were plentiful but only standard in quality.

We had dinner & breakfast in the restaurant and were able to take advantage of the "Kids eat Free" both times. Again, nice service & ambience and we enjoyed both meals. I considered the breakfast buffet in the morning but it lacked eggs or other hot entree the day I was there. So I ordered off the menu and was pleased as the breakfasts were reasonably priced and very tasty. Again, the wait staff was both professional and friendly.

Exercise room was only disappointment, 2 threadmills but neither was working. Other equipment seemed a little worn but was still able to use the universal and life cycle. Rooftoop pool isn't open until May or June (kids were sad about this.)

We got an excellent rate but I'd gladly pay in the $120-150 for this level of hotel in a small city like Lynchburg & would probably pay nearly twice that much in larger cities. We would definately stay again if ever in Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2006

We selected this hotel because it is very close to the train station, and we had seats on a 6:00 am Amtrak train. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was, especially the lobby. (I was expecting a standard Holiday Inn. I know now that Select means above average.)

Great location. Parking garage is next-door and easy to navigate. Our first room had major bathroom issues, but we were quickly moved to another room. (My bill was reduced without me asking to reflect this inconvenience.) Room was standard, nothing special.

Service was great. When I called for a cab to the train station, the clerk told me the train was running late. He advised me to call Amtrak and check. Thank goodness he did because the train was running at least 8 hours late! He saved us a wasted trip to the train station.

1  Thank phorid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for a meeting on a Friday and Saturday night. We had a problem with our bed, but were quickly moved to another room down the hall.
The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom had above average toiletries. The hot breakfast buffet was very good with eggs,grits,oatmeal and mixed fruit salad plus the usual breads and juices. The staff was helpful with directions to restaurants and theatres for our time after the meetings. We will stay here again when the need arises.

1  Thank mrclean1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
518
Reviewed November 30, 2005

Stayed at this property right after Thanksgiving. Very convenient location downtown right off of route 29, easy to get to any restaurant or bar. Rooms were fine, a bit old but clean and heater was very loud. The bar was nice with a soul karaoke a couple of nights a week which obviously was very popular, standing room only. Breakfast at the restaurant was great and very inexpensive, service very efficient and friendly--especially Gloria. Free parking in the adjacent lot or attached garage.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

As a Priority Club member, I usually book in the Holiday Inn Express, but as luck would have it, it was full, so I opted for HI Select downtown. Lucky me indeed. The lobby tells the story -- large room, vaulted ceiling, plush, plush, plush. But our room was even better. Was that a down comforter?! I think it was. And REAL pillows? And not your standard white sheets either -- these were white-on-white striped with a bit of sheen. Very luxurious. The bathroom was roomy, plenty of hot water, and thick towels. There was even a coffee pot with real coffee mugs, not styrofoam. The breakfast buffet had plenty of variety, and attentive waiters kept our coffee cups full. We would definitely stay here again. What did we pay for all this? I booked the room on the ICHotels website for $82.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendymath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodbridge VA
12
Reviewed July 2, 2005

Upon entering the Lynchburg Holiday Inn Select ( downtown) I was very excited and couldn't wait for the night's activities...which were a dance (in the hotel's ballroom) and a night full of fun!

My fiance and I were both anxious for the dance/party to start in the hotel's ballroom. Many people were finally arriving and we decided to join the few in the Hotel's Bar....if I can recall the name "Lynch's Grille"

The bar was not crowded, but seemingly busy. There was only one bartender working and so we decided to sit and wait our turn to order.

As the minutes passed, the bartender continued to serve an elderly caucasion couple and hurried through the rest of the orders, mind you, my fiance and I were seated by the couple and were waiting our turn still...

She coaxed them, and basically bent over backwards for them, she then accomodated them and gave them their order, and ignored my fiance and I, who were seated right there beside them...and was next to be served.

The bar had mostly African-American patrons, all of whom were socializing causually around their drinks. The bartender hastliy served all the patrons, while my fiance and I just sat in amazement. She uttered words, "I am not used to this! I am tired of this treatment." Then, one of her friends came in and blurted her drink order to her, they talked while she was mixing the drink....and continusily worked the far end ( the furthest) from us. Her friend cut in front of us, along with many others... She knew ( bartender) that we were next. We were completely ignored. After having seen and waited enough, we decided to leave. The elderly couple noticed our bizzare treatment and gave us a "relax and drink" session card that was given to them by the bartender....I guess when she observed all the "patrons" she decided to do this.

The Manager on Duty heard our complaint and asked us to fill out what happened that evening. It all happened last evening, July 2, 2005. My fiance, who is a lawyer is going to press the issue further... I don't blame him! I stand behind him 100%

Word to the wise....the physical environment of the Holiday Inn Select is beautiful...but the service...in the "Lynch's Grille" bar area is nothing short of rude, immature, and small-minded behavior....never again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Massachusetts
14
Reviewed April 26, 2004

This Holiday Inn is clean and the staff is very accomdating. The breakfast is enormous and tasty. The rooms are comfortable, and for the price, you really can't beat it. It's much better than staying at a run down motel on the side of the highway. Ask for the Collegiate rate if you're visiting a student in one of the area colleges.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 24 in Lynchburg
885 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lynchburg
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 24 in Lynchburg
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lynchburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lynchburg

Address: 601 Main Street, Lynchburg, VA 24504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: $146 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lynchburg 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lynchburg hotel, an anchor of the new Downtown Lynchburg resurgence, is nestled in the heart of five quaint historic districts, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and a panoramic view of the city. The hotel is within minutes of the area s largest employers, such as Genworth, Areva, and B&W/McDermott, five universities including Liberty University, Sweet Briar College,Lynchburg College and Randolph College, and Lynchburg Regional Airport. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within walking distance, including the reknowned Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, and Poplar Forest, Appomattox Courthouse, Natural Bridge and the D-Day Memorial are just a short drive away. Treat yourself to the area's only authentic Peruvian cuisine in our Machu Picchu restaurant. Additional amenities include a seasonal rooftop pool, universal fitness center, complimentary business center, 32 inch flat panel televisions, free wireless high speed Internet, free garage parking, and over 12,000 square feet of flexible conference space. Our general manager, in his 28th year at the property is dedicated to a service culture that will bring you back again and again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Lynchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Lynchburg Hotel Lynchburg
Lynchburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing